Main areas of collaboration

Economy

As one of Québec's five leading markets in Europe, Italy represents an ideal port of entry for Québec companies to the countries in the Mediterranean basin due to its strategic geographic location and economic relations with these countries. Furthermore, in light of the surge in privatization – especially in the public sector – and the demand for technology, Québec companies are showing a marked interest in Italy. In turn, Italian companies view Québec companies as strategic partners that provide them access to markets in the Americas. With a mind to growth and collaboration, Québec businesses are able to explore the many sectors of excellence in which Italian companies operate.

In Italy as in Québec, the economic architecture is composed of sectors of excellence in which many small and medium-sized businesses are active. Areas and sectors of production are also a part of this architecture. All these components constitute a strong point of the economy. As a result of these sectors of excellence and the network of small and medium-sized businesses, Italian exports increased by 12% in 2011 (following a growth of 15.7% in 2010), despite the difficult international context.

Québec exports to Italy represent 23% of Canada's total exports to the peninsula. Québec mainly exports:

  • engines and power turbines;
  • transmission equipment for the aeronautics sector;
  • machines for commerce and service companies;
  • recyclable metals;
  • iron ore;
  • paper pulp;
  • navigational, measurement and control instruments;
  • medical instruments;
  • construction machinery;
  • semi-conductors;
  • pharmaceutical products and medicines.

These are primarily high added value products. Most are used in Italian industry. They also include raw materials, which Italy lacks. This explains why there is a high volume of metal, ore and wood pulp among Québec's exports to Italy. Analogously, Québec's imports from Italy in 2011 make it Québec's fourth largest European supplier, just after France.

44 Italian companies operating in Canada have their head offices in Québec, making Italian companies the fifth largest contingent of European companies headquartered in Québec (Source: Statistics Canada).

Back to top

Culture

Cultural cooperation plays an important role both within the framework of the Québec-Italy Joint Subcommittee and outside it. Italy's infrastructure and leading cultural events make it an important market for artists, companies and Québec cultural enterprises performing in Europe. Each year, hundreds of activities enable Québec artists to promote their careers in Italy in all forms of cultural expression. This high volume represents opportunities for market development and marketing Québec's cultural products as well as outreach opportunities for showcasing Québec's cultural excellence. Québec's cultural presence has expanded and strengthened in such varied areas as the performing arts, film, visual arts, museology, music, circus arts and digital arts.

Since 1998, as a result of ongoing collaboration between Québec and Italian institutions and presenters, the Biennale Orizzonte Québec is the peninsula's principal public affairs event promoting Québec's most outstanding artistic and cultural expression. This key showcase of Québec in Italy is under the auspices of the SCMQI program and will be in its eighth edition in the fall of 2012.

Noteworthy outcomes resulting from the SCMQI include the establishment of lasting institutional relations with large cultural institutions and major Italian performing arts festivals as well as participation by Québec companies in numerous Italian dance festivals. Projects that were supported included the Rome: From the Origins to Italy's Capital exhibition at the Québec Museum of Civilization (MCQ) in 2011, and The Etruscans: An Ancient Italian Civilization exhibition at the Pointe-à-Callière archaeology and history museum in Montréal in 2012. Both are excellent examples of the vitality of cultural relations shared by Québec and Italy.

Back to top

Education

Over thirty collaboration agreements exist between universities and other institutions of higher learning and research. This allows for significant student and professor mobility between Italy and Québec. Italy also houses the Italian Interuniversity Centre for Québec Studies, which links nine Italian universities. It is the only interuniversity centre for Québec studies of its kind abroad.

Back to top

Scientific and technological research

Financial support for joint research projects in science and technology affords mobility to researchers involved. The projects make a significant contribution to fostering technology transfer between the two partners in addition to generating economic benefits and promoting Italian and Québec expertise in targeted sectors. The progress achieved in aeronautics, advanced materials, biotechnology and life sciences has led to a broad range of tangible benefits, including articles published in specialized journals, scientific reports, distinctions and advances in the field that that have resulted in patents.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:40 PM

Principaux secteurs de collaboration

Économie

L'Italie fait partie des cinq premiers marchés européens d'importance du Québec et constitue pour les entreprises québécoises une porte d'entrée idéale vers les pays du bassin méditerranéen grâce à sa position géographique stratégique et à ses relations économiques avec ces pays. De plus, compte tenu de l'importante vague de privatisations — notamment au sein du secteur public — et de la demande en matière de technologie, les entreprises québécoises manifestent un intérêt certain pour l'Italie. Quant aux sociétés italiennes, elles voient les entreprises québécoises comme des partenaires stratégiques leur donnant accès aux marchés des Amériques. Les entreprises québécoises peuvent explorer, dans une logique de croissance et de collaboration, les nombreux secteurs d'excellence dans lesquels opèrent les entreprises italiennes.

