Political and institutional relations

Germany is one of the world’s great political and economic powers and is the largest economy in Europe. Québec and Germany enjoy excellent political, economic and cultural relations.

In recent years, a number of missions and working visits have taken place in both Québec and Germany. One of the most prominent was the visit to Québec City by the President of the Republic of Germany, Joachim Gauck, on September 27, 2014.

Québec has also developed a close partnership with Bavaria, one of the most prosperous Länder in Germany. Québec and Bavaria have consistently manifested a keen interest in their bilateral relations by signing a number of sectoral agreements and declarations. Political talks between Québec and Bavaria are very frequent. At the same time, relations between the National Assembly of Québec and the Landtag (Parliament) of Bavaria have developed since their inception in 1995. These bilateral relations also have a multilateral dimension in the Conference of Heads of Government of Partner Regions.

Québec has had an active presence in Germany since 1971. It first opened an office in Düsseldorf, which was closed in 1996, and then an office in Munich in 1997. In 2006, this office became a Québec General Delegation covering the German-speaking countries (Germany, Austria and Switzerland). Québec has also had a trade office in Berlin since 1999.

Last update: 2017-04-25 3:03:22 PM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

L’Allemagne est une des grandes puissances politiques et économiques au monde et la première puissance économique européenne. Le Québec a établi avec ce pays d’excellentes relations politiques, économiques et culturelles.

Dans les dernières années, plusieurs missions et visites se sont réalisées tant au Québec qu’en Allemagne. L’une des plus marquantes a été la visite à Québec du président de la République fédérale d’Allemagne, Joachim Gauck, le 27 septembre 2014.

De façon plus particulière, le Québec a développé un partenariat étroit avec la Bavière, l’un des länder les plus prospères d’Allemagne. Les deux États ont démontré avec constance l’intérêt qu’ils portent à leurs relations par la signature de diverses ententes et déclarations sectorielles. Les entretiens politiques sont très fréquents. Parallèlement, les relations entre l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et le landtag (Parlement) de Bavière se sont développées depuis 1995. Ces relations bilatérales trouvent leur prolongement multilatéral dans la Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires.

Le Québec est présent en Allemagne depuis 1971. Il y a ouvert d’abord une représentation à Düsseldorf, fermée en 1996, puis un bureau à Munich en 1997. Ce bureau est devenu en 2006 une délégation générale qui couvre les pays germanophones (Allemagne, Autriche et Suisse). De plus, le Québec compte une antenne culturelle à Berlin depuis 1999.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-11 16:36:05