Political and institutional relations

In recent years, bilateral relations between Québec and Senegal have been forged through meetings, missions, and visits, including the following:

  • 2016: On the sidelines of the Antananarivo Francophone Summit, meeting between the Québec Premier, Philippe Couillard, and the President of the Republic of Senegal, Macky Sall
  • 2016: Meeting in Montréal between the President of the Republic of Senegal, Macky Sall, and the Executive Director of Financière agricole du Québec – Développement international, Sylvie De Serres, on the sidelines of the Fifth Replenishment Meeting of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria
  • 2016: Meeting in Montréal between Christine St-Pierre and the Senegalese Minister of Promotion of Investments, Partnerships and Development of Teleservices of the State, Khoudia Mbaye, on the occasion of the Second Senegal Economic Forum in Canada
  • 2016: Meeting between Christine St-Pierre and the Senegalese Minister of the Civil Service, Staff Rationalization and Renewal of Public Service, Viviane Laure Élisabeth Bampassy, and meetings between Mrs. Bampassy and representatives of École nationale d’administration publique of Québec
  • 2016: Mission to Senegal headed by Christine St-Pierre, and meetings with President Macky Sall and four members of the Senegalese government
  • 2015: Visit by the Minister of Economy and Finance of Senegal, Amadou Ba, accompanied by the Senegalese Minister of Energy and the Development of Renewable Energy, Thierno Alassane Sall, the Minister of Promotion of Investments, Partnerships and Development of Teleservices of the State, Khoudia Mbaye, and the Minister responsible for monitoring the emerging Senegal Plan, Abdou Aziz Tall, at the Forum Africa 2015 in Montréal
  • 2015: Visit by the Senegalese Minister of Promotion of Investments, Partnership and Development of Teleservices of the State, Khoudia Mbaye, on the occasion of the First Senegal Economic Forum in Canada. She met with the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre
  • 2014: Mission to Dakar by the Premier, Philippe Couillard, and Christine St-Pierre as part of the Francophonie Summit, November 27 to 30
  • 2014: Visit by the Senegalese Minister of Economy and Finance, Amadou Ba, the Minister of Commerce, Industry and the Informal Sector, Alioune Sarr, and the Minister of Culture and Heritage, Abdoul Aziz Mbaye, on the occasion of the Conference of Montreal
  • 2013: Multisectoral mission headed by the Québec Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and Export Trade from September 8 to 10
  • 2012: On the sidelines of the Francophonie Summit in Kinshasa, meeting between the Québec Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and Export Trade and the Senegalese Minister of National Education, Ibrahima Sall
  • 2010: Visit by the Senegalese Minister of State for the Civil Service and Employment, Diakaria Diaw
  • 2008: Visit by the Senegalese Minister of Culture, Historical Heritage, National Language and La Francophonie, Mame Birame Diouf
  • 2004: Mission by the Québec Deputy Premier, Minister of International Relations, and Minister responsible for La Francophonie in support of a Québec and Canadian trade delegation visiting Senegal under the aegis of the Canadian National Committee of the Francophone Business Forum

Agreements between Québec and Senegal

  • Establishment agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the Republic of Senegal respecting the privileges and immunities of the Québec Government Office in Dakar (2016)
  • Agreement in the field of higher education between the Government of Québec and the Government of the Republic of Senegal (2012)

In addition, Québec’s École nationale d’administration publique signed a collaboration agreement with the Senegalese École nationale d’administration in November 2013, and the mayors of Montréal and Dakar signed a cooperation agreement in October 2015.

In multilateral terms, Québec is also working to strengthen its ties with Senegal within the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF).

