Main areas of collaboration

Québec's efforts to forge ties of cooperation with the United Kingdom essentially focus on 2 priority sectors: the economy and culture.

Economy

The United Kingdom was Québec's third largest global trade partner in 2011, after the United States and China. In 2011 trade in goods between Québec and the United Kingdom totaled $5.8 billion, down 25.4% from the previous year. This drop is the combined result of declining imports and exports.

Québec exports to the United Kingdom

For 2011 Québec's international exports to the United Kingdom totaled $1.2 billion, down 38.5% from the previous year. The decrease is tied to declining exports of airplanes and other aircraft (-$723.1 million), which had surged in 2010 (+$362.8 million).

Québec exports represent 6.7% of the value of Canada's exports to the U.K. In 2011 the U.K. was Québec's sixth largest customer worldwide, down from second in 2010.

Québec's primary exports to the United Kingdom in 2011 were airplanes and other aircraft (15.5% of the total), aluminum and raw aluminum alloys (13.5%), gas turbines and parts (8.5%), newsprint in rolls and sheets (6.6%), and landing gear and parts (6.6%). The ten primary products represented 63.8% of Québec's exports to the United Kingdom in 2011.

Imports from the United Kingdom

In 2011 imports from the United Kingdom totaled $4.6 billion, down 20.9% from the previous year. This drop can be explained by declining imports of crude petroleum oils (-$1.7 billion). Québec imports represented 44.4% of the value of Canadian imports from the U.K. In 2011 the U.K. was Québec's third largest international supplier.

Québec's primary imports from the United Kingdom in 2011 were crude petroleum oils (20.9% of the total), petroleum oils (other than crude oils) (19.0%), turboprop engine and gas turbine parts (11.7%), aircraft and helicopter parts (10.7%), and silver bullion (5.9%). The ten primary products represented 79.9% of Québec's total customs cleared imports from the United Kingdom in 2011.

Investments

In 2009 capital expenditures in Québec by the United Kingdom totaled $593.3 million, down 29.1% from the previous year. In 2010 and 2011 these expenditures were expected to total $612.4 million and $858.4 million respectively.

In 2011, according to Statistics Canada, 128 British companies were active in Québec. The United Kingdom therefore ranked third for the number of foreign companies in Québec, behind France and in front of Germany. It ranked second in Canada as a whole, with 798 businesses.

Leading U.K. subsidiaries include HERA Hydrogen Storage Systems (industrial gas manufacturing), Rio Tinto, ArcelorMittal, Standard Life Canada (insurance), Trustmarque Solutions (software developer), Corus (aluminum rolling, drawing, extrusion and alloying), QIT-Fer et Titane (metallurgy) and Rolls-Royce Canada (R&D laboratory).

Over fifty Québec companies in diverse sectors have operations in the United Kingdom. These include Bombardier, CGI, Biogénie, SNC-Lavalin, CAE, Machinex Industries, Aldo, Joseph Ribkoff and Sponsorium.

Back to top

Culture

In the mid-1980s Québec talents including Robert Lepage and Denys Arcand began breaking into the London arts scene. A cultural services department at the Québec Government Office in London was created in 1992 in response to British citizens' growing interest in Québec artists. Since then, Québec's cultural presence in the United Kingdom has flourished.

In 2011 more than 150 artists, businesses and cultural organizations took advantage of the services provided by the Québec Government Office in London for their activities in the U.K.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:41 PM

Principaux secteurs de collaboration

Les efforts du Québec visant à nouer des relations de collaboration avec le Royaume-Uni sont essentiellement concentrés sur 2 secteurs prioritaires : l'économie et la culture.

Économie

Le Royaume-Uni est le 3e partenaire commercial mondial du Québec en 2011, après les États-Unis et la Chine. En 2011, les échanges commerciaux de biens entre le Québec et le Royaume-Uni se chiffrent à 5,8 G$, soit une baisse de 25,4 % par rapport à l'année précédente. Cette baisse est le résultat combiné du recul des importations et des exportations.

