Diversity of cultural expressions

The Québec government’s contribution to UNESCO’s work

The Québec and Canadian governments were instrumental in the process leading to the Convention’s adoption.

The Québec government was one of the first governments to officially declare that it was in favour of an international instrument recognizing the right of states to support culture.

As a result, Québec spearheaded a campaign in the early 2000s to have the principle adopted by a number of international bodies, including the International Network on Cultural Policy, the European Union and the International Organization of La Francophonie.

On November 10, 2005, the National Assembly of Québec unanimously approved the text of the Convention, making Québec the world’s first state to support this standard-setting instrument. On November 28, 2005, Canada became the first state to ratify the Convention.

In accordance with the terms of the 2006 Agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of Canada concerning UNESCO (in French), a Québec delegation regularly goes to UNESCO headquarters in Paris to take part in the work of the Convention’s governing bodies, monitor various issues and directly participate in drawing up Canada’s positions to ensure that Québec’s interests are taken into account.

It bears noting that Québec, as part of the Canadian delegation, has attended and taken the floor at all meetings of the Intergovernmental Committee and the Conference of the Parties.

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:08:22 PM

Diversité des expressions culturelles

Contribution du Gouvernement du Québec aux travaux de l'UNESCO

Les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada ont été des acteurs prédominants dans le processus ayant mené à l'adoption de la Convention.

Le Gouvernement du Québec a d'ailleurs été l'un des premiers gouvernements à se déclarer officiellement en faveur d'un instrument international qui reconnaîtrait le droit des États à soutenir la culture.

Il a ainsi mené une campagne, au début des années 2000, pour faire adopter ce principe au sein de diverses instances internationales, dont le Réseau international sur la politique culturelle, l'Union européenne et l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie.

C'est le 10 novembre 2005 que l'Assemblée nationale du Québec a approuvé à l'unanimité le texte de la Convention. Le Québec devenait ainsi le premier État au monde à soutenir cet instrument normatif. Le Canada a, pour sa part, été le premier État à ratifier la Convention, le 28 novembre 2005.

Conformément aux termes de l'Accord entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le Gouvernement du Canada relatif à l'UNESCO, signé en 2006, une délégation québécoise se rend régulièrement au siège de l'UNESCO, à Paris, pour participer aux travaux des organes directeurs de la Convention, assurer le suivi des divers dossiers et participer directement à l'élaboration des positions canadiennes de façon à ce que ces dernières prennent en compte les intérêts du Québec.

Il convient de noter que le Québec a participé et a pris la parole, au sein de la délégation canadienne, à toutes les réunions du Comité intergouvernemental et de la Conférence des Parties.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:08:22