Monique Gagnon-Tremblay pays tribute to Jean Chapdelaine, a pioneer of Québec diplomacy

Québec City, February 3, 2005 ─ Deputy Premier and Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, paid tribute today to one of the pioneers of Québec diplomacy, Jean Chapdelaine, who passed away on February 2, 2005.

Mr. Chapdelaine, who was Delegate General in Paris during the Quiet Revolution and the period of General de Gaulle, “made a major contribution to the flourishing of French-Québec relations. It was during his period in office from 1965 to 1976 that Québec Government Office in Paris came into its own and one of the centrepieces of French-Québec relations?the Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse?was created,” said the Deputy Premier.

Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay mentioned Mr. Chapdelaine's commitment to expanding Québec's influence on the international scene and recalled that succeeding ministers of international relations consulted him on a regular basis. “He was generous with his valuable advice, the result of his tenure as a seasoned diplomat. We owe him a great debt,” she concluded.

- 30 -

Back to list

Monique Gagnon-Tremblay rend hommage à Jean Chapdelaine, un des pionniers de la diplomatie québécoise

Québec, le 3 février 2005 ─ La vice-première ministre et ministre des Relations internationales, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, a rendu hommage aujourd'hui à un des pionniers de la diplomatie québécoise, M. Jean Chapdelaine, décédé le mercredi 2 février 2005.

Pour la vice-première ministre, M. Chapdelaine, délégué général à Paris à l'heure de la Révolution tranquille et à l'époque du Général de Gaulle, « aura fortement contribué à l'épanouissement de la relation franco-québécoise. C'est sous son mandat, de 1965 à 1976, que la délégation générale à Paris a véritablement pris son essor et qu'un des principaux fleurons du rapport France-Québec, l'Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse, a vu le jour. »

Mme Gagnon-Tremblay a tenu à souligner l'engagement de M. Chapdelaine en faveur de l'action internationale du Québec. Elle a rappelé que les ministres des Relations internationales qui se sont succédé n'ont jamais hésité à le consulter. « Il a été généreux de ses conseils avisés, inspirés de son expérience de diplomate aguerri. Nous lui en sommes tous très reconnaissants », a-t-elle conclu.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste