Main areas of cooperation

Efforts by Québec to develop collaborative relations with Mexico are essentially focused on 6 priority sectors.

Culture

Coordinating instrument

The Quebec-Mexico Working Group (GTQM) is the main instrument for coordinating exchanges between Québec and Mexican authorities. It is responsible for developing and implementing a biennial program of cooperation activities based on target themes and priorities identified by the two governments.

Culture (particularly literature and publishing, performing arts, music, theatre, dance, circus arts, visual arts, media arts, museology and film) is one of the six priority sectors.

Cooperation agreements

Three cooperation agreements between the Government of Québec and the governments of the states of Jalisco, Guanajuato and Nuevo León were signed on October 7, 2009, June 4, 2009 and May 30, 2006, respectively. They aim to strengthen and develop relations between the governments. Section 3 of the agreements specifically target culture and stipulate that the Parties shall undertake to promote cultural exchanges in various spheres (performing arts, visual arts, museology, cultural heritage, artisanal crafts, multimedia, etc.). The Québec-Mexico Working Group is the mechanism for supporting such cooperation projects.

The Québec General Delegation in Mexico (DGQM) is very active in the cultural realm. It collaborates with numerous Mexican cultural partners, notably with the Culture Secretariat of Mexico and the National Institute of Fine Arts (INBA) as well as with the culture secretariats of Mexican states. It also provides valuable support for Québec artists, writers and cultural organizations.

Main large-scale events

  • October 2016: Mexico was showcased at the 39th edition of the Salon international du livre de Montréal, which hosted a large delegation of Mexican authors.
  • 2014: Coordinated by the Québec-Mexico Working Group, the collaboration between the Musée Pointe-à-Callière in Montréal and the Templo Mayor Museum in Mexico City is an eloquent example of collaborations that have led to exchanges of exhibits such as Iroquois: An Archaeological Vision of an Ancient Québec Culture at the Templo Mayor Museum and The Aztecs: People of the Sun at the Musée de Pointe-à-Callière.
  • April 2010: Salon international du livre de Québec, which welcomed a delegation of twenty Mexican authors and publishers. Working sessions involving Mexican and Québec publishers, roundtable discussions by authors and activities that promoted dialogue among Mexican and Québec colleagues helped solidify editorial production ties.
  • October 14 to November 1, 2009: 37th International Cervantino Festival (FIC) in Guanajuato. Québec was the guest of honour. Twenty Québec companies and artists selected by FIC gave some forty performances and presented film screenings and visual arts shows.
  • April 30, 2008 to January 11, 2009: Gold in the Americas exhibit at the Musée de la civilisation de Québec. This exhibit included a major collection of Mexican artefacts.
Back to top

Environment

Environmental relations date back to the mission to Mexico by the Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change, David Heurtel, in May 2015.

Mexico City, through its Secretariat of the Environment, has implemented a 2014-2020 Climate Action Program, which is a planning instrument designed to strengthen Mexico City’s climate policy and contribute to sustainable development and the reduction in carbon dioxide equivalent emissions. It integrates, coordinates and sets out concrete actions to decrease the environmental, social and economic risks associated with climate change. It also aims to promote the well-being of the local population using strategic information contained in the 2014-2020 Local Climate Action Strategy (ELAC).

Back to top

Economy

Over 600 Québec companies do business with Mexico.

Trade

In 2015, trade in goods between Québec and Mexico totalled $5.3 billion, down 5.3% from 2014. This decrease was due to a drop in imports (-$367 million).

During the period considered (2011-2015), average annual trade in goods was positive, increasing by 5%. In 2015, trade in goods made up 14% of the trade in goods between Canada and Mexico, compared to 16.6% in 2014.

In 2015, the value of trade in goods between Québec and Mexico ($5,333 million) was comparable to that between Québec and all of Latin America ($5,683 million). It corresponded to 48.4% of the total value of Québec trade with this region, including Mexico.

The same year, Mexico was Québec’s largest trade partner in Latin America and 4th in the world behind the United States, China and Germany.

