Close menu

Funeral

Funerals can be classified as State, national, civic or private funerals; the first three are known as official funerals. The Government of Québec is particularly involved in State and national funerals because it specifies the ceremonial for them and tasks their coordination to Le Protocole, under whose responsibilities those official funerals come.

In the case of civic funerals, Le Protocole acts with their organizers when government representatives wish to attend. Le Protocole may also act in a consulting capacity, should the organizers request it.

Types of funerals

When an eminent Québecker dies, the government may decide to recognize his or her contribution to Québec society by offering the family the option of a State or a national funeral.

The family may wish to hold the funeral privately and may refuse the government’s offer. They may also wish that a part of the funeral, such as the religious service or the tribute to the deceased, be public, though the wake will remain private. The same will apply for State or national funerals, even if not all the stages are public. A family may accept that a State or national funeral be held, but refuse media access to the service.

Funerals of different figures may not be comparable, because the families make different choices. For the government, the essential point is that the services organized reflect the wishes of the family.

By accepting the government’s option, the family gives a large number of Québeckers an opportunity to pay tribute to the deceased. By entrusting coordination of the funeral to Le Protocole, the government relieves the grieving family of the burden of organizing the funeral.

Back to top

Official funerals

State funerals are held only for former premiers, a serving premier, or, very exceptionally, for an ex-minister.

National funerals, by government decision, are held for personalities who have made their mark on the political, cultural or social life of Québec.

It is the ceremonial used, that is, the decorum and form that certain stages assume, that differentiates these two types of funeral. The more formal and detailed ceremonial is used for State funerals only.

State funerals

Formal ceremonial calls for the Legislative Council Chamber of the Parliament to be used for the lying in state of former or serving premiers. The public may visit to pay tribute to the deceased and offer its condolences to the family. The Québec flag is flown at half-mast when the death is announced and up until dusk of the day of the funeral, and this applies to all flags subject to the Regulation Respecting the Flag of Québec. Finally, officers of the Sûreté du Québec carry the bier, which is covered with the Québec flag.

National funerals

A simpler ceremonial is used for national funerals. The wake or lying in state of the remains may take place in a funeral home or in any other location judged appropriate, such as a museum, a community hall, and so on. This choice will take into consideration the area of activity in which the deceased left a mark. For instance, the entrance hall of a museum may be chosen for a representative of the cultural world. Flags subject to the Regulation will be lowered to half mast throughout the day of the funeral, from dawn to dusk.

Civic funerals

Civic funerals are organized by a group that comes to assist and support the family in its grief. It may be an association to which the deceased belonged, or a community deeply affected by the passing. For example, a police or firemen’s association may wish to pay tribute in a more official manner to one of its members who died in the performance of duty. A municipality may feel touched by the death of its mayor and decide to aid the bereaved family.

The government plays no part in organizing civic funerals. However, Le Protocole may be called on by the organizers to learn the procedure to be followed in such circumstances. If a member of the Cabinet wishes to attend the funeral, Le Protocole can contact the organizers to facilitate the minister’s participation and to agree on a moment when he or she can tender sympathy to the family.

Back to top

Last update: 2016-01-05 3:07:49 PM

Fermer le menu

Funérailles

Il existe différents types de funérailles : les funérailles d'État, les funérailles nationales, les funérailles civiques et les funérailles privées; les trois premières sont considérées comme officielles. Le gouvernement du Québec est particulièrement concerné par les funérailles d'État et les funérailles nationales parce qu'il en précise le cérémonial et qu'il en confie la coordination à son Protocole; ce sont les funérailles officielles qui sont sous sa responsabilité.

Dans le cas des funérailles civiques, le Protocole intervient auprès des organisateurs lorsque des représentants du gouvernement veulent y assister. Le Protocole peut également agir à titre conseil auprès des organisateurs, et cela, à leur demande.