Last update: 2017-12-19 10:37:49 AM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

Au cours des dernières années, des liens bilatéraux se sont développés entre le Québec et le Sénégal grâce à divers entretiens, missions et visites. Mentionnons les suivants :

  • 2016 : En marge du Sommet de la Francophonie d’Antananarivo, rencontre entre le premier ministre, Philippe Couillard, et le président de la République du Sénégal, Macky Sall
  • 2016 : Entretien entre le président de la République du Sénégal, Macky Sall, et la directrice générale de la Financière agricole du Québec – Développement international, Sylvie De Serres, en marge de la 5e rencontre de reconstitution des ressources du Fonds mondial pour la lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme à Montréal
  • 2016 : Entretien entre Christine St-Pierre et la ministre de la Promotion des investissements, des Partenariats et du Développement des téléservices du Sénégal, Khoudia Mbaye, dans le cadre du 2e Forum économique du Sénégal au Canada, à Montréal
  • 2016 : Entretien entre Christine St-Pierre et la ministre de la Fonction publique, de la Rationalisation des effectifs et du Renouveau du secteur public du Sénégal, Viviane Laure Élisabeth Bampassy, et rencontres de Mme Bampassy avec des représentants de l’École nationale d’administration publique du Québec
  • 2016 : Mission au Sénégal conduite par Christine St-Pierre, et rencontres avec le président Macky Sall et 4 membres du gouvernement
  • 2015 : Visite du ministre de l’Économie et des Finances du Sénégal, Amadou Ba, accompagné du ministre de l’Énergie et du Développement des énergies renouvelables, Thierno Alassane Sall, de la ministre de la Promotion des investissements, des Partenariats et du Développement des téléservices de l’État, Khoudia Mbaye, et du ministre responsable du Suivi du plan Sénégal émergent, Abdou Aziz Tall, au Forum Africa 2015 à Montréal
  • 2015 : Visite de la ministre de la Promotion des investissements, des Partenariats et du Développement des téléservices du Sénégal, Khoudia Mbaye, dans le cadre du 1er Forum économique du Sénégal au Canada. À cette occasion, elle a rencontré la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre
  • 2014 : Mission à Dakar du premier ministre, Philippe Couillard, et de Christine St-Pierre dans le cadre du Sommet de la Francophonie du 27 au 30 novembre
  • 2014 : Visite du ministre de l’Économie et des Finances du Sénégal, Amadou Ba, du ministre du Commerce, de l’Industrie et du Secteur informel du Sénégal, Alioune Sarr et du ministre de la Culture et du Patrimoine du Sénégal, Abdoul Aziz Mbaye à l’occasion de la Conférence de Montréal
  • 2013 : Mission multisectorielle conduite par le ministre des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur du Québec du 8 au 10 septembre
  • 2012 : En marge du Sommet de la Francophonie de Kinshasa, rencontre entre le ministre des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur du Québec et le ministre de l’Éducation nationale du Sénégal, Ibrahima Sall
  • 2010 : Visite du ministre d’État à la Fonction publique et à l’Emploi du Sénégal, Diakaria Diaw
  • 2008 : Visite du ministre de la Culture, du Patrimoine historique classé, des Langues nationales et de la Francophonie du Sénégal, Mame Birame Diouf
  • 2004 : Mission de la vice-première ministre, ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie du Québec en appui à une délégation commerciale québécoise et canadienne en visite au Sénégal, sous l’égide du Comité national canadien du Forum francophone des affaires

Le Québec et le Sénégal ont signé cinq ententes

  • Entente d’établissement entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le Gouvernement de la République du Sénégal régissant les privilèges et immunités du Bureau du Québec à Dakar (2016)
  • Entente dans le domaine de l’enseignement supérieur entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de la République du Sénégal (2012)
  • Jumelage du Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique du Québec et du Conservatoire de musique, de danse et d’art dramatique de Dakar (1987)
  • Jumelage du Musée du Québec et du Musée dynamique de Dakar (1987)
  • Jumelage de la Cinémathèque québécoise et de la Cinémathèque du Sénégal (1987)

De plus, l’École nationale d’administration publique du Québec a signé une entente de collaboration avec l’École nationale d’administration du Sénégal en novembre 2013, et les maires de Montréal et de Dakar ont signé une entente de coopération en octobre 2015.

Sur le plan multilatéral, le Québec renforce également ses liens avec le Sénégal par l’entremise de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF).

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-11 14:57:25