Political relations

Mexico’s foreign policy is based, among other things, on the development of closer relations with the other two signatories of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). Canada is thus considered a strategic partner, which is generally favourable for relations between Québec and Mexico.

These are some of the main political activities that have taken place since 2009:

  • October 9 to 10, 2016: Mission by the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, and Deputy Minister, Jean-Stéphane Bernard, to Mexico City for the inauguration of the first meeting of the Québec-Mexico Joint Cooperation Committee (CMC).
  • June 27, 2016: Visit to Québec City by the President of Mexico, Enrique Peña Nieto, and meeting with the Premier of Québec.
  • October 11 to 14, 2015: by Premier Philippe Couillard to Mexico and signing of the Coordination and Cooperation Framework Agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the United Mexican States.
  • January 25 to 29, 2012: World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland: Meetings between the Premier of Québec and Enrique Pelña Nieto, the former Governor of the State of Mexico and candidate of the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) for the Mexican presidential election in July 2012.
  • April 4 to 8, 2011: Mission by the Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay. She was accompanied by a delegation of representatives from a dozen companies. In Guadalajara, she met with the Governor of the State of Jalisco and the ministers of education, culture and the economy. In Mexico City, the Minister held discussions with the Secretary of Economy during the annual CanCham (Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Mexico) Day.
  • December 5, 2010: Participation by the Premier in the Cancun Climate Change Conference in Mexico. Meeting between the Premier of Québec, Jean Charest, and the President of Mexico, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa.
  • May 28, 2010: Visit to Canada by the President of Mexico. Meeting between the Premier of Québec, Jean Charest, and the President of Mexico, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa, during his trip to Montréal.
  • October 14, 2009: Inaugural ceremony of the International Cervantino Festival in Guanajuato: Meeting between the Minister of Culture, Communications and the Status of Women, Christine St-Pierre, and the President of the National Council for Culture and Arts (CONACULTA), Consuelo Saizar.
  • October 7, 2009: Signing of a cooperation agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the State of Jalisco.
  • June 2 to 4, 2009: 5th Leaders’ Summit on North American Relations and the NASCO Conference in Québec City, attended by the governors of the states of Guanajuato, Nuevo León and Zacatecas as well as representatives from other Mexican states.
  • June 4, 2009: Signing of a cooperation agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the State of Guanajuato.
  • June 3, 2009: Awarding of the Ordre national du Québec to two prominent Mexicans: Natividad González Parás, Governor of the State of Nuevo León, and Andrés Rozental, Eminent Ambassador of Mexico

Québec-Mexico Working Group (GTQM)

Under the joint coordination of the Foreign Relations Secretariat of Mexico and Québec’s Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, GTQM has become the main instrument for coordinating cooperation activities between the Québec and Mexican authorities.

GTQM is responsible for developing and implementing a biennial program of cooperation activities in the education, culture, research and innovation and economic sectors.

The program is based on general guidelines and sectoral priorities, including:

  • The importance of the immediate impacts of program activities
  • The requirement that the projects selected have a concrete impact on the social, economic, scientific and cultural development of the two societies

Areas of common interest were identified as priorities by the Québec-Mexico Joint Cooperation Committee (CMC) in accordance with the Framework Agreement on Coordination and Cooperation signed by the Government of Québec and the Government of Mexico in 2015.

GTQM funds between 20 and 25 projects every two years.

Last update: 2017-05-01 10:43:59 AM

Relations politiques

La politique étrangère du Mexique est fondée, notamment, sur le développement d'une relation plus étroite avec les deux autres pays signataires de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA). Le Canada est ainsi perçu comme un partenaire stratégique, ce qui constitue un contexte globalement favorable pour les relations entre le Québec et le Mexique.

Parmi les principales activités de nature politique réalisées depuis 2009, mentionnons :

  • Du 9 au 10 octobre 2016 : mission de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie Christine St-Pierre et du sous-ministre Jean-Stéphane Bernard à Mexico pour l’inauguration de la première réunion du Comité mixte de Coopération Québec-Mexique (CMC).
  • Le 27 juin 2016 : visite à Québec du président du Mexique, M. Enrique Peña Nieto et entretien avec le premier ministre du Québec.
  • Du 11 au 14 octobre 2015 : mission du premier ministre Philippe Couillard au Mexique et signature de l’Accord cadre de coordination et de coopération entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement des États-Unis mexicains.
  • Du 25 au 29 janvier 2012 : Forum économique mondial de Davos (Suisse) : entretiens entre le premier ministre du Québec et l'ex-gouverneur de l'État de Mexico et candidat du Parti révolutionnaire institutionnel (PRI) aux élections présidentielles mexicaines de juillet 2012, M. Enrique Pelña Nieto.
  • Du 4 au 8 avril 2011 : mission de la ministre des Relations internationales, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay. Elle était accompagnée d'une délégation d'affaires de près d'une dizaine d'entreprises. À Guadalajara, elle a rencontré le gouverneur du Jalisco ainsi que les ministres de l'éducation, de la culture et de l'économie. À Mexico, la ministre s'est entretenue avec le ministre de l'économie du Mexique lors de la journée annuelle de la Chambre de commerce du Canada à Mexico (Cancham).
  • 5 décembre 2010 : participation du premier ministre à la Conférence de Cancún, au Mexique. Entretien entre le premier ministre du Québec, Jean Charest, et le président du Mexique, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa.
  • 28 mai 2010 : visite au Canada du président du Mexique. Entretien entre le premier ministre du Québec, Jean Charest, et le président du Mexique, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa, lors de son passage à Montréal.
  • 14 octobre 2009 cérémonie inaugurale du Festival international Cervantino de Guanajuato : entretien entre la ministre de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine, Christine St-Pierre, et la présidente du Conseil national des arts et de la Culture (CONACULTA), Consuelo Saizar.
  • 7 octobre 2009 : signature d'un Accord de coopération entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de l'État de Jalisco.
  • Du 2 au 4 juin 2009 : 5e Sommet des leaders sur les relations nord-américaines et de la Conférence NASCO à Québec, événements auxquels ont pris part les gouverneurs des États de Guanajuato, du Nuevo León et de Zacatecas, ainsi que des représentants d'autres États du Mexique.
  • 4 juin 2009 : signature d'un Accord de coopération entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de l'État de Guanajuato.
  • 3 juin 2009 : remise de l'Ordre national du Québec à deux personnalités mexicaines :José Natividad González Parás, gouverneur de l'État du Nuevo León, et Andrés Rozental, ambassadeur émérite du Mexique.

Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique (GTQM)

Placé sous la coordination conjointe du Secrétariat des relations extérieures du Mexique et du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec, le GTQM est devenu le principal instrument de coordination des activités de coopération entre les administrations québécoise et mexicaine.

GTQM est chargé d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre une programmation biennale d’activités de coopération dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la culture, de la recherche et de l’innovation et de l’économie.

Cette programmation repose sur des orientations générales et des priorités sectorielles, dont :

  • l’importance de porter une attention particulière aux retombées concrètes des activités inscrites à la programmation
  • l’obligation que les projets retenus démontrent un impact sur le développement social, économique, scientifique ou culturel des deux sociétés

Les domaines d’intérêt commun prioritaires sont identifiés par le Comité mixte de coopération Québec-Mexique (CMC), conformément à l’Accord-cadre de coordination et de coopération signé entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le Gouvernement du Mexique en 2015.

Le Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique soutient financièrement entre 20 et 25 projets tous les deux ans.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-11 12:15:22