Message from the government of Québec following the devastation caused by Katrina

Québec City, August 31, 2005 - On behalf of the government and all Quebecers, the Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, wishes to express her sincere sympathies to all those who were so sorely affected by the devastation caused by Katrina in the southern United States.

“We now know that Katrina is one of the worst natural disasters ever to hit the United States. The scenes of desolation on our television screens show the extent to which the lives of millions of people can be dramatically affected when the fury of the elements is unleashed. All Quebecers share the pain of their American neighbors,” said Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay. The Minister also expressed her deepest sympathies to the governors of the hard-hit states.

The Minister noted that Québec authorities had quickly contacted civil authorities in the United States to offer their help. American authorities warmly thanked their Québec counterparts for the quick offer of assistance and told them that they were still in the rescue effort stages and were evaluating both the scope of the disaster and the most pressing needs.

The governments of Québec and those affected by Katrina agreed to remain in constant contact to be able to respond quickly to the needs once they are identified. Assistance could be required in the areas of public health, civil engineering and security.

Quebecers may contact the Emergency Operations Centre of Foreign Affairs Canada at 1-800-267-6788 or (613) 944-6788 to find out whether any family or friends were in the area affected by the hurricane. Anyone who would like to send a donation to help those affected by the disaster may also contact the Canadian Red Cross.

- 30 -

Back to list

Message du gouvernement du Québec à la suite du passage de l'ouragan Katrina

Québec, le 31 août 2005 ─ Au nom du gouvernement et de la population du Québec, la ministre des Relations internationales, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, désire exprimer ses plus profondes sympathies à tous ceux et celles durement éprouvés par suite du passage de l'ouragan Katrina dans les États du sud des États-Unis.

« Nous savons maintenant qu'il s'agit d'une des pires catastrophes naturelles ayant touché les États-Unis. Les scènes de désolation que nous renvoient les télévisions du monde démontrent à quel point la fureur des éléments peut venir perturber dramatiquement la vie de millions de gens. Les Québécois sont de tout coeur avec leurs voisins américains », a déclaré madame Gagnon-Tremblay. La ministre exprime par ailleurs sa plus vive sympathie aux gouverneurs des États concernés.

La ministre a rappelé que les autorités québécoises ont très vite communiqué avec les autorités civiles américaines pour connaître les besoins des populations touchées par ce désastre. Les autorités américaines, tout en remerciant vivement leurs homologues québécois de leur offre empressée, les ont informées qu'elles en sont toujours à l'étape du sauvetage et de l'évaluation à la fois de l'ampleur des dégâts et des besoins précis pour y faire face.

Les gouvernements du Québec et ceux concernés aux États-Unis sont convenus de rester en communication constante de manière à pouvoir répondre rapidement aux besoins lorsque ceux-ci seront mieux connus et qu'ils nous auront été signifiés. Ces besoins peuvent couvrir les domaines de la santé publique, du génie civil ou encore de la sécurité.

Rappelons que les Québécois peuvent communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d'urgence d'Affaires étrangères Canada au 1 (800) 267-6788 ou au (613) 944-6788 pour vérifier si de leurs proches se trouvent dans la région touchée par l'ouragan. Les personnes désireuses d'envoyer un don pour les sinistrés peuvent également s'adresser à la Croix-Rouge canadienne.

- 30 -


Retour à la liste