Political Relations

Relations between Québec and Russia have become closer since 2008, on the heels of government missions in both directions.

Québec missions to Russia

  • St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (2009 to 2012):

    Over the years, the Russian answer to Davos has become one of the world’s leading economic gatherings. The St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF) draws political and economic leaders from countries across Europe and Asia and is attended by some of Russia’s most influential people, including the president himself. Given the rapid growth of the Russian market economy, the SPIEF is now a “must” for players interested in developing partnerships between Russia and the rest of the world. A delegation of Québec government ministers has taken part in the SPIEF since 2009.

  • Mission by the Premier of Québec to Russia in December 2009, aimed at supporting the development of business partnerships and investments. The Premier was accompanied by about 20 representatives of Québec companies involved in infrastructure, telecommunications and advanced technology, transportation and aerospace, energy and entertainment. Among other positive results, the mission featured the signing by the Premier of Québec and the Mayor of Moscow of a joint declaration on the creation of a joint cooperation committee, aimed at injecting new vitality into economic, scientific, cultural, educational and environmental relations between Russia and Québec.
  • September 2008 trade mission to St. Petersburg and Moscow by some 30 representatives of Québec companies and institutions, led by the Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade. Among other things, the mission was an opportunity for the participants to assess the potential for new partnerships in the fields of recreational vehicles, energy, mining equipment, infrastructure, aerospace, agri-food and fur.

Back to top

Visits to Québec by Russian dignitaries

  • Visit by a delegation from the Leningrad oblast (region) headed by the Vice Governor for International Relations, Alexander Kuznetsov. The Leningrad delegation was invited to the 59th Québec Winter Carnival.
  • Visit in April 2012 by Yegor Borisov, President of the Sakha (Yakutia) Republic, on the occasion of a meeting of Northern Forum regional coordinators.
  • Visit in August 2011 by Anton Kulbachevsky, Head of the Moscow City Government’s Department for Environmental Management and Protection. At the invitation of the Mayor of Montréal, Mr. Kulbachevsky took part in the 9th Ecocity World Summit. He took the opportunity to meet with representatives of the Québec government, Hydro-Québec, and the Montréal and Québec municipal administrations, to discuss energy efficiency and leading environmental and sustainable development issues.
  • Visit by a governmental and business delegation, spearheaded by the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation, in March 2011. The delegation took part in a Québec-Russia seminar organized by the Ministère du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation (MDEIE).
  • Official visit in March 2011 by Valery Serdyukov, Governor of Leningrad Oblast (Leningrad region), who was accompanied by an eight-member delegation. Meetings in Montréal, Laval, Saint-Hyacinthe and Québec City focused on advanced technology, agri-food and energy technology. The high point of the visit was the signing by the Premier of Québec and Governor Serdyukov of a cooperation agreement aimed at developing relations between Québec and Leningrad Oblast.

Back to top

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:41 PM

Relations politiques

Les relations entre le Québec et la Russie se sont accentuées à partir de 2008, à la faveur de plusieurs missions gouvernementales effectuées de part et d’autre :

Missions québécoises en Russie

  • Forum économique international de Saint-Pétersbourg (2009 à 2012) :

    Qualifié de « Davos » russe, le FEISP est devenu au fil des ans l'un des plus importants forums économiques mondiaux. Il rassemble l'élite politique et économique de plusieurs États d’Europe et d’Asie ainsi que les personnalités les plus influentes de la Fédération de Russie, dont le président lui-même. En raison du développement rapide de l'économie de marché russe, cet événement est maintenant un incontournable pour le développement de partenariats entre la Russie et le reste du monde. Une participation ministérielle québécoise y est assurée depuis 2009.

  • Mission du premier ministre du Québec en Russie en décembre 2009 afin de soutenir le développement de partenariats d'affaires et d'investissements. Le premier ministre était accompagné d'une vingtaine de représentants d'entreprises québécoises dans les secteurs des infrastructures, des télécommunications et de la haute technologie, du transport et de l'aéronautique, de l'énergie et du divertissement. Au nombre des retombées de cette mission, mentionnons la signature par le premier ministre du Québec et le maire de Moscou d'une Déclaration commune pour la création d'une Commission mixte de coopération visant à dynamiser les échanges russo-québécois dans les domaines économique, scientifique, culturel, éducatif et environnemental.
  • Mission économique d'une trentaine de représentants d'entreprises et d'institutions québécoises pilotée par le ministre du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation, à Saint-Pétersbourg et à Moscou en septembre 2008. Cette mission a, entre autres, permis d'évaluer le potentiel de nouveaux partenariats dans les secteurs des véhicules récréatifs, de l'énergie, des équipements miniers, des infrastructures, de l'aérospatiale, de l'agroalimentaire et de la fourrure.
Retour en haut de la page

Visites de personnalités russes au Québec

  • Visite d’une délégation de la région (oblast) de Léningrad, dirigée par le vice-gouverneur aux relations extérieures, M. Alexander Kuznetsov. La délégation de Léningrad était invitée à l’occasion du 59e Carnaval de Québec.
  • Visite du président de la République de Sakha (Yakoutie), M. Egor Borisov, à l’occasion de la rencontre des coordonateurs régionaux du Northern Forum, en avril 2012.
  • Visite du ministre du gouvernement de Moscou, Chef du Département des ressources naturelles et de la protection de l'environnement de la ville de Moscou, M. Anton Kulbachevskiy, en août 2011. M. Kulbachevskiy participait, à l'invitation du maire de la ville de Montréal, au 9e Sommet mondial Écocité. Il a profité de son séjour pour échanger avec des représentants du Gouvernement du Québec, d'Hydro-Québec ainsi que des villes de Montréal et de Québec sur les questions d'efficacité énergétique et de grands enjeux en environnement et en développement durable.
  • Visite d'une délégation gouvernementale et commerciale russe pilotée par le ministère du Développement économique de la Fédération de Russie en mars 2011. La délégation a participé à un Séminaire Québec-Russie sur l'innovation organisée par le ministère du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation.
  • Visite officielle du gouverneur de Léningrad, M. Valéry Serdyukov, en mars 2011, accompagné d'une délégation de 8 personnes. Plusieurs rencontres et visites ont été organisées à Montréal, Laval, St-Hyacinthe et Québec dans les secteurs des hautes technologies, de l'agro-alimentaire et des technologies énergétiques. Le point culminant de cette visite fut la signature d'un Accord de coopération visant à développer les relations entre le Québec et la région de Léningrad, par le premier ministre du Québec et le gouverneur de Léningrad
Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:07:41