Alternating Meetings of the Premier of Québec and the Prime Minister of France

Launched in 1977, the Alternating Meetings of the Premier of Québec and the Prime Minister of France set the objectives and priorities for relations between Québec and France. The meetings alternate between Québec and France and generally provide an opportunity to sign bilateral agreements or joint declarations setting out objectives that are shared by both governments.

Ministers from Québec and France also criss-cross the Atlantic many times for talks, which increases the number of social, cultural, economic, technological and environmental issues under consideration each year. Québec and France also maintain a broad array of ties in the Francophonie and, in the case of Québec, as part of the inter-parliamentary and international relations of the National Assembly.

18th Alternating Meeting - 2015

The 18th Alternating Meeting of the Premier of Québec and the Prime Minister of France in Paris in March 2015 at the invitation of the Prime Minister of France, Manuel Valls.

Record of Decisions (French only)

17th Alternating Meeting - 2013

The Premier of Québec welcomed the Prime Minister of the French Republic, Jean-Marc Ayrault, to Québec on March 14 and 15, 2013, for the 17th Alternating Meeting of the Premier of Québec and the Prime Minister of France. They agreed on a series of measures that will give new impetus to relations between Québec and France by targeting creativity and innovation. The priorities and policies set out in the Record of Decisions signed in Québec City are aimed at strengthening relations between Québec and France, especially in the areas of the economy and youth.

Speeche (French only)

Record of Decisions (French only)

16th Alternating Meeting - 2010

At the 16th Alternating Meeting, Premier Charest and Prime Minister Fillon agreed on new measures to strengthen relations between Québec and France. These measures were intended to :

  • Create a space for professional mobility
  • Increase cooperation between regions of Québec and France
  • Cooperate to facilitate international adoption in Haiti

Premier Charest and Prime Minister Fillon also unveiled the outlines of the activities planned for 2011 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Québec Government Office in Paris.

Speeche (French only)

Record of Decisions, November 26, 2010 (23 Ko) (French only)

Appendix - Report 2008-2010 (27 Ko) (French only)

15th Alternating Meeting - 2008

The 15th Alternating Meeting of the Premier of Québec and the Prime Minister of France was held on July 3 and 4, 2008. It resulted in a series of agreements and statements to mobilize the governments of Québec and France as well as industrial and economic stakeholders and the academic, cultural and youth communities of the two countries.

Among the decisions made at the working session on July 4, the Premier and Prime Minister identified 3 guiding principles for their joint actions :

  • Build a new space for discussion and innovation
  • Guarantee responsible development for future generations
  • Strengthen their partnership on major societal issues

Messrs. Charest and Fillon also used the occasion to sign a joint declaration on Québec and France’s desire to facilitate and accelerate the mutual recognition of professional qualifications.

They also attended the Montréal signing of statements with respect to industrial agreements in the aeronautics and energy sectors. A dozen agreements in the area of sharing knowledge between governments, educational institutions and research centres were also signed at INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier in Laval.

Speeche (French only)

Joint declaration of the Prime Minister of France and the Premier of Québec (35 Ko) (French only)

Record of Decisions, July 3, 2008 (45 Ko) (French only)

Appendix - List of documents signed July 4, 2008 (26 Ko) (French only)

Last update: 2017-07-06 2:26:59 PM

Rencontres alternées des premiers ministres

Instaurées en 1977, les Rencontres alternées des premiers ministres québécois et français fixent les orientations et les priorités de la relation franco-québécoise. Tenues en alternance au Québec et en France, elles donnent généralement lieu à la signature d’ententes bilatérales ou de déclarations communes fixant les orientations partagées par les deux gouvernements.

À ces Rencontres alternées s’ajoutent de nombreuses visites ministérielles qui permettent de multiplier, chaque année, des enjeux sociaux, culturels, économiques, technologiques et environnementaux. Le Québec et la France entretiennent, par ailleurs, de nombreux liens dans le cadre de la Francophonie ainsi que dans le cadre des relations interparlementaires et internationales de l’Assemblée nationale.

19e Rencontre alternée - 2016

19e rencontre alternée des premiers ministres québécois et français

Le 14 octobre, à Québec, le premier ministre du Québec, Philippe Couillard, et le premier ministre de la République française, Manuel Valls, ont participé à la 19e Rencontre alternée des premiers ministres québécois et français. Parmi les thèmes prioritaires, mentionnons notamment l'économie, le numérique, la jeunesse, la promotion de la langue française, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, la prévention de la radicalisation et la Stratégie maritime.

Relevé de décisions
Album photos

18e Rencontre alternée - 2015

La 18e Rencontre alternée des premiers ministres québécois et français s'est tenue à Paris en mars 2015 à l'invitation du premier ministre français Manuel Valls.

Relevé de décisions

17e Rencontre alternée - 2013

La première ministre du Québec a reçu au Québec, les 14 et 15 mars 2013, le premier ministre de la République française, Jean-Marc Ayrault, à l’occasion de la tenue de la 17e Rencontre alternée des premiers ministres. Ils ont convenu à cette occasion d’actions destinées à insuffler un nouvel élan à la relation franco-québécoise en plaçant celle-ci sous le signe de la créativité et de l’innovation. Les priorités et les orientations consignées dans le Relevé de décisions signé à Québec visent à approfondir les liens, plus particulièrement dans les domaines de l’économie et de la jeunesse.

Communiqué - Un nouvel élan à la relation franco-québécoise

Relevé de décisions

16e Rencontre alternée - 2010

Dans le cadre de la 16e Rencontre alternée, les 25 et 26 novembre 2010, les premiers ministres Jean Charest et François Fillon ont convenu de nouvelles actions destinées à renforcer la relation entre le Québec et la France. Ces actions visent notamment à :

  • créer un espace de mobilité professionnelle
  • accroître la coopération entre les régions françaises et québécoises
  • coopérer pour faciliter l'adoption internationale en Haïti

Le premier ministre du Québec, conjointement avec son homologue, a également dévoilé les grandes lignes de la programmation d'activités prévues en 2011 pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de la Délégation générale du Québec à Paris.

Communiqué

Relevé de décisions, 26 novembre 2010 (23 Ko)

Annexe - Bilan 2008-2010 (27 Ko)

15e Rencontre alternée - 2008

La 15e Rencontre alternée des premiers ministres s'est tenue au Québec, les 3 et 4 juillet 2008. Cette rencontre a donné lieu à une série d'ententes et de déclarations mobilisant les gouvernements du Québec et de France, de même que les acteurs industriels et économiques ainsi que les milieux institutionnels du savoir, de la culture et de la jeunesse.

Parmi les décisions prises à l'issue de leur séance de travail du 4 juillet, les premiers ministres ont fixé 3 axes directeurs à leur action commune :

  • bâtir un nouvel espace d'échanges et d'innovation
  • garantir un développement responsable pour les générations futures
  • approfondir le partenariat sur les grands enjeux de société.

Ils ont également signé une déclaration conjointe sur la volonté du Québec et de la France de faciliter et d'accélérer la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles.

À Montréal, ils ont aussi assisté à la signature de déclarations relatives à des accords industriels dans les secteurs de l'aéronautique et de l'énergie. Mentionnons enfin la signature, à l'INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, à Laval, d'une dizaine d'ententes dans le domaine du savoir entre gouvernements, établissements d'enseignement et centres de recherche.

Communiqué

Déclaration conjointe des premiers ministres français et québécois (35 Ko)

Relevé de décisions, 3 juillet 2008 (45 Ko)

Annexe - Liste des documents signés le 4 juillet 2008 (26 Ko)

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-09-20 15:40:19