Back to top

Immigration

The Québec Immigration Office in Mexico at the Québec Government Office in Mexico (DGQM) constantly promotes Québec as a land of immigration. Numerous collaboration agreements are in place with French educational institutions such as the Alliance française network and the French Institute for Latin America in order to better prepare potential Mexican immigrants for insertion in Québec society.

Back to top

Education

Higher education agreement

The governments of Québec and Mexico signed a higher education agreement in 1994, which was renewed in 1999. The agreement provides for 50 exemptions from differential tuition fees and20 merit scholarships for Mexican students studying in Québec universities.

Three new agreements will soon be signed to replace the 1999 agreement. They will include merit scholarships for Mexican PhD and postdoctoral students and scholarships for Québec students. An exchange program for Spanish and French language assistants, which was launched in 2009, will also be formalized. The annual program will enable young Quebecers and Mexicans to experience linguistic and cultural immersion by working with a language teacher throughout the school year.

Vocational and technical training agreement

In March, 2010, the Governments of Québec and Mexico signed a professional and technical training agreement. The agreement facilitates student exchanges and the sharing of teaching expertiseby providing a more structured framework for collaboration between colleges in Québec and Mexican technological universities.

Promoting Québec educational opportunities

In 2009-2010, 388 Mexican students were registered in Québec universities. The Québec Government Office in Mexico (DGQM) organizes activities throughout the year promoting Québec educational opportunities, including at Mexican specialized fairs.

Inter-university relations

Mexican and Québec universities have also implemented an array of projects, including two study chairs:

Faculty and student exchanges as well as joint research activities have also developed in recent years.

Youth

Mexico is very popular with young Quebecers. Since 2000, nearly 2,000 young adults ranging in age from 18 to 35 have undertaken professional sojourns in Mexico with the support of the Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse (OQAJ), which is a member of Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ). The diversity of the projects—entrepreneurship, study internships, arts and culture, and employability—is proof of the enduring relations these sojourns have created. OQAJ established one of its main partnerships with the Mexican Youth Institute and has also signed cultural cooperation agreements with the Secretariat for Culture of the State of Colima as well as the Nuevo León and Jalisco state institutes for youth.

Since the establishment of the Québec Without Borders program in 1995, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie has helped many Quebecers participate in international solidarity internships in Mexico.

Back to top

Tourism

The number of Mexican tourists travelling to Québec grew by average of 10.3% a year from 2004 to 2008, reaching 52,000 in 2008. However, in 2009, the number of visitors from Mexico dropped to 31,000, a 38% decline. Mexican tourists spent approximately $57 million in Québec in 2009.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-05-01 10:44:09 AM

Principaux secteurs de collaboration

Les efforts du Québec visant à nouer des relations de collaboration avec le Mexique sont essentiellement concentrés vers 6 secteurs prioritaires.

Culture

Instrument de coordination

Le Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique (GTQM) est le principal instrument de coordination des échanges entre les administrations québécoise et mexicaine. Il est chargé d'élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre une programmation biennale d'activités de coopération en fonction des thèmes cibles et des priorités définies par les deux gouvernements.

La culture (particulièrement la littérature et l'édition, les arts de la scène, la musique, le théâtre, la danse, les arts du cirque, les arts visuels, les arts médiatiques, la muséologie et le cinéma) fait partie de l'un des quatre secteurs priorisés.

Accords de coopération

Les trois accords de coopération entre le Gouvernement du Québec et les gouvernements de l'État de Jalisco, de l'État de Guanajuato et de l'État du Nuevo León, signés respectivement les 7 octobre 2009, 4 juin 2009 et 30 mai 2006, visent à consolider et développer les relations entre les deux gouvernements. Les articles « 3 » des accords concernent spécifiquement la culture et stipulent que les Parties s'engagent à favoriser les échanges culturels dans différents domaines (arts de la scène, arts visuels, muséologie, patrimoine culturel, métiers d'art, multimédia, etc.). Le Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique est le mécanisme désigné pour soutenir de tels projets de coopération.

