Political and institutional relations

Bilateral relations between Québec and Morocco are based on the presence in Québec of a Consulate General of Morocco and a Moroccan Cultural Centre (Dar Al Maghrib). It should be noted that regular political meetings between Québec and Morocco have taken place for several decades now, which is an excellent indicator of the mutual interest of both parties.

Morocco is one of the most active countries of the Francophonie, of which it has been a member since 1981. It chaired the working group on the economic strategy for the Francophonie, which was adopted at the Dakar Summit in November 2014.

In July 2017, the Deputy Premier, Minister responsible for Small and Medium Enterprises, Regulatory Streamlining and Regional Economic Development and Minister responsible for the Status of Women, Lise Thériault, travelled to Morocco during her mission to the Maghreb related to women’s entrepreneurship (French only).

In March 2015, the Minister of State attached to the Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs in charge of Moroccans living abroad and migration affairs, Anis Birou, met the Minister of Immigration, Diversity and Inclusiveness, Kathleen Weil, in Montréal.

Morocco was the guest of honour at the 8th Forum Afrique Expansion, which was held in Montréal on October 2 and 3, 2017. The Government of Québec is one of the partners of this forum.

Last update: 2017-12-19 10:37:13 AM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

Les relations bilatérales entre les deux États reposent sur la présence au Québec d’un Consulat général du Maroc et d’un Centre culturel marocain (Dar Al-Maghrib). Il y a lieu de souligner la régularité et la constance, depuis plusieurs décennies, des rencontres politiques, ce qui constitue un excellent indicateur de l’intérêt mutuel des deux parties.

Le Maroc est l’un des pays les plus actifs de la Francophonie, dont il est membre depuis 1981. Il a présidé le groupe de travail sur la Stratégie économique pour la Francophonie adoptée lors du Sommet de Dakar, en novembre 2014.

En juillet 2017, la vice-première ministre et ministre responsable des Petites et Moyennes Entreprises, de l’Allègement réglementaire et du Développement économique régional et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine, Lise Thériault, a séjourné au Maroc à l’occasion de sa mission au Maghreb portant sur l’entrepreneuriat féminin.

En mars 2015, le ministre délégué auprès du ministre des Affaires étrangères du Maroc, responsable des Marocains résidant à l’étranger et des affaires de la migration d’alors, Anis Birou, a rencontré à Montréal la ministre de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion, Kathleen Weil.

Notons que le Maroc a été l’invité d’honneur du 8e Forum Afrique Expansion, qui s’est déroulé à Montréal les 2 et 3 octobre 2017. Le Gouvernement du Québec est l’un des partenaires de ce forum.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-29 15:44:01