Diversity of cultural expressions

Status of the diversity of cultural expressions

Some of the rules contained in international trade agreements could call into question the support that states and governments provide in cultural matters. Indeed, one of the objectives of such agreements is to reduce trade and investment barriers in order to stimulate trade and economic growth.

Furthermore, cultural policies and various measures that support culture, such as financial contributions to artists, limits on foreign ownership and radio/television broadcasting quotas can be regarded as trade barriers.

In terms of the diversity of cultural expressions, preserving the capacity of states and governments to devise and implement their cultural policies is therefore what is fundamentally at stake. Artists and other professionals in the cultural sector are deeply affected by this issue since they rely on support resulting from such policies.

On a broader level, there is widespread concern in the international community that applying purely market rules to cultural sectors will lead to cultural homogenization and the disappearance of some cultures in favour of those that are the most “profitable”.

This is the context that gave rise to the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:08:23 PM

Diversité des expressions culturelles

Enjeu de la diversité des expressions culturelles

Certaines règles contenues dans les accords de commerce international sont susceptibles de remettre en question le soutien des États et des gouvernements en matière de culture. En effet, un des objectifs de ces accords consiste en la réduction des barrières au commerce et à l'investissement pour stimuler les échanges et la croissance économique.

Or, les politiques culturelles et les diverses mesures de soutien à la culture, telles que les contributions financières aux artistes, les limites à la propriété étrangère ou encore les quotas en radiotélévision, peuvent être assimilées à des entraves au commerce.

L'enjeu fondamental relatif à la diversité des expressions culturelles est donc la préservation de la capacité des États et des gouvernements d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre leurs politiques culturelles. Les artistes et autres professionnels de la culture sont fortement interpellés par ce dossier, car ils comptent sur le soutien procuré par de telles politiques.

Plus globalement, la crainte répandue parmi la communauté internationale est que la seule application des règles du marché aux secteurs culturels mène à l'homogénéisation des cultures et à la disparition de certaines au profit des plus « rentables ».

C'est dans ce contexte qu'a vu le jour la Convention de l'UNESCO sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:08:23