Main areas of collaboration

Economy

Québec constitutes the hub of economic relations between Canada and Spain, since over 40% of bilateral trade between the two countries is Québec-based. In 2011, overall trade between Québec and Spain totaled $1.02 billion ($432.7 million in exports to Spain and $592.9 in imports from this country). In 2011, Spain was Québec's 14th largest export market. There is strong potential for growth in economic relations, since trade is less than the relative weight of the size of their economy (in 2011, the Canadian and Spanish economies ranked 11th and 12th in the world in terms of their respective GDPs).

Spain hosts a number of international events at which Québec is increasingly present. Over the last years, some 60 trade missions have taken place in Spain and Québec, thereby contributing to increased trade between the two economies.

The most attractive markets in Spain for Québec companies are

  • Aerospace
  • Health and biotechnologies
  • Information and communications technology
  • Environment and renewable energies
  • Fashion and technical textiles
  • Tourism

Spanish companies in Québec

Some 30 Spanish companies operate in Québec and employ about 600 people. Here is a list of the biggest companies:

Petrochemical sector

  • Interquisa (Montréal)
  • Petresa (Bécancour)

Infrastructure sector

  • OHL (construction of the CHUM)
  • Dragados (extension of Highway 30)

Energy sector

  • Enerfin (wind park in the Centre du Québec region)

Hotel industry

  • The Iber Management Hotel Group (owner of the Hotel St-Paul in Montréal)

Agrifoods sector

  • The Ebro-Puleva Group (New World Pasta Canada, based in Montréal)
  • Cascajares (high-quality food products for hotels, restaurants, and institutions, based in Sainte-Hyacinthe)

Industrial sector

  • The Abressa Group (manufacturer of resin abrasives, based in Saint-Sébastien)

Fashion sector

  • Mango
  • Zara

Québec companies in Spain

Nearly 30 Québec companies have subsidiaries in Spain and generate around 2,500 jobs. Several belong to the new technologies sector. Among the largest are

  • Bombardier (Transport Division)
  • BRP (watercraft)
  • CAE (flight simulators)
  • CGI
  • Dialogic
  • Ivanohe
  • SNC-Lavalin

Most of these investors began setting up operations in Spain in the mid 90s to take advantage of the Spanish market's sustained growth, which was above the European average.

Back to top

Culture

In recent years, Québec has become Spain's primary Canadian partner in the area of culture. Indeed, Canada's cultural presence in Spain has largely been achieved by Québec artists. This success can be attributed to the quality of Québec's artistic productions, concerted market development strategies among networks, and guided support and promotion by the Québec Government Office in Barcelona; Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine (MCCCF); Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ); and Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC).

A number of Québec festivals, companies and artists appear on a regular basis in Spain:

  • Robert Lepage
  • Cirque du Soleil
  • Cirque Éloize
  • The Just for Laughs Festival
  • Mutek
  • MEG at the SONAR electronic music festival
  • Marie Chouinard
  • Les Grands Ballets Canadiens
  • LaLaLa Human Steps
  • Dynamo Théâtre
  • Le Carrousel

Québec galleries regularly participate in ARCO, a major contemporary art fair in Madrid. In addition, our poets and authors go on speaking tours as part of the tour program of the International Association of Québec Studies (AIEQ).

Québec also takes part in major cultural events in Spain where it gains recognition as a guest of honor:

  • The Tolosa International Puppet Festival — December 2009
    Five companies from Québec participated in a major exhibition featuring Québec-made puppets. A Québec gastronomy week was also held in Tolosa at that time.
  • FiraTàrrega — September 2009
    Three companies from Québec where showcased at this circus and street performing arts fair.
    • Les Parfaits Inconnus;
    • Mobile Home;
    • Poupées [K]rinkées.
  • LIBER — October 2008
    Some 30 publishers and 20 authors from Québec took part in this book fair, the largest Spanish and Latin American publishing industry event of its kind.

Following the example of Québec's cultural diversity coalition, Spain formed its own coalition, which is supported by the Spanish Ministry of Culture. The presence of Québec's Minister of Culture and Communications at an international meeting of culture ministers in Madrid in May 2005 provided an opportunity to highlight Québec's expertise and position regarding the adoption of UNESCO's Convention on the Diversity of Cultural Expressions. The Québec government was also represented at the 10th annual Ministerial Meeting of the International Network on Cultural Policy (INCP), held in Seville from September 20 to 22, 2007.

Back to top

Tourism

Tourism also plays an important role in the growth of bilateral economic relations between Spain and Québec. The air link between Montréal and Madrid launched by Air Transat in summer 2006 and the one between Montréal and Barcelona initiated in May 2007 have had a positive impact on the growth of tourism. Since then, the Montréal carrier has steadily increased the number of passengers carried on its routes between Québec and Spain, especially in Catalonia. In addition, Air Canada implemented a direct seasonal link between Montréal and Barcelona in June 2010, which it continued to serve in 2011.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:38 PM

Principaux secteurs de collaboration

Économie

Le Québec constitue la plaque tournante des relations économiques entre le Canada et l'Espagne, puisque plus de 40 % de leur commerce bilatéral se fait au Québec. En 2011, le total des échanges commerciaux entre le Québec et l'Espagne a atteint 1,02 milliard de dollars, soit 432,7 millions de dollars en exportation vers l'Espagne et 592,9 millions de dollars en importation de ce pays. En 2011, l'Espagne se situait au 14e rang des clients internationaux du Québec. La relation conserve un fort potentiel de croissance, car les échanges sont inférieurs au poids relatif de la taille de leur économie (en 2011, le Canada et l'Espagne occupaient le 11e et le 12e rang des plus importantes économies au monde en raison de leur PIB respectif).

