Our actions
3 Oct 2012

Suarez receives 2012 Rapsat-Lelièvre Award

Suarez (Photo ©Mickaël Leduc)

The government of Québec and the Wallonia-Brussels International are proud to announce that the 2012 Rapsat-Lelièvre Award goes to Belgian band Suarez for the quality of its L'indécideur album.

This prestigious award comes with a $5,000 cash prize from the Ministère des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur du Québec and 7,500 € (approx. $10,000) in financial assistance from Wallonie-Bruxelles International for the producer to distribute the album on the Québec market. An international jury of song specialists from Québec and the Wallonia-Brussels French Community select the winner.
Suarez is made up of Marc Pinilla from Mons, Wallonia; brothers Max and Pata Randriamanjava, their cousin Dada Ravalison and David Donnat from Madagascar. The group is enjoying enormous success in Belgium where their album has gone Gold.


The Rapsat-Lelièvre Award is presented on an alternating basis to an artist or group from Québec and Wallonia-Brussels. Suarez thus succeeds Jérôme Minière, who received the award in 2011 at the Francofolies in Spa, BaliMurphy in 2010 as well as 25 other artists who have been honoured since 1984 when Pierre Rapsat became the first winner of this record award.

Created in 1984, the goal of this award—initially known as the Prix Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles du disque de chanson—is to encourage the development and promotion of the French language and to stimulate the production and distribution of French-language albums while encouraging exchanges between Québec and the Wallonia-Brussels French Community.

The year 2003 marked the 20th anniversary of the creation of the award, making it an excellent occasion to change its name to the Rapsat-Lelièvre Award in honour of Pierre Rapsat and Sylvain Lelièvre, two great songwriters, who passed away within days of each other in April 2002.

The Rapsat-Lelièvre Award is jointly administered by Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI), the Québec Ministère des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur (MRIFCE) and the Québec Ministère de la Culture et des Communications (MCC).

Rapsat-Lelièvre Award (French)
Suarez (French)
Our actions