Kingdom of Morocco

Territoire du Maroc.

Morocco is an important partner for Québec because of the long-standing bilateral, cooperative, and immigration relations that unite them. Morocco features regularly in the list of the five countries that send the most immigrants to Québec, which is home to a large Moroccan community estimated at 100,000.

The fifth largest economy on the African continent, Morocco joined the World Trade Organization in 1995. Later in the same year, it signed free trade agreements with the European Union, and then with the four European Free Trade Association countries in 1997. The free trade agreement signed with the United States in 2004 was the first of its kind negotiated by Washington with an African country.

Morocco rejoined the African Union on January 30, 2017. Five months later, the Economic Community of West African States agreed in principle to Morocco’s application for accession. Morocco is also a part of the Greater Arab Free Trade Area and is home to one of the five offices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.

Imminent opening of a Québec representation

The Government of Québec has expressed its desire to strengthen bilateral relations with Morocco, notably by opening a representation in Rabat. Discussions are ongoing with Moroccan authorities with a view to making this happen.

Morocco has adopted a comprehensive and integrated development strategy based on action plans developed for numerous sectors of the economy. These plans coincide with Québec’s priorities and will benefit from Québec expertise in sectors such as agri-food, aeronautics (Bombardier opened a plant in Morocco in 2013), education and higher education, clean and renewable energy, entrepreneurship, the environment, transportation infrastructure, science and innovation, and information and communication technologies.

It was during the 22nd Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework on Climate Change (CdP-22) in Marrakech in November 2016 that Morocco announced the AAA Initiative, or African Agriculture Adaptation to Climate Change Initiative.

Morocco ratified the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions on June 4, 2013.

Last update: 2017-12-19 10:37:05 AM

Royaume du Maroc

Territoire du Maroc.

Le Maroc constitue un partenaire important pour le Québec en raison de l’ancienneté des liens bilatéraux, de coopération et d’immigration qui les unissent. Il figure régulièrement dans la liste des cinq principaux pays d’immigration au Québec, qui est la terre d’accueil d’une importante communauté d’origine marocaine, dont le nombre est estimé à 100 000 personnes.

Cinquième puissance économique du continent africain, le Maroc a adhéré à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce en 1995. Il a par la suite signé des accords de libre-échange avec l’Union européenne plus tard cette même année, puis avec les quatre pays de l’Association européenne de libre-échange en 1997. L’accord de libre-échange avec les États-Unis, signé en 2004, est le premier du genre négocié par Washington avec un pays d’Afrique.

Le Maroc a réintégré l’Union africaine le 30 janvier 2017. Cinq mois plus tard, la Communauté économique des États d’Afrique de l’Ouest a donné son accord de principe à la demande d’adhésion du Maroc, qui fait aussi partie de la Grande zone arabe de libre échange. Le Maroc abrite l’un des cinq bureaux de la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Afrique.

Ouverture prochaine d’une représentation du Québec

Le Gouvernement du Québec a exprimé sa volonté d’intensifier ses relations bilatérales avec le Maroc, notamment par l’ouverture d’une représentation québécoise à Rabat. Les discussions sont en cours avec les autorités marocaines en vue de la concrétisation de ce projet.

Le Maroc a adopté une stratégie globale et intégrée de développement, qui s’appuie sur des plans d’action élaborés pour de nombreux secteurs de l’économie. Ces plans concordent avec des priorités du Québec et peuvent profiter de l’expertise québécoise dans des secteurs tels que l’agroalimentaire, l’aéronautique (Bombardier a ouvert une usine au Maroc en 2013), l’éducation et l’enseignement supérieur, les énergies propres et renouvelables, l’entrepreneuriat, l’environnement, les infrastructures de transport, la science et l’innovation, ainsi que les technologies de l’information et de la communication.

Rappelons que lors de la 22e Conférence des parties à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CdP-22), dont les travaux se sont déroulés à Marrakech en novembre 2016, le Maroc a rendu publique l’Initiative AAA, ou l’Initiative d’adaptation de l’agriculture africaine aux changements climatiques.

Le Maroc a ratifié la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles le 4 juin 2013.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-29 16:00:49