Catalonia

The following tabs will change page context.

Introduction

Québec's relations with Catalonia demonstrate a mutual and clear interest that has never waivered in recent decades. Catalonia's strategic position within Europe together with its leadership in economy, technology, culture and tourism make it an important partner for expanding our exports and promoting our culture and expertise.

Social issues common to Québec and Catalonia are:

  • Cultural diversity
  • Identity issues
  • Language policies and language protection
  • Immigrant integration
  • Openness to the world
  • Economic development in general
  • And more specifically, the development of the knowledge economy.

Political relations

With Spain's return to democracy (late 1970s), Catalonia took an interest in Québec institutions and legislation as it explored models for its own development as an autonomous government. Following several missions carried out by Catalonia and Québec in the early 1980s, both governments decided to formalize emerging cooperation through an exchange of letters stipulating that the Québec government agreed to cooperate “in all areas of its jurisdiction” with the Catalan government. A framework agreement (in French) signed in 1996 specified areas of cooperation to be targeted and created the Québec-Catalonia Joint Committee.

Bilateral relations resulted, based on respect and mutual interest. Over the following three decades, Catalonia and Québec have mutually observed, visited, analyzed and supported each other. Ties have been maintained and have reached a high degree of maturity through the organization of symposia, conferences and forums, the exchange of practices and ways of operating, hosting economic, institutional and political missions, and supporting cooperation projects and artistic performances in the partner territory.

The parliaments of Québec and Catalonia also established a Québec - Catalonia Interparliamentary Commission (CIQC) to forge closer ties and sustain relations between the two legislative assemblies.

The Catalan government has two representative organizations in North America:

  • The Montréal ACC1Ó office (Catalonia Competitiveness Agency), which has been representing the economic and commercial interests of Catalonia in Canada and Québec since 2001
  • The Delegation of the Government of Catalonia to the United States, which has been overseeing bilateral relations with the United States and Canada (hence Québec) since it opened in New York City in January 2008

Québec and Catalonia's respective networks of government offices abroad established close and exceptional collaboration at events held in territories where they are both present.

In recent years, numerous missions and visits have taken place in sectors of common interest such as:

  • Health
  • Social affairs
  • Public safety
  • Culture
  • Communications
  • Education
  • Language policy
  • Immigration
  • Trade
  • Electoral processes
  • Labour mobility

Ministerial missions to Catalonia

  • Minister of Immigration and Cultural Communities, Kathleen Weil: Barcelona, February 1-3, 2012
  • Premier Jean Charest and Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay: Barcelona and Madrid, October 7, 10 and 11, 2011
  • Minister of Transport, Sam Hamad: Barcelona, September 13-16, 2010
  • Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand: Madrid, Barcelona and Tàrrega, September 6-12, 2009
  • Minister of Health and Social Services, Philippe Couillard: Madrid, Seville, Salamanca and Barcelona, September 19-27, 2006
  • Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, Benoît Pelletier: Barcelona, November 16-17, 2004
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay: Barcelona, June 19-23, 2004
  • Minister of Public Safety, Jacques Chagnon: Barcelona, July 30-August 3, 2003

Ministerial visits from Catalonia

  • Visit of the Minister of the Education of Catalonia Mrs Rigau i Oliver in May, 2014
  • Vice President of the Government of Catalonia, Joana Ortega I Alemany
  • Minister of Territory and Sustainability, Lluís Recoder: August 27-31, 2011
  • Catalonian Vice-President, Josep-Lluís Carod-Rovira: July 4-7, 2010
  • Minister of Education, Ernest Maragall: October 13-16, 2009
  • Minister of Governance and Public Administration, Jordi Ausàs: September 23-26, 2008
  • Minister of Employment and Industry, Josep Rañé: April 5-8, 2006
  • Minister of Universities, Research and the Information Society, Carlès Sola: March 5-7, 2006
  • Catalan Minister of the Environment, Salvador Milà: December 5-6, 2005
  • Prime Minister of Catalonia, Josep Bargallo: May 2-4, 2005
  • Catalan Minister of Home Affairs, Montserrat Tura: December 9, 2004
  • Catalan Minister of Governance and Institutional Relations, Josep Maria Pelegrí i Aixut: February 20-22, 2003
  • Prime Minister of Catalonia, Artur Mas: February 16-18, 2003
  • Catalan Minister of Culture, Jordi Vilajoana: February 13-18, 2003

Areas of collaboration

Economy

The growth of Catalan investments in Québec and the importance of bilateral trade between Catalonia and Québec are creating new business opportunities for Québec companies, particularly in technology-intensive sectors.

