Main sectors of collaboration

International aid and cooperation

Haiti is the primary beneficiary of the Québec International Development Program (PQDI).

  • Since 1997, over 140 projects have received funding under the program.
  • The Québec Sans Frontières Program, which enables young people aged 18 to 35 to participate in international solidarity internships, resumed its activities in Haiti in 2013, after an absence of ten years.
  • Most Canadian non-governmental international cooperation organizations working in Haiti come from Québec.

For more information, the International Solidarity section.

Return To Top

Cooperation between Québec and Haiti

Québec and Haiti have forged cooperative relations in various areas, including culture (through, among others, the Déclaration commune de coopération dans les domaines de la culture et des communications), governance, tourism, education and training.

In order to regulate, perpetuate and expand collaborative initiatives with Haiti, a call for structured cooperation projects between Québec and Haiti has been launched in target sectors every year since 2012 by the Government of Québec and Haitian authorities. Since the launch of this cooperation mechanism in 2012, over forty initiatives, all jointly submitted by Québec and Haitian organizations, have been supported by Québec.

Québec prioritizes the sharing of expertise in its cooperation with Haiti and supports public and private initiatives in areas where it has proven know-how. Québec was notably involved, from 2007 to 2015, with the governments of Haiti and Canada, in the Haitian Governance Enhancement Project (PARGEP). The aim of this innovative initiative was to bolster the decisional and operational structures of the Haitian government and to contribute to the development of a professional civil service. Under this agreement, the Government of Québec has made some of its experts available to the Government of Haiti for short-term missions aimed at responding to Haitian knowledge and know-how needs in the area of public administration.

Return To Top

Last update: 2017-04-24 4:07:33 PM

Principaux secteurs de collaboration

Aide internationale et coopération

Haïti est le premier pays bénéficiaire du Programme québécois de développement international (PQDI).

  • Depuis 1997, ce sont plus de 160 projets qui ont reçu un financement dans ce cadre.
  • Le programme Québec sans frontières, qui permet à des jeunes de 18 à 35 ans d’effectuer des stages de solidarité internationale, a repris ses activités en Haïti au courant de l’année 2013, après 10 ans d'absence.
  • La plupart des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes de coopération internationale œuvrant en Haïti proviennent du Québec.
Retour en haut de la page

Collaborations Québec-Haïti

Le Québec et Haïti ont développé des liens de coopération dans différents domaines, notamment ceux de la culture (par le biais, entre autres, de la Déclaration commune de coopération dans les domaines de la culture et des communications), de la gouvernance, du tourisme, de l’éducation et de la formation.

Dans le but d’encadrer, de pérenniser et d’étendre les initiatives de collaboration avec Haïti, un appel à projets de coopération Québec-Haïti est lancé annuellement depuis 2012 par le Gouvernement du Québec dans des secteurs ciblés chaque année de concert avec les autorités haïtiennes. Depuis le lancement de ce mécanisme de coopération en 2012, plus d’une quarantaine d’initiatives, toutes présentées conjointement par des organismes québécois et haïtiens, ont été soutenues par le Québec.

Le Québec privilégie le partage d’expertise dans sa coopération avec Haïti et appuie des initiatives de partenaires publics ou privés dans les secteurs où il a un savoir-faire reconnu. Le Québec fut notamment engagé entre 2007 et 2015, aux côtés des gouvernements d’Haïti et du Canada, dans le Projet d’appui au renforcement de la gestion publique (PARGEP). Cette initiative novatrice visait à renforcer les structures décisionnelles et opérationnelles de l’État haïtien et à contribuer au développement d’une fonction publique professionnelle. Dans ce cadre, le Gouvernement du Québec a mis à disposition du gouvernement d’Haïti certains de ses experts pour des missions de courte durée visant à répondre aux besoins haïtiens en matière de savoir-faire de l’administration publique.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-11 12:14:37