Les secteurs d'excellence caractérisant de nombreuses petites et moyennes entreprises, ainsi que des zones ou des filières de production, constituent, en Italie comme au Québec, l'architecture économique du pays et s'imposent comme point de force de l'économie. C'est grâce à ces secteurs d'excellence et au réseau de petites et moyennes entreprises que les exportations italiennes ont enregistré une hausse de 12 % en 2011 (après avoir connu une croissance de 15,7 % en 2010), et ce, malgré le contexte international difficile.

Les exportations québécoises vers l'Italie représentent 23 % du total des exportations canadiennes vers la péninsule. Le Québec y exporte principalement :

  • des moteurs et des turbines de puissance;
  • du matériel de transmission pour le secteur aéronautique;
  • des machines pour le commerce et les entreprises de services;
  • des métaux recyclables;
  • du minerai de fer;
  • de la pâte à papier;
  • des instruments de navigation, de mesure et de commande;
  • des instruments médicaux;
  • de la machinerie pour la construction;
  • des semi-conducteurs;
  • des produits pharmaceutiques et des médicaments.

Il s'agit notamment de produits à haute valeur ajoutée, utilisés pour la plupart dans l'industrie italienne, ainsi que des matières premières, dont l'Italie manque, ce qui explique l'importance des métaux, du minerai et de la pâte de bois parmi les principaux produits d'exportation québécois vers l'Italie. En revanche, les importations du Québec en provenance de ce pays en 2011 placent l'Italie au quatrième rang de ses fournisseurs européens, juste après la France.

On compte 44 sociétés italiennes établies au Canada dont le siège social est installé au Québec. À ce titre, les sociétés italiennes constituent le cinquième contingent de sociétés européennes ayant leur siège au Québec (Source : Statistique Canada).

Retour en haut de la page

Culture

La collaboration culturelle occupe une place importante, tant dans le cadre de la Sous commission mixte Québec-Italie qu'à l'extérieur de celui-ci. Avec ses infrastructures et ses évènements culturels de premier plan, l'Italie constitue un important marché pour les artistes, les compagnies et les entreprises culturelles québécoises qui se produisent en Europe. Chaque année, des centaines d'activités permettent aux artistes québécois de promouvoir leur carrière en Italie, et ce, toutes expressions culturelles confondues. Cet important volume constitue autant d'occasions de développement de marché et de commercialisation du produit culturel québécois que de possibilités de rayonnement pour la mise en valeur de l'excellence du Québec en matière de culture. La présence culturelle québécoise s'est élargie et renforcée dans des domaines aussi variés que les arts de la scène, le cinéma, les arts visuels, la muséologie, la musique, les arts du cirque et les arts numériques.

Par ailleurs, depuis 1998, et fruit d'une collaboration soutenue entre des institutions et des diffuseurs d'Italie et du Québec, la Biennale Orizzonte Québec constitue le principal événement d'affaires publiques mettant en valeur dans la péninsule italienne les expressions artistiques et culturelles les plus marquantes du Québec. Cette principale vitrine du Québec en Italie, s'insérant dans le programme de la SCMQI, en sera d'ailleurs à sa huitième édition à l'automne 2012.

Des résultats notoires découlant de la SCMQI se traduisent, par exemple, par l'établissement de relations institutionnelles durables avec de grandes institutions culturelles et de grands festivals italiens des arts de la scène ainsi que par la participation de compagnies québécoises à de nombreux festivals italiens de danse. Parmi les projets soutenus, l'exposition Rome — De ses origines à la capitale d'Italie, présentée en 2011 au Musée de la civilisation de Québec, et l'exposition Les Étrusques — Civilisation de l'Italie ancienne, présentée au Musée d'archéologie et d'histoire de Pointe-à-Callière de Montréal en 2012, constituent des témoins exemplaires du dynamisme des relations Québec-Italie en matière culturelle.

Retour en haut de la page

Éducation

Sur le plan de l'éducation, il existe plus d'une trentaine d'ententes de collaboration entre universités et autres établissements d'éducation supérieure et de recherche qui permet une mobilité étudiante et professorale importante entre l'Italie et le Québec. L'Italie abrite également le Centre interuniversitaire italien d'études québécoises, regroupant neuf universités italiennes, seul centre interuniversitaire d'études québécoises du genre à l'étranger.

Retour en haut de la page

Recherche scientifique et technologique

Dans le domaine de la recherche scientifique et technologique, un soutien financier à des projets de recherche conjoints permet la mobilité des chercheurs prenant part à ces projets qui favorisent grandement le transfert technologique entre les deux partenaires, des retombées économiques et la promotion de l'expertise tant québécoise qu'italienne dans des secteurs ciblés. Les avancées obtenues dans les secteurs de l'aéronautique, des matériaux avancés, des sciences de la vie et de la biotechnologie ont engendré des retombées concrètes telles que la publication d'articles dans des revues spécialisées, la diffusion de reportages scientifiques, l'attribution de mentions et des avancées dans le domaine de l'obtention des brevets.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:07:40