Political and institutional relations

Québec's International Policy (2006) includes Italy among the priority countries for Québec's international actions on the European continent. As a member of the G8, Italy is among Québec's principal economic and trading partners in the European Union. In 2006, the Québec representation in Rome was also upgraded to the status of Government Office. The Québec Government Office in Rome covers Italy, the Republic of San Marino and the Vatican City State. In addition, it is mandated to keep a watch on the Mediterranean basin.

Italy is a founding member of the European Union and is its fourth strongest economic power. It has been among Québec's important worldwide economic partners for decades and is characterized by a system of innovative and dynamic small and medium-sized businesses with activities that are often complementary to those of Québec companies. Moreover, growing interest in Québec on the part of Italian investors (Italian companies are the fifth largest contingent of European companies with operations in Québec) and similar interest in Italy on the part of Québec investors in a number of high added value sectors is strengthening the economic input of an already significant presence in both territories. Québec accounts for over 28% of trade between Canada and Italy.

Institutionalized bilateral cooperation between Québec and Italy is overseen by the Québec-Italy Joint Subcommittee (SCMQI), which is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2012. Established in 1992 by the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (Ministère des Affaires Internationales at the time) and the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and stemming from the Cultural Agreement between the Government of the Italian Republic and the Government of Canada, this thriving cooperation focuses primarily on education, culture, science and technology.

Québec has also developed strategic partnerships with some Italian regions that share a common desire to take their place in the international arena and assert themselves as recognized players among federated states and regions. This is the case with the Lombardy region, one of Europe's four driving forces, with which Québec maintains an administrative partnership for industrial and technological cooperation (PAIT). Lombardy also hosts the World Regions Forum, which brings together 17 regions and federated states that are among the world's most innovative, including Québec. In addition, Milan, the peninsula's economic capital, will host the 2015 World Expo from May 1 to October 31, 2015.

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:40 PM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

La Politique internationale du Québec (2006) a placé l'Italie parmi les pays prioritaires de l'action internationale du Québec sur le continent européen. Pays membre du G8, l'Italie se maintient parmi les principaux partenaires économiques et commerciaux du Québec de l'Union européenne. En 2006, la représentation du Québec à Rome a aussi été élevée au rang de délégation. La Délégation du Québec à Rome couvre l'Italie, la République de Saint-Marin et l'État de la Cité du Vatican, en plus d'exercer un mandat de veille sur le bassin méditerranéen.

Quatrième puissance économique et membre fondateur de l'Union européenne, l'Italie est depuis des décennies un partenaire économique important du Québec à l'échelle mondiale. L'Italie se caractérise par un système de petites et moyennes entreprises innovantes et dynamiques, souvent complémentaires des activités des entreprises québécoises. De plus, l'intérêt croissant des investisseurs italiens pour le Québec (les sociétés italiennes constituent le cinquième contingent de sociétés européennes y ayant leur siège) et québécois pour Italie, dans plusieurs secteurs à haute valeur ajoutée, renforce l'apport économique d'une présence déjà importante sur les deux territoires. Le Québec contribue par ailleurs à plus de 28 % des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et l'Italie.

La coopération bilatérale institutionnalisée entre le Québec et l'Italie s'insère dans le cadre de la Sous-commission mixte Québec-Italie (SCMQI), dont on célèbre le 20e anniversaire en 2012. Mise en place en 1992 par le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (à l'époque, ministère des Affaires internationales) et le ministère des Affaires étrangères d'Italie, et découlant de l'Accord culturel entre le gouvernement de la République italienne et le gouvernement du Canada, cette coopération florissante couvre principalement les secteurs de l'éducation et de la culture ainsi que de la science et de la technologie.

Le Québec a également développé des partenariats stratégiques avec certaines régions italiennes ayant en commun la volonté de prendre leur place sur la scène internationale et de se faire valoir comme acteur reconnu parmi les États fédérés et les régions. C'est notamment le cas avec la région Lombardie, l'un des quatre moteurs de l'Europe, avec laquelle le Québec entretient un Partenariat administratif en matière de coopération industrielle et technologique (PAIT). La Lombardie anime par ailleurs le World Regions Forum regroupant 17 régions et États fédérés parmi les plus innovants au monde, dont le Québec. De plus, Milan, capitale économique de la péninsule, accueillera l'Exposition universelle de 2015, qui se tiendra du 1er mai au 31 octobre 2015.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:07:40