Exportations du Québec au Royaume-Uni

Pour 2011, la valeur des exportations internationales du Québec vers le Royaume-Uni s'établit à 1,2 G$, soit une baisse de 38,5 % par rapport à l'année précédente. Cette baisse est liée au recul des exportations d'avions et autres véhicules aériens (-723,1 M$). D'ailleurs, les exportations d'avions et autres véhicules aériens avaient fortement progressé en 2010 (+362,8 M$).

Les exportations québécoises représentent 6,7 % de la valeur des exportations canadiennes vers ce pays. En 2011, ce pays a baissé au 6e rang (2 e rang en 2010) des clients du Québec dans le monde.

Les produits dominants des exportations du Québec vers le Royaume-Uni, en 2011, sont les suivants : les avions et autres véhicules aériens (15,5 % du total), l'aluminium et ses alliages sous forme brute (13,5 %), les turbines à gaz et leurs parties (8,5 %), le papier journal en rouleaux ou en feuilles (6,6 %), ainsi que les trains d'atterrissage et leurs parties (6,6 %). Les dix principaux produits représentent 63,8 % des exportations du Québec vers le Royaume-Uni en 2011.

Importations en provenance du Royaume-Uni

En 2011, la valeur des importations en provenance du Royaume-Uni s'établit à 4,6 G$, soit un recul de 20,9 % par rapport à l'année précédente. Cette baisse s'explique par le recul des importations d'huiles brutes de pétrole (-1,7 G$). Les importations québécoises représentent 44,4 % de la valeur des importations canadiennes en provenance de ce pays. En 2011, ce pays est le 3e fournisseur international du Québec.

Les produits dominants importés au Québec en provenance du Royaume-Uni, en 2011, sont les suivants : les huiles brutes de pétrole (20,9 % du total), les huiles de pétrole (autres que les huiles brutes) (19,0 %), les parties de turbopropulseurs et de turbines à gaz (11,7 %), les parties d'avions ou d'hélicoptères (10,7 %), ainsi que l'argent sous forme brute (5,9 %). Les dix principaux produits représentent 79,9 % des importations totales de biens dédouanés au Québec en provenance du Royaume-Uni en 2011.

Investissements

En 2009, les dépenses en immobilisation au Québec en provenance du Royaume-Uni s'élevaient à 593,3 M$, en baisse de 29,1 % par rapport à l'année précédente. En 2010 et 2011, on prévoit qu'elles s'établiront respectivement à 612,4 M$ et 858,4 M$.

En 2011, selon Statistique Canada, on trouve 128 entreprises britanniques au Québec. Le Royaume-Uni se situe donc au 3e rang quant au nombre de sociétés étrangères au Québec, derrière la France et devant l'Allemagne, alors qu'il occupe le 2e rang au Canada grâce aux 798 sociétés qui y sont présentes.

Parmi les filiales les plus importantes, on retrouve : HERA Hydrogen Storage Systems (fabrication de gaz industriels), Rio Tinto, ArcelorMittal, Standard Life Canada (compagnie d'assurances), Trustmarque Solutions (développeur de logiciels), Corus (laminage, étirage, extrusion et alliage de l'aluminium), QIT-Fer et Titane (sidérurgie) et Rolls-Royce Canada (laboratoire de R&D).

Plus d'une cinquantaine d'entreprises québécoises de secteurs diversifiés sont implantées au Royaume-Uni. À ce titre, mentionnons : Bombardier, CGI, Biogénie, SNC-Lavalin, CAE, Machinex Industries, Aldo, Joseph Ribkoff et Sponsorium.

Retour en haut de la page

Culture

Au milieu des années 1980, des artistes québécois, dont Robert Lepage et Denys Arcand, ont commencé à percer à Londres. Le Service culturel de la Délégation générale du Québec à Londres a été créé en 1992 afin de répondre à l'intérêt croissant des Britanniques pour le travail des artistes québécois. Dès lors, la présence culturelle québécoise au Royaume-Uni s'est développée de façon remarquable.

En 2011, plus de 150 artistes, entreprises et organismes culturels ont requis les services de la Délégation générale pour leurs démarches sur le territoire britannique.

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-06 16:17:35