Cooperation between Québec and Catalonia is driven by sectors with strong economic potential such as:

  • Biotechnology
  • Agri-food sector
  • Information and communication technology
  • Publishing
  • Tourism
  • The environment
  • Applied health research

The knowledge economy is also making a significant contribution to cooperation through the establishment of the Montréal-Barcelona Summer School on Management of Creativity, now in its fifth edition 2013.

Eight Québec companies have operations in Catalonia, and a dozen Catalan firms have set up operations in Québec.

Air Transat's direct Montréal - Barcelona air link, inaugurated in May, 2007, has had a positive effect on the growth of tourism exchanges.

Culture

Culture is probably the most important aspect of Québec-Catalan relations. Similarities between the two regions with respect to identity, culture and language protection have paved the way for forging close and promising cultural ties. Within the span of less than a year, for instance, Québec was showcased at two major cultural events in Catalonia: LIBER (an international book fair held in Barcelona in October, 2008) and Fira Tàrrega (a circus and street arts festival held in the Catalan city of Tàrrega in September, 2009). And, in 2012, the City of Montréal was the guest of honour at the La Mercè Festival.

In recent years, Québec has become Catalonia's most important Canadian partner in the cultural sector since Québec artists account for the bulk of Canada's cultural presence in Catalonia. A number of Québec festivals, companies and artists perform regularly in Catalonia:

  • Cirque du Soleil
  • Cirque Eloize
  • Just for Laughs Festival
  • Marie Chouinard
  • Grands Ballets Canadiens
  • La La La Human Steps
  • Robert Lepage
  • Wajdi Mouawad
  • The 7 Fingers
  • Dynamo Theatre
  • Le Carrousel Theatre

An increasing number of Québec films are also being screened and appreciated in Catalonia: Québec was the guest of honour at FILMETS 2011 (Badalona [Barcelona] International Short Film Festival).

Tourism

Tourism also represents a vector for expanding bilateral economic relations between Québec and Catalonia. Air Transat inaugurated its Montréal-Madrid air link in the summer of 2006, followed by a Montréal-Barcelona air link in May, 2007. These direct flights have had a positive effect on the growth of tourism exchanges and contribute to bolstering Québec tourism image in Catalonia.

Mobility

In order to adapt employment services in Catalonia to the labour market's current and future needs, the Catalan government took steps focusing on three core areas: innovation, integration and internationalization. With respect to internationalization, the Catalan government wishes to foster the international expansion of Catalan businesses and enable its workers to have access to job offers and internships abroad.

Recognizing their mutual interest in increasing collaboration to foster the mobility of Catalan workers wishing to come to Québec and facilitate the socio-professional integration of those benefiting from such mobility, both governments signed a Joint Declaration (in French) on labour mobility cooperation between Québec and Catalonia in Barcelona on February 2, 2012.

Youth

During his visit to Québec, the Vice President of Catalonia and the CEO of OQMJ (Québec World Office for Youth) signed an Agreement between the OQMJ and the Government of Catalonia through the intermediary of the Youth Secretariat of Catalan's Ministry of Social Action and Citizenship. The agreement was signed on July 10, 2010, and provides opportunities for young people to hone their professional qualifications through exchanges. (link)

In signing the agreement, both parties committed to implementing a joint exchange program for young Québec and Catalan adults enabling them to carry out a project or participate in a multilateral event.

Cooperation

The Cooperation Agreement between the Government of Québec and the Autonomous Government of Catalonia (in French), signed in 1996 created the Joint Cooperation Committee, which meets biennially to take stock of initiatives undertaken during the two-year period, devise and approve a work program for the next two years and reach consensus on sectoral agreements that could be signed. The next meeting of the Québec-Catalonia Joint Cooperation Committee will take place in Barcelona in the spring of 2017.

