History

The Ministère des Affaires intergouvernementale, which was in charge of the Government of Québec’s international relations, was created on April 14, 1967. The Legislative Assembly of Québec unanimously passed an act creating this new department. The act clarified the role played up until then by the Ministère des Affaires fédérales-provinciales (Department of Federal-Provincial Affairs) and expanded it to include Québec's international relations.

The year 1967 also marked the creation by the Government of Québec of a structure to ensure more coherent, better coordinated international efforts. However, Québec took its first steps outside its borders well before then. Hector Fabre (in French only), Québec’s first foreign representative was appointed Agent General in Paris in 1882. He was one of the precursors of Québec diplomacy on the international scene. Nearly 60 years later, in 1940, the first permanent office abroad, the Québec Government Office in New York, opened its doors, while the Maison du Québec à Paris, now the Québec Government Office in Paris, was inaugurated by the Premier of Québec, Jean Lesage, in 1961.

The creation of a department responsible for international relations gave a decisive boost to the development of Québec's international relations and its network of foreign offices, which is more far-reaching than most other federated states around the world.

To learn more about Québec’s impressive international presence, consult the histories of its oldest offices abroad:

Last update: 2017-04-05 11:33:49 AM

Historique

C’est le 14 avril 1967 qu’est créé le ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales, responsable des relations internationales au sein du gouvernement québécois. À l’unanimité, l’Assemblée législative du Québec adoptait alors la loi créant ce nouveau ministère, qui venait préciser et élargir un rôle jusque-là assumé par le ministère des Affaires fédérales-provinciales, celui de la conduite des relations internationales du Québec.

L’année 1967 marque ainsi le moment à partir duquel l’État québécois se donne une structure afin d’assurer une action internationale plus cohérente et coordonnée. Toutefois, le Québec avait effectué ses premiers pas à l’extérieur de ses frontières bien avant cette date. Hector Fabre, premier représentant du Québec à l’étranger, avait été nommé agent général à Paris en 1882. Il a été l’un des précurseurs de la diplomatie québécoise sur l’échiquier international. Près de 60 ans plus tard, en 1940, la première représentation permanente à l’étranger, la Délégation générale du Québec à New York, ouvrait ses portes, alors que la Maison du Québec à Paris, aujourd’hui la Délégation générale du Québec à Paris, avait été inaugurée par le premier ministre du Québec Jean Lesage en 1961.

La création d’un ministère chargé des relations internationales a donné une impulsion déterminante au développement des relations internationales du Québec et de son réseau à l’étranger. Peu d’États fédérés disposent d’une présence équivalente sur la scène mondiale.

Pour en savoir plus sur la richesse de la présence du Québec à l’étranger, consultez l’historique de ses plus anciennes représentations :

Dernière mise à jour : 2016-11-21 09:55:53