La Délégation générale du Québec à Mexico (DGQM) est très active dans le secteur culturel. Elle collabore avec de nombreux partenaires culturels mexicains, notamment avec le Secétariat de la Culture du Mexique, l'Institut National des Beaux Arts (INBA) et avec les secrétariats à la Culture des États, et elle offre un appui précieux aux artistes, écrivains et organismes culturels québécois.

Principaux événements d'envergure

  • Octobre 2016 : Le Mexique était à l’honneur lors de la 39e édition du Salon international du livre de Montréal, qui a accueilli pour l’occasion une importante délégation d’auteurs mexicains.
  • 2014 : Dans la cadre du Groupe de travail Québec-Mexique, la collaboration entre le Musée Pointe-à-Callière de Montréal et le Musée du Templo Mayor est un exemple éloquent de collaborations ayant permis l’échange d’expositions, soit celle intitulée « Iroquoiens, vision archéologique d’une ancienne culture du Québec » au Musée du Templo Mayor, et « Les Aztèques, peuple du soleil », présentée au Musée de Pointe-à-Callière.
  • Avril 2010 : Salon international du livre de Québec, qui a accueilli une délégation de vingt auteurs et éditeurs mexicains. Par les séances de travail entre éditeurs mexicains et québécois, par les tables rondes d'auteurs et par les différentes activités d'échanges entre collègues mexicains et québécois qui se sont déroulées, la production éditoriale et le dialogue ont été solidifiés
  • Du 14 octobre au 1er novembre 2009 : 37e Festival Internacional Cervantino (FIC) dans la ville de Guanajuato. Le Québec était l'invité d'honneur. Au total, une vingtaine de compagnies et d'artistes québécois sélectionnés par le FIC ont proposé une quarantaine de spectacles en plus de présentations cinématographiques et d'art visuel
  • Du 30 avril 2008 au 11 janvier 2009 : exposition Or des Amériques au Musée de la civilisation de Québec. Cette exposition comporte une importante collection de pièces mexicaines
Retour en haut de la page

Environnement

Les liens développés dans ce secteur remontent au printemps 2015, lors de la mission du ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, M. David Heurtel, à Mexico (mai 2015).

Notons que la Ville de Mexico a mis sur pied, à travers le secrétariat de l’Environnement, le Programme d’action climatique de la Ville de Mexico 2014-2020, soit un instrument de planification qui cherche à fortifier la politique climatique de la Ville de Mexico et à contribuer au développement durable et à la diminution des émissions de carbone. Il intègre, coordonne et propose des actions concrètes afin de diminuer les risques environnementaux, sociaux et économiques qui dérivent des changements climatiques. Il vise également à promouvoir le bien être de la population, à partir des données stratégiques contenues dans la Stratégie locale d’action climatique 2014-2020 (ELAC).

Retour en haut de la page

Économie

Plus de 600 entreprises québécoises réalisent des affaires avec le Mexique.

Évolution des échanges

En 2015, les échanges commerciaux de biens entre le Québec et le Mexique se chiffraient à 5,3 G$, ce qui représente une baisse de 5,3 % par rapport à l'année 2014. Cette baisse est attribuable à la diminution des importations (-367 M$).

Au cours de la période considérée (2011-2015), la croissance annuelle moyenne de la valeur des échanges a été positive (5 %). En 2015, la valeur de ces échanges représentait 14 % des échanges commerciaux de biens du Canada avec ce pays, comparativement à 16,6 % en 2014.

Toujours en 2015, la valeur des échanges commerciaux de biens entre le Québec et le Mexique (5 333 M$) était du même ordre de grandeur que celle établie entre le Québec et l'ensemble des pays de l'Amérique latine (5 683 M$). Elle correspondait à 48,4 % de la valeur totale des échanges du Québec avec cette région du monde, y compris le Mexique.