Since the Québec-Catalonia Joint Cooperation Committee's inception, it has received over one hundred cooperation projects pertaining to virtually all sectors that fall within the jurisdiction of both parties:

  • Culture
  • Research, science and technology
  • Language
  • Health
  • Economy and trade
  • Education
  • Public and civil safety
  • Youth
  • Natural resources
  • Electoral processes

You can also consult the list of projects selected under this agreement.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-11-23 3:32:54 PM

Catalogne

Les onglets suivants changeront le contexte de la page.

Introduction

La relation du Québec avec la Catalogne témoigne d'un intérêt mutuel et manifeste qui ne s'est jamais démenti au cours des dernières décennies. Sa position stratégique en Europe ainsi que son leadership économique, technologique, culturel et touristique font de la Catalogne un partenaire important pour le développement de nos exportations et la diffusion de notre culture et de notre expertise.

Les enjeux sociaux que partagent le Québec et la Catalogne sont :

  • la diversité culturelle;
  • les questions identitaires;
  • les politiques linguistiques et la protection de la langue;
  • l'intégration des immigrants;
  • l'ouverture sur le monde;
  • le développement économique, en général;
  • l'économie du savoir, particulièrement.

Relations politiques

Dès le retour à la démocratie en Espagne (fin des années 70), la Catalogne s'intéresse aux institutions et à la législation québécoises dans sa recherche de modèles pour son propre développement de gouvernement autonome. Faisant suite à quelques missions de part et d'autre au début des années 80, les deux gouvernements décident d'officialiser la coopération naissante par un échange de lettres qui stipulait que le Gouvernement du Québec acceptait de coopérer « dans tous les domaines de sa compétence » avec celui de la Catalogne. Une entente-cadre signée en 1996 précisait les secteurs de coopération à privilégier et créait le Comité mixte Québec-Catalogne.

S'ensuivit une relation bilatérale fondée sur le respect et l'intérêt réciproque. Au fil des trois décennies qui se sont écoulées depuis, la Catalogne et le Québec se sont mutuellement observés, visités, analysés et appuyés. Que ce soit par l'organisation de colloques, de conférences ou de forums, l'échange de pratiques et de façons de faire, l'accueil de missions économiques, institutionnelles ou politiques, le soutien à des projets de coopération ou les prestations artistiques sur le territoire partenaire, les liens se sont maintenus et ont atteint un haut degré de maturité.

Les parlements du Québec et de la Catalogne ont également mis sur pied la Commission interparlementaire Québec-Catalogne (CIQC) dans le but de tisser des liens plus étroits et de pérenniser les échanges entre les deux assemblées législatives.

Le gouvernement catalan possède deux représentations sur le territoire nord-américain :

  • le bureau d'ACC1Ó à Montréal (Agence catalane de la compétitivité), qui représente les intérêts économiques et commerciaux de la Catalogne au Canada et au Québec depuis 2001;
  • la Délégation du gouvernement de la Catalogne aux États-Unis, qui s'occupe des relations bilatérales avec les États-Unis et le Canada (donc avec le Québec) depuis son ouverture en janvier 2008, à New York.

Le réseau de représentations du Québec à l'étranger et celui de la Catalogne ont établi une collaboration étroite et unique lors d'événements se déroulant dans les territoires où ils sont tous les deux établis.

Au cours des dernières années, de nombreuses missions et visites se sont déroulées dans des secteurs d'intérêt mutuel comme :

  • la santé;
  • les affaires sociales;
  • la sécurité publique;
  • la culture;
  • les communications;
  • l'éducation;
  • la politique linguistique;
  • l'immigration;
  • les échanges économiques;
  • les processus électoraux;
  • la mobilité de la main-d'oeuvre.

