Political relations

Québec began developing its relations with Brazil immediately after the country’s return to democracy in 1985. The Government of Québec has been represented in São Paulo since 2008. Even today, the Québec Government Office in São Paulo (BQSP) is Québec’s only representation in South America. Québec also has collaborative ties with the Consulate General of Brazil in Montréal.

Between 2000 and today, there have been over 10 Québec ministerial missions to Brazil. The most recent was led by a Premier of Québec in June 2012 on the occasion of the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development, commonly called Rio+20.

While the Government of Québec’s actions in Brazil focus mainly on certain states (Paraná, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo and Minas Gerais), it also has relations with other peripheral states.

Looking to play a more influential role on the international scene, several Brazilian states have stepped up their bilateral relations by taking part in various international groups. Since the 2000s, Québec has hosted a dozen visits by the heads of Brazilian states, the most recent being by the Governor of the State of Goiás in September 2016.

In 2006, the State of São Paulo joined Québec and the five other federated states in the Conference of Heads of Government and Partner Regions. Like Québec, the states of São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro are also members of the Climate Group. As a member of the Network of Regional Governments for Sustainable Development (nrg4SD), Québec is able to make its voice heard, together with those of the five Brazilian states, at international conferences on the environment and the fight against climate change.

Lastly, the National Assembly of Québec maintains relations with Brazilian parliamentarians through the Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas (COPA).

Social security agreement

The Government of Québec signed a social security agreement with the federal government of Brazil, in Brasilia, on October 26, 2011. Essentially, this agreement dovetails and coordinates the programs of the Régime de rentes du Québec (retirement, disability and surviving spouse pensions) with Brazil’s various social security programs. The agreement entered into force on October 1, 2016.


Cooperation agreement on higher education and research

Under separate agreements between the Government of Québec and the governments of the states of Paraná (2004), Rio de Janeiro (2011) and São Paulo (2012), the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) has fostered bilateral cooperation through calls for projects based on work on the ground by Québec institutions.


Targeted cooperation agreements

Under separate agreements between the Government of Québec and the governments of the states of Paraná (2004), Rio de Janeiro (2011) and São Paulo (2012), the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) has fostered bilateral cooperation through calls for projects based on work on the ground by Québec institutions.

MRIF has support some forty projects since the first cooperation mechanism with the State of Paraná was set up in 2009. The sectors most often targeted by cooperation projects include environmental science, teaching and health.

The Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) has also developed close ties with the Brazilian Council of State Secretaries of Health (CONASS). MSSS and CONASS signed a cooperation agreement in 2004, which was renewed in 2013. The agreement has led to valuable exchanges of information and good practices as well as a number of visits by Brazilian delegations to Québec and Québec missions to Brazil.


Last update: 2017-04-27

Relations politiques

Le Québec a développé ses relations avec le Brésil dès le retour de la démocratie à partir de 1985. Le Gouvernement du Québec y est représenté, à São Paulo, depuis 2008. Encore aujourd’hui, le Bureau du Québec à São Paulo (BQSP) reste la seule représentation du Québec en Amérique du Sud. Le Québec entretient également des liens collaboratifs avec le consulat général du Brésil à Montréal.

De l’année 2000 à aujourd’hui, plus de 10 missions ministérielles québécoises ont été menées au Brésil. La dernière dirigée par un premier ministre du Québec a eu lieu en juin 2012 à l’occasion de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement durable, communément appelée Rio+20.

Les actions du Gouvernement du Québec au Brésil se concentrent principalement dans certains États (Paraná, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo et Minas Gerais), mais des liens existent également avec d’autres États périphériques.

Ambitionnant de jouer un rôle plus influent sur la scène internationale, plusieurs États brésiliens ont accentué leurs rapports bilatéraux et prennent part à des regroupements internationaux. Depuis les années 2000, le Québec a ainsi accueilli une dizaine de visites de dirigeants d’États brésiliens, dont le dernier est le gouverneur de l’État de Goiás en septembre 2016.

En 2006, l’État de São Paulo a rejoint le Québec et les cinq autres États représentés au sein la Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires. Les États de São Paulo et de Rio de Janeiro comptent aussi parmi les adhérents du réseau Climate Group, auquel prend part le Québec. Enfin, en joignant le Réseau des gouvernements régionaux pour un développement durable (nrg4SD), le Québec a la possibilité de faire valoir sa voix, avec celles de cinq États brésiliens, dans les conférences internationales portant sur l'environnement et la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

Rappelons enfin que l’Assemblée nationale du Québec entretient des relations avec les parlementaires du Brésil par l’entremise de la Confédération parlementaire des Amériques (COPA).

Entente de sécurité sociale

Le Gouvernement du Québec a signé une entente de sécurité sociale avec le gouvernement fédéral du Brésil, à Brasilia, le 26 octobre 2011. Essentiellement, cette entente concilie et coordonne les programmes du Régime de rentes du Québec (retraite, prestations d’invalidité et de survivant) avec les divers programmes de sécurité sociale du Brésil. L’entente est entrée en vigueur le 1er octobre 2016.

Accord de coopération dans le domaine de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche

En vertu de cet accord, le Québec offre à des étudiants brésiliens des bourses de doctorat de recherche, de stage postdoctoral, de court séjour de recherche ou de perfectionnement (bourses d’excellence). Le Québec octroie également 20 exemptions de droits de scolarité supplémentaires à des étudiants brésiliens de 3ecycle. L’agence fédérale administrant cette entente est la Coordination du perfectionnement du personnel de niveau supérieur du Brésil (CAPES).

Ententes de coopération ciblées

Dans le cadre d’ententes distinctes conclues par le Gouvernement du Québec et ceux des États de Paraná (2004), de Rio de Janeiro (2011) et de São Paulo (2012), le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) a mis en œuvre des coopérations bilatérales en s’appuyant sur le travail de terrain d’institutions québécoises, et ce, au moyen d’appels à projets.

Le MRIF a appuyé une quarantaine de projets depuis la mise en place d’un premier mécanisme de coopération avec le Paraná en 2009. Parmi les secteurs les plus souvent visés par des projets de coopération, citons les sciences de l’environnement, l’enseignement et la santé.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux a également développé des liens étroits avec le Conseil national des secrétaires d’État à la santé du Brésil (CONASS). Les deux instances ont signé une entente de coopération en 2004, renouvelée en 2013. Celle-ci a conduit à d’intéressants échanges d’information et de bonnes pratiques ainsi qu’à plusieurs visites de délégations brésiliennes au Québec et de missions québécoises au Brésil.

Dernière mise à jour : 2013-06-20