Les types de funérailles

Lorsqu'une personnalité québécoise décède, le gouvernement du Québec peut décider de souligner l'apport du défunt à la société québécoise en offrant à la famille de tenir des funérailles d'État ou des funérailles nationales.

La famille peut souhaiter s'en tenir à des funérailles privées et refuser l'offre du gouvernement. Elle peut également souhaiter qu'une partie des funérailles, par exemple la cérémonie religieuse ou l'hommage rendu au défunt, soit publique, alors que la chapelle ardente restera privée. Il s'agira quand même de funérailles d'État ou nationales, même si toutes les étapes ne sont pas publiques. Une famille pourrait accepter la tenue de funérailles d'État ou nationales, mais refuser l'entrée des médias aux cérémonies.

On ne peut comparer les funérailles d'une personnalité avec celles d'une autre, parce que les familles font des choix différents. Pour le gouvernement, l'essentiel est que les cérémonies organisées reflètent les souhaits de la famille.

En acceptant l'offre du gouvernement, la famille donne la possibilité à un grand nombre de Québécois de rendre hommage au défunt. En confiant la coordination de ces funérailles au Protocole, le gouvernement dégage la famille en deuil de l'organisation de telles funérailles.

Retour en haut de la page

Les funérailles officielles

Les funérailles d'État sont réservées aux ex-premiers ministres ou à un premier ministre en exercice et très exceptionnellement à un ex-ministre.

Les funérailles nationales, quant à elles, sont réservées aux personnalités qui ont marqué la vie politique, culturelle ou sociale du Québec, selon une décision du gouvernement.

C'est le cérémonial retenu, c'est-à-dire le décorum et la forme que prennent certaines étapes, qui fait la différence entre ces deux types de funérailles. Le cérémonial le plus formel et le plus détaillé est réservé aux funérailles d'État.

Funérailles d'État

Le cérémonial formel prévoit que la salle du Conseil législatif de l'hôtel du Parlement peut être retenue pour l'exposition de la dépouille d'un ex-premier ministre ou d'un premier ministre en exercice. Le public peut s'y déplacer pour rendre hommage au défunt et présenter ses condoléances à la famille. La mise en berne du drapeau du Québec se fait dès l'annonce du décès et dure jusqu'au crépuscule du jour des funérailles, pour tous les drapeaux visés par le Règlement sur le drapeau du Québec. Enfin, des agents de la Sûreté du Québec portent le cercueil, qui est recouvert du drapeau du Québec.

Funérailles nationales

Le cérémonial retenu pour les funérailles nationales est plus simple. La chapelle ardente ou l'exposition de la dépouille du défunt peut se faire dans une maison funéraire ou à tout autre endroit jugé adéquat comme un musée, une salle communautaire, etc. Ce choix se fait en tenant compte du secteur d'activité marqué par l'action du défunt. Par exemple, le hall d'entrée d'un musée peut être choisi pour la chapelle ardente d'un représentant du milieu culturel. Les drapeaux du Règlement seront mis en berne le jour des funérailles, de l'aube au crépuscule, la journée des funérailles.

Funérailles civiques

Les funérailles civiques sont organisées par un groupe qui vient aider et soutenir la famille dans son deuil. Il peut s'agir d'une association à laquelle appartenait le défunt, ou d'une collectivité très touchée par le décès. Par exemple, une association de policiers ou de pompiers peut vouloir rendre hommage de façon plus officielle à un de ses membres décédé dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. Une municipalité peut se sentir concernée par le décès de son maire et décider d'aider la famille éplorée.

Le gouvernement n'est pas impliqué dans l'organisation des funérailles civiques. Cependant, le Protocole peut être sollicité par les organisateurs, qui veulent connaître la procédure à suivre dans de telles circonstances. Si un membre du Conseil des ministres souhaite assister aux funérailles, le Protocole peut entrer en contact avec les organisateurs pour faciliter sa participation et convenir du moment où il pourra offrir ses condoléances à la famille.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2016-01-05 15:07:49