Singapore

An urban city state, Singapore has the highest population density in Asia and the second highest in the world. Despite this, its lush vegetation—even in the middle of the city—has earned Singapore the nickname “garden city.”

Since its independence in 1965, Singapore has experienced consistent and vigorous growth. Because of its small size (719 km²), the country had no other choice than to open up its economy to the rest of the world. It is, moreover, recognized for its extraordinary economic success. Today, Singapore has the third largest economy in the world in terms of GDP per capita at purchasing power parity.

Québec in Singapore

The Québec Government Office in Singapore opened in November 2018. Its mandate is mainly economic, with a focus on promoting Québec expertise in sectors of mutual interest and identifying business opportunities and partnerships for Québec companies, institutions and organizations seeking to carve out a place in Singapore in particular and in Southeast Asia in general. The Office covers the following territories: Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand and Brunei.

Areas of collaboration

Québec wishes to develop collaborative relations with Singapore and the member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Dedicated to economic development, the Québec Government Office in Singapore is committed to supporting Québec companies in their market development and promoting Québec research and innovation.

Diversification of markets

Québec supports Québec companies in their efforts to develop the Singapore and Southeast Asian market, notably in the aerospace, ICT, transportation and agri-food product sectors.

Singapore is Québec’s sixth largest trading partner in Asia, with trade totaling CDN $643 million in 2017. The other countries under the responsibility of the Québec Government Office in Singapore also offer attractive business opportunities for Québec companies, notably Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand.

The entry into force of the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership on December 30, 2018, of which Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and Vietnam are signatories, will facilitate access by Québec companies to these markets. For more information on trade, please refer to the Commerce international en ligne section of the Institut de la statistique du Québec.

Promotion of Québec research and innovation

Québec supports the commercialization and promotion of innovation, notably in the fields of artificial intelligence and life sciences. Singapore is home to leading universities and advanced research centres, and is recognized as one of the most innovative countries in the world. It is particularly active in research and applications in the areas of smart cities, artificial intelligence, e-commerce and financial technologies.

Québec-Singapore cooperation

Following the opening of the Québec Government Office in Singapore in 2018, and with the goal of forging closer ties with Singapore society, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie launched a first call for Québec-Singapore cooperation projects in 2018.

For more information on the call for projects by the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie: www.mrif.gouv.qc.ca/fr/appels-a-projets

Last update: 2019-04-18 10:11:45 AM

Singapour

Pays aux dimensions urbaines, Singapour a la densité de population la plus élevée d’Asie et la deuxième sur le plan mondial, mais la végétation luxuriante — même en plein centre ville — a valu à Singapour le surnom de « ville jardin ».

Singapour a connu depuis son indépendance en 1965 un développement marqué par la constance et la rigueur. Du fait de sa taille (719 km²), le pays n’a eu d’autre choix que d’ouvrir son économie au reste du monde. Il est d’ailleurs reconnu pour son extraordinaire réussite économique. Aujourd’hui, Singapour représente la troisième économie mondiale en matière de PIB par habitant à parité du pouvoir d’achat.

Le Québec à Singapour

Le Bureau du Québec à Singapour a ouvert ses portes en novembre 2018. Il exerce un mandat principalement économique par la promotion de l’expertise québécoise dans les secteurs d’intérêt commun ainsi que la détermination d’occasions d’affaires et de partenariats pour les entreprises, les institutions et les organismes québécois qui souhaitent se tailler une place à Singapour et en Asie du Sud-Est en général. Le bureau couvre les territoires suivants : Singapour, Malaisie, Indonésie, Philippines, Thaïlande et Brunei.

Secteurs de collaboration

Le Québec souhaite nouer des relations de collaboration avec Singapour et les pays de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est. Voué au développement économique, le Bureau du Québec à Singapour vise à soutenir les entreprises québécoises dans leur développement de marché et à promouvoir la recherche et l’innovation québécoise.

Diversification des marchés

Le Québec appuie les entreprises québécoises dans leurs démarches d’accession au marché de Singapour et de l’Asie du Sud-Est, notamment dans les secteurs de l’aéronautique, des technologies de l’information et des communications, du transport et des produits agroalimentaires.

Singapour représente le sixième partenaire commercial du Québec en Asie, avec des échanges totaux de 643 millions $ CA pour l’année 2017. Les autres pays sous la responsabilité du Bureau du Québec à Singapour présentent également des occasions d’affaires intéressantes pour les entreprises québécoises, notamment l’Indonésie, la Malaisie et la Thaïlande.

L’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste le 30 décembre 2018, dont Singapour, la Malaisie et Brunei ainsi que le Vietnam sont signataires, facilitera l’accès des entreprises québécoises à ces marchés. Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les échanges économiques, vous pouvez vous référer à la section Commerce international en ligne de l’Institut de la statistique du Québec.

Promotion de la recherche et de l’innovation québécoise

Le Québec soutient la commercialisation et le rayonnement de l’innovation, notamment dans les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle et des sciences de la vie. Singapour possède des universités de pointe et des centres de recherche performants, et est reconnue comme l’une des plus innovantes au monde. Elle est particulièrement active dans la recherche et les applications qui portent sur les villes intelligentes, l’intelligence artificielle, le commerce électronique et les technologies financières.

Coopération Québec-Singapour

Dans la foulée de l’établissement du Bureau du Québec à Singapour en 2018 et dans l’objectif de tisser davantage de liens avec la société singapourienne, le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie a lancé un premier appel à projets de coopération Québec-Singapour en 2018.

Pour plus d’information sur les appels à projets du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie : www.mrif.gouv.qc.ca/fr/appels-a-projets

Dernière mise à jour : 2019-04-18 10:11:45