Political and institutional relations

The most recent mission to the United Kingdom by a Premier of Québec was in June 2011. The goal of this mission was to familiarize economic and political leaders and the media with the investment and economic/social development opportunities emerging in Québec with the implementation of the Plan Nord.

As part of this mission, the Premier met with British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs William Hague, Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change Chris Huhne and Climate Group CEO Mark Kenber. He also spoke before members of the Canada–United Kingdom Chamber of Commerce, the 2011 Financial Times Global Energy Leaders Summit and the London Metal Exchange.

In keeping with tradition, the Minister of Finance visits London annually as part of a post-budgetary mission to meet with members of the business community and deliver a speech. In addition, the Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade visits the Farnborough Airshow every other year.

In September 2011 the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks took part in a round table on climate change organized by the Québec Government Office in London in cooperation with the Office of the Agent General of South Australia in London and the Climate Group.

In March 2011 the prestigious Chatham House (aka the Royal Institute of International Affairs, considered the best international relations think tank outside the United States), in partnership with the Québec Government Office in London and the Flemish and Catalan government offices in the United Kingdom, organized a conference on the theme “Devolution in a Globalized World.” On behalf of the Premier, the Transport Minister presented Québec's international initiatives.

As regards British visits to Québec, we would note the first official visit of Their Royal Highnesses The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge in July 2011 to Québec City and Montréal. The royal couple was welcomed by the Premier of Québec and the Duke of Cambridge spoke at Québec's City Hall.

In September 2011 Lord James Sassoon, Britain's Commercial Secretary to the Treasury, met with Québec's Finance Minister during a visit to Montréal. This was the first official visit to Québec by a British minister under David Cameron's coalition government.

The Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall made an official visit to Canada in November 2009. In April 2009, the Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament, Alex Fergusson, marked Tartan Day with a visit to the Québec National Assembly. During his visit, he spoke with members of various parliamentary committees. This visit was preceded, in November 2008, by a mission of Scottish members of parliament.

On December 17, 2008, British High Commissioner to Canada Anthony Cary gave the President of the National Assembly and the Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie a facsimile of the Québec Act of 1774, a gift from the British government on the occasion of Québec City's 400th anniversary.

Under a language assistant exchange program implemented in 1980. some sixty Québec and British citizens are selected each year to work as second language teaching assistants (French or English) in the United Kingdom and Québec.

This program is now an integral part of a cooperation agreement signed in London in April 2002 between the Government of Québec and the British Council. The agreement targets three areas of cooperation: education, culture, and science and technology.

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:41 PM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

La dernière mission au Royaume-Uni du premier ministre du Québec a eu lieu en juin 2011. L'objectif de cette mission était de faire connaître auprès des dirigeants économiques, politiques et des médias, les occasions d'investissement et de développement économique et social qui se présenteront au Québec avec la mise en oeuvre du Plan Nord.

Dans le cadre de cette mission, le premier ministre s'est notamment entretenu avec le secrétaire d'État britannique aux Affaires étrangères, M. William Hague, le secrétaire d'État à l'Énergie et aux Changements climatiques, M. Chris Huhne, et le PDG du Climate Group, M. Mark Kenber. Il a de plus prononcé des allocutions devant les membres de la Chambre de commerce Canada-Royaume-Uni, au Financial Times Global Energy Leaders Summit 2011 et au London Metal Exchange.

Comme le veut la tradition, le ministre des Finances se rend à Londres annuellement dans le cadre de sa mission post-budgétaire pour y rencontrer des gens d'affaires et prononcer un discours dans la City. De plus, le ministre du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation se rend, tous les deux ans, au Salon aéronautique de Farnborough.

En septembre 2011, le ministre du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs a participé à une table ronde sur les changements climatiques, organisée par la Délégation générale du Québec à Londres, en collaboration avec la représentation de l'Australie-Méridionale à Londres et le Climate Group.

En mars 2011, le prestigieux groupe de réflexion Chatham House (Royal Institute of International Affairs – considéré comme le meilleur groupe de réflexion se consacrant à l'étude des relations internationales en dehors des États-Unis), en partenariat avec la Délégation générale du Québec à Londres et les représentations des gouvernements flamand et catalan au Royaume Uni, a organisé une conférence sous le thème « Devolution in a Globalized World ». Le ministre des Transports y a présenté au nom du premier ministre l'action internationale du Québec.

En ce qui concerne les visites britanniques au Québec, notons la première visite officielle de Leurs Altesses Royales le duc et la duchesse de Cambridge, en juillet 2011, à Québec et à Montréal. Le couple royal a été reçu par le premier ministre du Québec et le duc de Cambridge a pris la parole devant l'Hôtel de Ville de Québec.

En septembre 2011, lord James Sassoon, secrétaire commercial du Trésor du gouvernement britannique s'est entretenu avec le ministre des Finances du Québec durant sa visite à Montréal. Il s'agissait de la première visite officielle au Québec d'un ministre britannique du gouvernement de coalition dirigé par M. David Cameron.

Le prince de Galles et la duchesse de Cornouailles ont effectué une visite officielle au Canada, en novembre 2009. En avril 2009, le président du Parlement écossais, M. Alex Fergusson, est venu souligner le Jour du tartan à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec. À cette occasion, il a pu s'entretenir avec des membres de différentes commissions parlementaires. Cette visite a été précédée, en novembre 2008, d'une mission de parlementaires écossais.

Le 17 décembre 2008, le haut-commissaire du Royaume-Uni au Canada, M. Anthony Cary, a remis au président de l'Assemblée nationale et à la ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie un fac-similé de l'Acte de Québec de 1774, legs du gouvernement britannique à l'occasion du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec.

Un programme d'échange d'assistants de langue a été mis en oeuvre en 1980. Celui-ci prévoit qu'une soixantaine de Québécois et de Britanniques seront affectés chaque année à des postes de soutien en enseignement du français et de l'anglais langue seconde au Royaume-Uni et au Québec.

Ce programme fait maintenant partie intégrante d'une entente de coopération signée à Londres en avril 2002 entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le British Council. Trois secteurs de coopération ont alors été ciblés, soit l'éducation, la culture, ainsi que la science et la technologie.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-06 16:17:09