L'Espagne accueille de nombreuses manifestations à caractère international intégrant une présence québécoise accrue. Au cours des dernières années, une soixantaine de missions commerciales ont eu lieu en Espagne et au Québec, contribuant ainsi à l'augmentation des échanges économiques.

Les marchés les plus intéressants en Espagne pour les entreprises québécoises sont :

  • l'aérospatial;
  • la santé et les biotechnologies;
  • les technologies de l'information et des communications;
  • l'environnement et les énergies renouvelables;
  • la mode et les textiles techniques;
  • le tourisme.

Entreprises espagnoles au Québec

On dénombre au Québec près d'une trentaine d'entreprises espagnoles qui emploient quelque 600 personnes. Les plus importantes sont :

Secteur pétrochimique

  • Interquisa (Montréal);
  • Petresa (Bécancour);

Secteur des infrastructures

  • OHL (construction du CHUM);
  • Dragados (prolongement de l'autoroute 30);

Secteur de l'énergie

  • Enerfin (parc d'éoliennes dans la région du centre du Québec);

Secteur hôtelier

  • Le groupe hôtelier Ibermanagement (propriétaire de l'Hôtel St-Paul à Montréal);

Secteur agroalimentaire

  • Le groupe Ebro-Puleva (New World Pasta Canada à Montréal);
  • Cascajares (produits alimentaires haut de gamme pour hôtels, restaurants et institutions à Saint-Hyacinthe);

Secteur industriel

  • Le Groupe Abressa (fabricant de résine abrasive à Saint-Sébastien);

Secteur de la mode

  • Mango;
  • Zara;

Entreprises québécoises en Espagne

Près d'une trentaine d'entreprises québécoises ont des filiales en Espagne, générant quelque 2 500 emplois. Plusieurs d'entre elles sont du domaine des nouvelles technologies. Parmi les plus importantes, on note :

  • Bombardier (division de transport);
  • BRP (motomarine);
  • CAE (simulateurs de vol);
  • CGI;
  • Dialogic;
  • Ivanohe;
  • SNC-Lavalin.

La plupart des investisseurs se sont implantés à partir du milieu des années 90, profitant de la croissance soutenue du marché espagnol, supérieure à la moyenne européenne.

Retour en haut de la page

Culture

Au cours des dernières années, le Québec est devenu pour l'Espagne le premier partenaire canadien en matière de culture. En effet, la présence culturelle canadienne sur le territoire espagnol est majoritairement le fait d'artistes québécois. Ce succès est attribuable à la qualité des productions artistiques québécoises, à des stratégies de développement de marché concertées entre les réseaux et au travail d'accompagnement et de promotion effectué par le Bureau du Québec à Barcelone, le ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine (MCCCF), le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) et la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC).

Plusieurs festivals, compagnies et artistes québécois se produisent régulièrement en Espagne :

  • Robert Lepage;
  • Le Cirque du Soleil;
  • Le Cirque Éloize;
  • Le festival Juste pour rire;
  • Mutek;
  • MEG au festival de musique électronique SONAR;
  • Marie Chouinard;
  • Les Grands Ballets Canadiens;
  • LaLaLa Human Steps;
  • Dynamo Théâtre;
  • Le Carrousel.

Des galeries québécoises participent régulièrement à l'important salon ARCO de Madrid. De plus, nos poètes et auteurs effectuent des tournées dans le cadre du programme de l'Association internationale des études québécoises (AIEQ).

Le Québec participe également à d'importants événements culturels en Espagne où il est invité d'honneur et s'y démarque :

  • Le Festival international de la marionnette de Tolosa — décembre 2009
    Cinq compagnies du Québec ont participé à une importante exposition sur la marionnette québécoise. Une semaine gastronomique québécoise a été également tenue à Tolosa à cette occasion.
  • FiraTàrrega — septembre 2009
    Trois troupes du Québec étaient à l'honneur à cette foire des arts du cirque et de la rue, soit :
    • Les Parfaits Inconnus;
    • Mobile Home;
    • Poupées [K]rinkées.
  • LIBER — octobre 2008
    Une trentaine de maisons d'édition et une vingtaine d'auteurs du Québec ont participé à cette foire du livre, la plus importante de l'industrie de l'édition espagnole et latino-américaine.

En matière de diversité culturelle, l'Espagne, sous l'impulsion de la coalition québécoise, a mis sur pied sa propre coalition appuyée par le ministère de la Culture du Royaume d'Espagne. La présence de la ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec à la Rencontre internationale des ministres de la Culture tenue à Madrid, en mai 2005, a permis de faire connaître l'expertise et la position du Québec à l'égard de l'adoption de la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles à l'UNESCO. Le Gouvernement du Québec a également été représenté à la 10e Réunion ministérielle annuelle du Réseau international sur la politique culturelle (RIPC), tenue à Séville du 20 au 22 septembre 2007.

Retour en haut de la page

Tourisme

Le tourisme, de part et d'autre, constitue également un vecteur de croissance des relations économiques bilatérales. Le lien aérien entre Montréal et Madrid, mis en service par Air Transat à l'été 2006, et celui entre Montréal et Barcelone, inauguré en mai 2007, ont eu un effet positif sur la croissance des échanges touristiques. Depuis, le transporteur montréalais n'a cessé d'augmenter le nombre de passagers transportés sur ses lignes reliant le Québec et l'Espagne, notamment en Catalogne. Air Canada a également mis en service un lien direct saisonnier entre Montréal et Barcelone, en juin 2010, qu'elle a continué à desservir en 2011.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-20 15:38:29