Missions ministérielles en Catalogne

  • Ministre de l'Immigration et des Communautés culturelles, Kathleen Weil, à Barcelone du 1er au 3 février 2012.
  • Premier ministre, Jean Charest, et ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, à Barcelone et à Madrid, les 7, 10 et 11 octobre 2011.
  • Ministre des Transports, Sam Hamad, à Barcelone, du 13 au 16 septembre 2010.
  • Ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, à Madrid, à Barcelone et à Tàrrega, du 6 au 12 septembre 2009.
  • Ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Philippe Couillard, à Madrid, à Séville, à Salamanca et à Barcelone, du 19 au 27 septembre 2006.
  • Ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, Benoît Pelletier, à Barcelone, les 16 et 17 novembre 2004.
  • Vice-première ministre et ministre des Relations internationales, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, à Barcelone, du 19 au 23 juin 2004.
  • Ministre de la Sécurité publique, Jacques Chagnon, à Barcelone, du 30 juillet au 3 août 2003.

Visites ministérielles en provenance de la Catalogne

  • Visite de la ministre de l’Enseignement de la Catalogne Mme Rigau i Oliver en mai 2014
  • Vice-présidente du gouvernement de la Catalogne, Joana Ortega i Alemany.
  • Ministre du Territoire et du Développement durable, Lluis Recoder, du 27 au 31 août 2011.
  • Vice-président du gouvernement de la Catalogne, Josep-Lluís Carod-Rovira, du 4 au 7 juillet 2010.
  • Ministre de l'Éducation, Ernest Maragall, du 13 au 16 octobre 2009.
  • Ministre du Gouvernement et de l'Administration publique, Jordi Ausàs, du 23 au 26 septembre 2008.
  • Ministre de l'Industrie et du Travail, Josep Rañé, du 5 au 8 avril 2006.
  • Ministre des Universités, de la Recherche et de la Société de l'information, Carlès Sola, du 5 au 7 mars 2006.
  • Ministre de l'Environnement de la Catalogne, Salvador Milà, les 5 et 6 décembre 2005.
  • Premier ministre de la Catalogne, Josep Bargallo, du 2 au 4 mai 2005.
  • Ministre de l'Intérieur de la Catalogne, Montserrat Tura, le 9 décembre 2004.
  • Ministre de l'Administration publique et des Relations institutionnelles de la Catalogne, Josep Maria Pelegrí i Aixut, du 20 au 22 février 2003.
  • Premier ministre de la Catalogne, Artur Mas, du 16 au 18 février 2003.
  • Ministre de la Culture de la Catalogne, Jordi Vilajoana, du 13 au 18 février 2003.

Secteurs de collaboration

Économie

La croissance des investissements catalans au Québec et le nombre des échanges économiques bilatéraux permettent d'envisager de nouvelles occasions d'affaires pour les entreprises québécoises, particulièrement dans les secteurs à forte composante technologique.

La coopération entre le Québec et la Catalogne est alimentée par les secteurs à fort potentiel économique comme :

  • les biotechnologies;
  • le secteur agro-alimentaire ;
  • les technologies de l'information et des communications;
  • l'édition;
  • le tourisme;
  • l'environnement;
  • la recherche appliquée dans le domaine de la santé.

L'économie du savoir est également mise à contribution par l'ouverture de l'École d'été en management de la création Montréal-Barcelone, qui en est à sa cinquième édition, en juillet 2013.

Huit entreprises québécoises sont implantées en Catalogne et une douzaine d'entreprises catalanes se sont établies au Québec.

L'inauguration, par Air Transat, d'un lien aérien direct entre Montréal et Barcelone en mai 2007 a eu un effet positif sur la croissance des échanges touristiques.

Retour en haut de la page

Culture

La culture est probablement le vecteur le plus important de la relation Québec-Catalogne. Les similitudes entre les deux régions, en ce qui a trait à la protection de l'identité, de la culture et de la langue, ont ouvert la voie à l'établissement d'une relation étroite et féconde dans le domaine de la culture. Par exemple, en moins d'un an, deux événements culturels d'importance en Catalogne ont mis le Québec à l'honneur : LIBER (une foire internationale du livre, tenue à Barcelone en octobre 2008) et Fira Tàrrega (une foire des arts du cirque et de la rue, tenue dans cette ville catalane en septembre 2009). Et en 2012, la ville de Montréal fut la ville invitée d’honneur à la fête de La Mercè, du 21 au 24 septembre.

