Areas of collaboration

Bilaterally, Québec’s efforts to establish collaborative relations with South Korea are essentially set out in priorities 1 and 3 of Québec’s International Policy.

Building a more prosperous Québec

South Korea (11th largest economy in the world) was Québec’s 11th largest trading partner in 2016, with trade in goods totalling $2.1 billion. For more information on trade relations between Québec and South Korea, please consult the Note sur l’économie et le commerce de la Corée du Sud (French only).

The Canada-South Korea Free Trade Agreement, which took effect on January 1, 2015, is the first of this type between Canada and an Asian country. It will benefit Québec companies and stimulate trade relations between Québec and South Korea, notably in the agricultural and bio-food, value-added wood product, clean technology and information technology sectors.

Promoting Québec’s creativity, culture, knowledge and specificity

Research, innovation and knowledge development

South Korea is a world leader in innovation, with research and development (R&D) expenditures making up 4.2% of its GDP in 2015. The ratification, in December 2016, of the Science, Technology and Innovation Agreement between Canada and South Korea should stimulate the establishment of strategic research and innovation partnerships. The South Korean President has, moreover, made this one of the priorities of his next five-year plan, notably in sectors related to the fourth industrial revolution.

For example, the Consortium for Research and Innovation in Aerospace (CRIAQ) signed a first agreement in February 2017 with the Korea Institute of Industrial Technology (KITECH) in order to significantly step up R&D collaboration in the aerospace sector.

Culture

South Korea is a market of interest for the export of Québec cultural products, especially the performing arts. It is for this reason that the Québec Trade Office in Seoul supports Québec arts organizations, cultural enterprises and artists in their efforts to increase their market share in South Korea by participating in, among other, the Performing Arts Market in Seoul and the Busan International Film Festival.

French language

On the occasion of the Francophonie Summit in Antananarivo (Madagascar) at the end of November 2016, the Government of Québec joined the consensus to allow South Korea to accede to Observer status in the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie.

Supported by BQS, the Korean Association of Québec Studies, which saw the day in 2006, brings together South Korean professors who share an interest in Québec literature, identity and culture. Hankuk University of Foreign Studies has also been offering a summer class on Québec civilization and culture since 2007.

Last update: 2017-11-28 8:53:47 AM

Secteurs de collaboration

Sur le plan bilatéral, les efforts du Québec visant à nouer des relations de collaboration avec la Corée du Sud s’inscrivent essentiellement dans les priorités 1 et 3 de la Politique internationale du Québec.

Rendre les Québécoises et les Québécois plus prospères

La Corée du Sud (11e économie mondiale) était le 11e partenaire économique du Québec en 2016, avec des échanges commerciaux de marchandises se chiffrant à 2,1 milliards de dollars. Pour en savoir plus sur les relations commerciales entre le Québec et la Corée du Sud, consultez la Note sur l’économie et le commerce de la Corée du Sud.

Entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015, l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Corée est une première de cette nature entre le Canada et un pays asiatique. Il sera profitable aux entreprises québécoises et favorisera la croissance continue des relations commerciales entre le Québec et la Corée du Sud, notamment dans les secteurs agricoles et bioalimentaires, des produits du bois à valeur ajoutée, des technologies propres et des technologies de l’information.

Promouvoir la créativité, la culture, le savoir et la spécificité du Québec

Recherche, innovation et développement du savoir

La Corée du Sud figure parmi les leaders mondiaux en innovation avec des dépenses en recherche et développement (R et D) correspondant à 4,2 % de son PIB en 2015. La ratification, en décembre 2016, de l’Accord de coopération en science, technologie et innovation entre le Canada et la Corée du Sud devrait favoriser la mise sur pied de partenariats stratégiques en recherche et en innovation. Le président coréen a d’ailleurs établi ce dernier domaine comme étant l’une des priorités de son prochain plan quinquennal, en particulier dans les secteurs liés à la quatrième révolution industrielle.

Soulignons, par exemple, que le Consortium de recherche et d’innovation en aérospatiale du Québec (CRIAQ) a signé une première entente en février 2017 avec le Korea Institute of Industrial Technology (KITECH) afin d’intensifier significativement la collaboration en R et D dans le secteur aérospatial.

Culture

La Corée du Sud constitue un marché d’intérêt pour l’exportation de produits culturels québécois, particulièrement en arts de la scène. Ainsi, l’Antenne du Québec à Séoul soutient les organismes artistiques, les entreprises culturelles et les artistes québécois dans leurs efforts de développement du marché sud-coréen en participant notamment au Performing Arts Market de Séoul et au Busan International Film Festival.

Langue française

À l’occasion du Sommet de la Francophonie à Antananarivo (Madagascar), à la fin novembre 2016, le Gouvernement du Québec s’est joint au consensus qui a permis à la Corée du Sud d’accéder au statut d’observateur de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie.

Soutenue par l’Antenne du Québec à Séoul, l’Association coréenne d’études québécoises, créée en 2006, regroupe des professeurs sud-coréens qui partagent un intérêt pour la littérature, l’identité et la culture québécoises. L’Université Hankuk des études étrangères offre également une classe d’été sur la civilisation et la culture québécoise depuis 2007.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-28 08:53:47