Cette même année, le Mexique s'est classé au 1er rang des partenaires commerciaux du Québec en Amérique latine et au 4e rang mondial des pays partenaires commerciaux du Québec, derrière les États-Unis, la Chine et l'Allemagne.

Retour en haut de la page

Immigration

Le Bureau d'immigration Québec au Mexique, au sein de la DGQM, effectue une promotion constante du Québec comme terre d'immigration. De nombreuses ententes de collaboration sont en vigueur avec des établissements d'enseignement du français, tels le réseau des Alliances françaises et l'Institut français d'Amérique latine, afin de mieux préparer les candidats mexicains à leur insertion dans la société québécoise.

Retour en haut de la page

Éducation

Entente sur l'enseignement supérieur

Les gouvernements du Québec et du Mexique ont signé en 1994, puis renouvelé en 1999, une entente dans le domaine de l'enseignement supérieur, attribuant 50 bourses d'exemption de droits de scolarité supplémentaires et 20 bourses d'excellence à des étudiants mexicains qui étudient dans les universités québécoises.

Trois nouvelles ententes sont sur le point d’être signées afin de renouveler l’entente de 1999. Celles-ci seront notamment enrichies par l'offre de bourses d'excellence à l'intention d'étudiants mexicains de doctorat et de postdoctorat, et par l'offre de bourses pour les étudiants québécois. Sera également officialisé un programme d'échanges d'assistants de langues espagnole et française, lancé en 2009, qui permet annuellement à des jeunes Québécois et Mexicains de vivre une immersion linguistique et culturelle en travaillant avec un enseignant de langue au long de l'année scolaire.

Entente en formation professionnelle et technique

En mars 2010, les gouvernements du Québec et du Mexique signaient une entente portant sur la formation professionnelle et technique. Celle-ci facilite, entre autres, les échanges d'étudiants et le partage d'expertise en enseignement en offrant un cadre plus structuré aux collaborations entre les cégeps et les universités technologiques mexicaines.

Promotion de l'offre éducative québécoise

En 2009-2010, 388 étudiants mexicains étaient inscrits dans une université québécoise. De façon récurrente, la DGQM réalise tout au long de l'année des activités de promotion de l'offre éducative québécoise, entre autres à l'occasion de salons spécialisés mexicains.

Relations inter-universitaires

De plus, les universités mexicaines et québécoises ont mis en oeuvre de nombreux projets. À titre d'exemple, citons la création de deux chaires d'études :

Mentionnons également les échanges fructueux de professeurs et d'étudiants ainsi que les recherches conjointes développées au fil des dernières années.

Jeunesse

Le Mexique jouit d'une grande popularité auprès des jeunes Québécois. Depuis l'an 2000, près de 2 000 jeunes adultes de 18 à 35 ans y ont réalisé un séjour professionnel avec le soutien de l'Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse (OQAJ), membre de Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ). La diversité des projets témoigne de la richesse des liens tissés : entrepreneuriat, stages d'études, arts et culture, insertion professionnelle. C'est, en outre, avec l'Institut mexicain de la jeunesse (IMJ) que l'OQAJ a développé l'un de ses principaux partenariats. L'Office a aussi une entente de coopération culturelle avec le Secrétariat de la Culture de l'État de Colima, de même qu'avec l'Institut étatique de la jeunesse du Nuevo León et celui du Jalisco.

Depuis la mise en place du programme Québec sans frontières en 1995, le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie a appuyé la participation de nombreux Québécois dans le cadre de stages de solidarité internationale se déroulant au Mexique.

Retour en haut de la page

Tourisme

Alors que, depuis 2004, le nombre de touristes mexicains enregistrait une croissance moyenne annuelle de 10,3 % pour atteindre, en 2008, 52 000 visiteurs au Québec, l'année 2009 a vu ce nombre de visiteurs provenant du Mexique décliner à 31 500, soit une diminution de 38 %. Les dépenses de ces visiteurs étaient évaluées à 57 M$ en 2009.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-11 12:15:38