Depuis les dernières années, le Québec est devenu pour la Catalogne le premier partenaire canadien en matière de culture, puisque la présence culturelle canadienne sur ce territoire est principalement le fait d'artistes québécois. Plusieurs festivals, compagnies et artistes québécois se produisent régulièrement sur le territoire :

  • le Cirque du Soleil;
  • le Cirque Eloize;
  • le festival Juste pour rire;
  • Marie Chouinard;
  • les Grands Ballets Canadiens;
  • La La La Human Steps;
  • Robert Lepage;
  • Wajdi Mouwad;
  • Les 7 Doigts de la Main;
  • Dynamo théâtre;
  • Le Carrousel.

En outre, la cinématographie québécoise est de plus en plus diffusée et reconnue en Catalogne : le Québec était de fait invité d'honneur à FILMETS 2011 (Festival International du court-métrage de Badalona [Barcelone]).

Retour en haut de la page

Tourisme

Le tourisme, de part et d'autre, constitue également un vecteur de croissance des relations économiques bilatérales. À l'été 2006, Air Transat a inauguré le lien aérien entre Montréal et Madrid et, en mai 2007, celui entre Montréal et Barcelone, lequel a eu un effet positif sur la croissance des échanges touristiques depuis cette date. Ces vols directs contribuent à faire rayonner l'image touristique du Québec en Catalogne.

Retour en haut de la page

Mobilité

Afin d'adapter les services d'emplois en Catalogne aux besoins actuels et futurs du marché du travail, le gouvernement catalan a entrepris une démarche qui s'appuie sur trois axes principaux : l'innovation, l'intégration et l'internationalisation. En ce qui a trait à ce dernier axe, le gouvernement catalan souhaite favoriser le développement des entreprises catalanes sur le plan international et permettre à ses travailleurs et à ses travailleuses d'avoir accès à des offres d'emplois et à des stages à l'étranger.

Reconnaissant l'intérêt mutuel d'une collaboration accrue afin de favoriser la mobilité des travailleurs catalans vers le Québec et de faciliter l'intégration socioprofessionnelle des bénéficiaires de cette mobilité, les deux gouvernements ont signé, à Barcelone, le 2 février 2012, la Déclaration commune portant sur la coopération en matière de mobilité de la main-d'oeuvre entre le Québec et la Catalogne.

Retour en haut de la page

Jeunesse

À l'occasion de la visite au Québec du vice-président de la Catalogne, ce dernier a signé à Montréal, avec le président-directeur général de l'Office Québec-Monde pour la jeunesse, le 10 juillet 2010, l'Entente entre l'Office Québec-Monde pour la jeunesse et le gouvernement de la Catalogne par l'intermédiaire du Secrétariat à la jeunesse du ministère de l'Action sociale et de la Citoyenneté portant sur l'échange de jeunes en vue de l'amélioration de leurs habiletés professionnelles. (lien)

Par cette entente, les deux parties s'entendent pour mettre en oeuvre un programme conjoint d'échanges de jeunes Québécois et Catalans visant à leur permettre de réaliser un projet ou à participer à un événement à caractère multilatéral.

Retour en haut de la page

Coopération

L'Entente de coopération entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement autonome de Catalogne, signée en 1996, créait le Comité mixte de coopération, qui se réunit tous les deux ans pour faire le bilan des actions menées au cours des deux dernières années, élaborer et approuver un programme de travail pour les deux années suivantes et convenir des accords sectoriels qui pourraient être signés. La prochaine réunion du Comité mixte de coopération Québec-Catalogne se tiendra à Barcelone, au printemps 2017.

Depuis qu'il existe, le Comité mixte de coopération Québec-Catalogne a reçu plus d'une centaine de projets de coopération touchant pratiquement tous les secteurs relevant des compétences des deux parties :

  • culture;
  • recherche, science et technologie;
  • langue;
  • santé;
  • économie et commerce;
  • éducation;
  • sécurité publique et civile;
  • jeunesse;
  • ressources naturelles;
  • processus électoraux.

Vous pouvez aussi consulter la liste des projets de coopération sélectionnés dans le cadre cette entente.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-20 15:39:37