Political and institutional relations

Québec has been officially present in South Korea since 1991. The new office will help significantly increase Québec’s reach in this country. Although primarily economic in nature, the mandate of BQS will also include establishing institutional relations and promoting Québec culture in South Korea.

The most recent missions by Québec to South Korea:

  • Québec’s Chief Scientist on the occasion of the Songdo New Cities Summit, with its focus on innovation in the smart city sector (June 2017)
  • The Minister of Natural Resources on the occasion of the 22nd World Energy Congress in Daegu, held under the theme of hydroelectricity, sustainable development and transportation electrification (October 2013);
  • The Minister of International Relations to promote Québec as an attractive place for South Korean business leaders to invest (May 2010)

Several high level visits from South Korea to Québec:

  • 7th Canada-Korea Conference on Science and Technology, which attracted representatives from South Korea’s leading research and innovation centres to Montréal (August 2017)
  • President of the National Human Rights Commission of Korea, Sung-ho Lee, on the occasion of an exploratory mission under the theme of the governance of human rights (July 2017)

Strong South Korean presence in Québec

South Korea has been officially present in Québec since the opening of the Consulate General of Korea in Montréal in 1980. Numerous South Korean companies are active in Québec, mainly in the information and communication technology (video games and 3D animation), aerospace, biotechnology and pharmaceutical sectors. In 2014, for example, the South Korean company Green Cross Biotherapeutics announced the construction of a blood plasma fractionation facility, which represents an investment of more than CA$275 million. More recently, in June 2017, Hanwha Investment joined with a group of investors to make a major investment in Element AI, a start-up company based in Montréal.

Agreement on education and higher education with the Government of South Korea

Ties between Québec and South Korea are also strong in the fields of education and higher education. The agreement on higher education reached between Québec and South Korea in 2014, which followed the agreement that has been in effect since 2004, is aimed at further stimulating university student exchanges between Québec and South Korea.

Worker mobility

South Korea concluded its first-ever international agreement with a federated state when it signed a social security agreement with Québec in November 2015. Under the agreement, Québec and South Korean workers and companies will be able to count on the coordination of retirement, disability and survivor pension legislation in Québec and South Korea.

Last update: 2017-11-28 8:53:47 AM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

Le Québec est officiellement présent en Corée du Sud depuis 1991. La mise en place du nouveau bureau permettra d’augmenter sensiblement l’action du Québec sur ce territoire. Avant tout économique, le mandat du BQS comprend également l’établissement de relations institutionnelles et le rayonnement culturel du Québec en Corée du Sud.

Les plus récentes missions du Québec en Corée du Sud :

  • scientifique en chef du Québec, à l’occasion du New Cities Summit de Songdo, axée sur l’innovation dans le secteur des villes intelligentes (juin 2017);
  • ministre des Ressources naturelles, au 22e Congrès mondial de l’énergie, à Daegu, sur le thème de l’hydroélectricité, du développement durable et de l’électrification des transports (octobre 2013);
  • ministre des Relations internationales, pour la promotion du Québec comme lieu d’investissement auprès de dirigeants économiques de la Corée du Sud (mai 2010).

Quelques visites de haut niveau de la Corée du Sud au Québec :

  • septième Conférence Canada-Corée sur la science et la technologie, qui regroupait à Montréal les plus importants centres de recherche et d’innovation de la Corée du Sud (août 2017);
  • président de la Commission nationale des droits de la personne de Corée, Sung-ho Lee, à l’occasion d’une mission exploratoire sur le thème de la gouvernance des droits de la personne (juillet 2017).

La Corée du Sud bien présente au Québec

La Corée du Sud est officiellement présente au Québec depuis l’ouverture du consulat général de Corée à Montréal, en 1980. De nombreuses entreprises sud-coréennes y sont actives, principalement dans les secteurs des technologies de l’information et de la communication (jeux vidéo et animation 3D), de l’aérospatiale, des biotechnologies et de l’industrie pharmaceutique. En 2014, par exemple, la société sud-coréenne Green Cross Biotherapeutics a annoncé la construction d’une usine de fractionnement de plasma sanguin au Québec, ce qui représente un investissement de plus de 275 millions de dollars canadiens. Plus récemment, en juin 2017, Hanwha Investment se joignait à un groupe de financiers qui a procédé à un important investissement dans l’entreprise en démarrage Element AI, basée à Montréal.

Entente en éducation et en enseignement supérieur avec le gouvernement sud-coréen

Les liens entre le Québec et la Corée du Sud sont également importants dans les domaines de l’éducation et de l’enseignement supérieur. L’Entente en matière d’enseignement supérieur, conclue entre le Québec et la République de Corée en 2014, fait suite à celle en vigueur depuis 2004 et vise à stimuler davantage les échanges entre les étudiants universitaires du Québec et de la Corée du Sud.

Mobilité des travailleurs

La Corée du Sud a conclu une toute première entente internationale avec un État fédéré alors qu’elle signait, avec le Québec, une entente en matière de sécurité sociale en novembre 2015. Grâce à celle-ci, les travailleurs et les entreprises québécoises et sud-coréennes peuvent compter sur une coordination des législations des deux territoires en matière de rentes de retraite, d’invalidité et de survivants.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-28 08:53:47