Québec supports to the ratification of the Cartagena Protocol on preventing biotechnological risks

Québec City, May 27, 2005 ─ The Government of Québec decided supports Canada's ratification of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety to the Convention on Biological Diversity.

On the eve of the 2nd Meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol, to be held from May 30 to June 3, 2005 in Montréal, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for the Francophonie, highlighted out that, “Québec grants a great deal of importance to the integrity of biodiversity, which supports many of its economic activities. That is why the government supports the Cartagena Protocol within its fields of constitutional jurisdiction”. Such declaration will come into effect after Canada has ratified the Cartagena Protocol.

“Today, we would like to reaffirm, as indicated in our document: 'Shine among the best' and in the 'Sustainable Development Plan for Québec', that the issue of GMOs is an important one for Québec. Indeed, the Cartagena Protocol constitutes one of the major tools to promote the secure control of the circulation and use of these products,” commented Thomas J. Mulcair, Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks, and Deputy Government House Leader.

The Québec government thereby answers the concerns of interest groups in Québec by encouraging the federal government to ratify and implement the Cartagena Protocol.

The Protocol's objective is to help govern the transborder movements, transfer, handling and use of any living modified organism (LMO), also known as GMO, that could have unfavourable effects on the conservation and sustainable use of our biological resources, as well as taking into account the risks for human health.

Québec's commitments have been expressed from day one when the international community adopted, on January 29, 2000, in Montréal, the text of the Protocol which is a result of the United Nations' Convention on Biological Diversity.

It should also be noted that Québec was the first province in Canada to officially support the signing of the Protocol by the federal government. The National Assembly unanimously adopted the text of the Cartagena Protocol by special motion on May 10, 2005.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Québec donne son appui à la ratification du Protocole de Cartagena sur les risques biotechnologiques

QUÉBEC, le 27 mai 2005 - Le gouvernement du Québec a décidé aujourd'hui de donner son appui à la ratification, par le Canada, du Protocole de Cartagena sur les risques biotechnologiques relatif à la Convention sur la diversité biologique.

A la veille de la 2e Réunion des Parties au Protocole de Cartagena, qui se tiendra à Montréal du 30 mai au 3 juin 2005, la ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, a souligné que « le Québec attache beaucoup d'importance à l'intégrité de la biodiversité qui est à la base de plusieurs de ses activités économiques. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement s'est également déclaré prêt à être lié au Protocole de Cartagena dans ses champs de compétences constitutionnelles ». Cette déclaration entrera en vigueur après que le Canada aura ratifié le Protocole de Cartagena.

« Aujourd'hui, nous voulons réaffirmer, tel qu'il est indiqué dans notre document d'orientation gouvernemental « Briller parmi les meilleurs » et dans le projet de « Plan de développement durable du Québec », que la question des OGM est importante pour le Québec et que le Protocole de Cartagena constitue un des outils majeurs pour favoriser le contrôle sécuritaire de la circulation et de l'utilisation de ces produits », a pour sa part déclaré le ministre du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs et leader adjoint du gouvernement, M. Thomas J. Mulcair.

Le gouvernement du Québec répond ainsi aux demandes formulées par les représentantes et les représentants des milieux concernés au Québec et encourage le gouvernement fédéral à ratifier et à mettre en oeuvre le Protocole de Cartagena.

L'objectif de ce protocole est de contribuer à régir les mouvements transfrontières, le transit, la manipulation et l'utilisation de tout organisme vivant modifié (OVM), que l'on connaît aussi sous le nom de OGM, qui pourrait avoir des effets défavorables sur la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique, compte tenu également des risques pour la santé humaine.

Les engagements du Québec ont été exprimés dès la première heure au moment où la communauté internationale adoptait, le 29 janvier 2000 à Montréal, le texte de ce protocole qui découle de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique.

Rappelons également que le Québec a été le premier au Canada à appuyer officiellement la signature du Protocole par le gouvernement fédéral. C'est à l'unanimité que l'Assemblée nationale a approuvé, par une motion, le texte du Protocole de Cartagena le 10 mai 2005.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861


Retour à la liste