A Federal/Provincial International Affairs Partnership is a necessity - Monique Gagnon-Tremblay

Québec City, May 19, 2005 ─ Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, today proposed an international affairs partnership with the federal government before the members of the Conseil des relations internationales de Montréal.

According to Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay, it is in Canada's best interest to acknowledge the role of the provinces on the international stage. The partnership she is proposing will reflect the true federal nature of Canada, will make Canada's international actions much more effective and, from the get go, will strengthen Canada's image abroad. “This would put a stop to the weakening of Canada's image and influence in the world, which was acknowledged by the federal government itself in its recent International Policy Statement,” said the Minister.

Pointing to Québec's participation in international forums dealing with provincial matters, the Minister of International Relations proposed a partnership that would ensure that Québec would have:

1. The status of full member in Canadian delegations and exclusive responsibility for the naming of its representatives;

2. Access to all information and pre-negotiation participation in drafting the Canadian position;

3. The right to speak on its own behalf at international forums;

4. The recognition of its right to give its approval before Canada signs or declares itself bound by a treaty or agreement;

5. The inclusion of its follow-up reports in the Canadian reports.

The right to present its positions during appearances by Canada before the monitoring bodies of international organizations when its positions are challenged or its interests are involved.

In the specific case of UNESCO, the Minister of International Relations requested that the mandate of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO be modified to give Québec the right to consult civil society on its own.

Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay also proposed a partnership with the Canadian International Development Agency to enable developing countries, especially those of the Francophonie, to benefit more from Québec's expertise.

She also said that she hoped to see the creation of a department-level Canada/Québec cooperation mechanism on international issues.

The Minister pointed to the meeting of minds between Québec and Ottawa on the main thrusts of Canada's International Policy Statement: the importance of a North American partnership, the interlink between security and prosperity, the strengthening of trade with Europe and emerging countries, the need to target international aid, and the call for a more humane globalization.

The Québec government's new international affairs policy will be tabled in the coming months.

- 30 -

Back to list

Un partenariat fédéral-provincial s'impose en matière d'affaires internationales - Monique Gagnon-Tremblay -

Québec, le 19 mai 2005 ─ La ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, a proposé aujourd'hui un partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral en matière d'affaires internationales devant les membres du Conseil des relations internationales de Montréal.

Selon Mme Gagnon-Tremblay, le Canada a tout intérêt à reconnaître le rôle des provinces sur la scène internationale. Le partenariat qu'elle propose reflèterait la vraie nature fédérale du Canada, permettrait une plus grande efficacité de son action internationale et, partant, assurerait une image plus riche de l'ensemble canadien à l'étranger. Il pourrait ainsi mettre un frein à la fragilisation de l'image et de l'influence du Canada dans le monde reconnue par le gouvernement fédéral dans son récent Énoncé de politique étrangère.

Évoquant la participation du Québec aux forums internationaux qui traitent de matières du ressort des provinces, la ministre des Relations internationales a proposé un partenariat assurant au Québec :

1. un statut de membre à part entière au sein des délégations canadiennes et une responsabilité exclusive quant à la désignation de ses représentants;

2. un accès à toute l'information et une participation, en amont de la négociation, à l'élaboration de la position canadienne;

3. le droit de s'exprimer de sa propre voix à l'intérieur des forums;

4. la reconnaissance que le Québec doit donner son assentiment avant que le Canada ne signe ou se déclare lié par un traité ou un accord;

5. lors des comparutions du Canada devant les instances de contrôle des organisations internationales, le droit d'exprimer ses positions lorsqu'elles sont mises en cause ou lorsque les intérêts du Québec sont visés.

De plus, dans le cas précis de l'UNESCO, la ministre des Relations internationales a demandé que le mandat de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO soit révisé afin que le Québec mène lui-même ses consultations auprès de la société civile.

Mme Gagnon-Tremblay a en outre proposé un partenariat avec l'Agence canadienne de développement international pour permettre aux pays en voie de développement, notamment ceux ce la Francophonie, de profiter davantage de l'expertise québécoise.

La ministre a dit également souhaiter la création d'un mécanisme de concertation Canada-Québec au niveau ministériel sur les questions internationales.

Mme Gagnon-Tremblay a par ailleurs rappelé la convergence de vues entre Québec et Ottawa sur les grands enjeux identifiés dans l'Énoncé de politique étrangère du Canada : l'importance du partenariat nord-américain et le lien indissociable qu'il établit entre sécurité et prospérité, le renforcement des échanges commerciaux avec l'Europe et les pays émergents, la nécessité de concentrer l'aide internationale et l'appel en faveur d'une mondialisation plus humaine.

La nouvelle politique gouvernementale québécoise d'affaires internationales sera déposée dans les prochains mois.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste