Diplomatic channels

Québec-France relations are epitomized by the special diplomatic channel formed by the Québec Government Office in Paris and the Consulate General of France in Quebec City, which allows the two governments to communicate directly with each other.

Québec Government Office in Paris

Inaugurated on October 5, 1961 by Jean Lesage, the Premier of Québec at that time, and André Malraux, then Minister of State for Cultural Affairs of the French Republic, the "Maison du Québec" played a key role in building modern relations between France and Québec. In 1964, it became the Québec Government Office in Paris (DGQP) and was granted most of the diplomatic privileges and immunities that are normally accorded to embassies, which is a testament to the exceptional character of the relations between France and Québec. In 2011, the DGQP celebrated its 50th anniversary by creating a spectacular program of political, economic, cultural and scientific activities.

Direction France

The Direction France is the organizational unit of the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) that acts as a liaison between the DGQP and the Consulate General of France. It coordinates the activities of the government, its departments and agencies on French territory. It oversees all relations with the French government and its representatives in Québec that are deemed appropriate by the Québec government.

Consulate General of France in Quebec City

The Consulate General of France in Quebec City is responsible for relations between France and Québec. For that purpose, it maintains direct, regular relations with Québec authorities. The Consulate General of France in Quebec City manages all aspects of the relations between France and Québec within the entire territory of Québec. A portion of its staff is assigned to Montreal, where another Consulate General of France is located.

For more information on the Consulate General of France in Quebec City:

Last update: 2017-11-24 12:05:49 PM

Dispositif diplomatique

La relation entre le Québec et la France est incarnée par un dispositif diplomatique particulier, constitué de la Délégation générale du Québec à Paris et du Consulat général de France à Québec, qui assure, sans intermédiaire, les communications de gouvernement à gouvernement.

Délégation générale du Québec à Paris

Inaugurée le 5 octobre 1961 par le premier ministre du Québec, Jean Lesage, et le ministre d’État chargé des Affaires culturelles de la République française, André Malraux, la « Maison du Québec » a joué un rôle central dans la construction de la relation franco-québécoise moderne. En 1964, elle devient la Délégation générale du Québec à Paris (DGQP), dotée de la plupart des privilèges et immunités diplomatiques habituellement accordés aux ambassades, témoignant ainsi du caractère exceptionnel conféré à la relation franco-québécoise. En 2011, la DGQP a célébré son 50e anniversaire avec l’organisation d’un riche programme d’activités politiques, économiques, culturelles et scientifiques.

Direction France

La Direction France du Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) assure la liaison avec la DGQP ainsi qu’avec le Consulat général de France. Elle coordonne l’action du gouvernement, de ses ministères et des organismes sur le territoire de la France. Elle assure les relations que le gouvernement juge opportunes avec le gouvernement français et avec ses représentants au Québec.

Consulat général de France à Québec

Le consul général de France à Québec a la responsabilité des relations entre la France et le Québec. Il entretient à ce titre des rapports directs et réguliers avec les autorités québécoises. Le Consulat général de France à Québec gère la relation franco-québécoise dans tous ses aspects et sur tout le territoire québécois. Une partie de son personnel est affecté à Montréal. Un Consulat général de France est également établi à Montréal.

Pour plus d’informations sur le Consulat général de France à Québec :

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-20 15:40:37