Monique Gagnon-Tremblay inaugurates the head office of the International Design Alliance

Québec, May 30, 2005 - The Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, officiated at the grand opening of the head office of the International Design Alliance (IDA), located in Place Riopelle in the heart of Montréal's international district.

Ms Gagnon-Tremblay expressed her delight that this prestigious organization had chosen the metropolis as its headquarters. “This decision confirms Montréal, along with Washington and New York City, as a world-class centre in North America for the establishment of a growing number of international organizations and events.”

Under its policy of recognition of international organizations, the Québec government awarded the IDA a subsidy of $600 000 to assist it in setting up and maintaining its head office in Montréal for the next 10 years.

Brussels, Copenhagen, Turin, Hong Kong and Nagoya were also short-listed as host cities for IDA headquarters, but the final nod went to Montréal. The International Design Alliance was born of the merger of two major associations, the International Council of Societies of International Design, based in Germany, and the International Council of Graphic Design Associations, established in Brussels since 1967.

- 30 -


Back to list

Monique Gagnon-Tremblay inaugure le siège social de l'Alliance internationale du design

QUÉBEC, le 30 mai 2005 - La ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, madame Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, a inauguré aujourd'hui le siège social de l'Alliance internationale du design, à la Place Riopelle, au c?ur du Quartier international de Montréal.

Madame Gagnon-Tremblay s'est dit très heureuse d'accueillir cette organisation internationale prestigieuse « parce qu'elle contribue à maintenir la prépondérance de Montréal, après Washington et New York, comme lieu d'accueil par excellence des organismes et événements internationaux en Amérique du Nord ».

En vertu de la politique d'accueil et de reconnaissance des organisations internationales, le gouvernement du Québec a consenti à l'Alliance internationale du design une subvention de 600 000 $ en vue de l'implantation et du maintien de son siège social à Montréal pour les 10 prochaines années.

Bruxelles, Copenhague, Turin, Hong-Kong et Nagoya étaient en lice pour accueillir le siège de cette nouvelle organisation internationale et c'est Montréal qui a remporté la palme. L'Alliance internationale du design a été créée à la suite du regroupement de deux grandes associations, soit l'International Council of societies of International Design, basée en Allemagne, et du Conseil international des associations de design graphique, implantée à Bruxelles depuis 1967.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste