Youth Forum in four languages - Regional Leaders Conference for Partner Regions

Québec, March 7, 2006 ─ The Premier of Québec, Jean Charest, is pleased to announce the creation of the Partner Regions' Internet site and the launch of an on-line discussion forum in four languages for young people under 35 years of age.

"As international issues increasingly call upon young people to get involved, it was vital to give them a tool for discussing problems of concern to them. Whether they live in the Partner Regions or anywhere in the world, young people can join the forum for thought-provoking discussion and debate. We are pleased that Jacques Dufresne, a well-known Québec philosopher, has agreed to host the Forum," underscored the Premier.

The Internet site project, and especially the multilingual discussion forum, is the outcome of efforts by young people from Bavaria, the Western Cape, Upper Austria, Québec and Sandong, gathered at the 2nd Conference on the theme of Youth: Developing a Culture of Succession, which took place in Québec City in December 2004. In light of the recommendations made by youth participants, the Regional Leaders present agreed to encourage their participation in democratic institutions.

More specifically, the idea of creating a discussion forum meets a commitment by the Regional Leaders in the Partner Regions to work together on developing networks for young people through a virtual communication tool that would enable them to share their knowledge and express their opinion on issues and current events of likely interest to them, such as globalization and the environment.

For Jacques Dufresne, founder of the Encyclopédie Agora, a work centred on sustainable development, "discussion forums like the Partner Regions' Internet site are key to the new world governance. Without such governance, it will be impossible to meet the major challenges of the future."

The Conference of Regional Leaders of the Partner Regions is an innovative coalition designed to meet the many challenges facing the regional and federated entities that participate in it. Upper Austria, Bavaria, California and the Western Cape, Sandong, Sao Paulo and Québec meet from time to time to discuss the challenges they face. These federated states also share their analyses in searching for common areas of partnership. The spirit of these conferences is decidedly geared to cooperation and action on creating a sustainable development policy for future generations.

The next Conference will be held in Linz, Upper Austria, on July 11 and 12, 2006.

The Internet site is at the following address: www.regionspartenaires.com (www.partnerregions.com)

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Forum jeunesse en quatre langues! - Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires

Québec, le 7 mars 2006 ─ Le premier ministre du Québec, M. Jean Charest, est heureux d'annoncer la création du site Internet des Régions partenaires ainsi que la mise en ligne d'un forum de discussion, en quatre langues, pour les jeunes de moins de 35 ans.

« Dans un contexte où les questions de nature internationale interpellent de plus en plus les jeunes, il est essentiel de leur donner un outil qui leur permettra d'échanger sur des problématiques qui les préoccupent. Qu'ils viennent des Régions partenaires ou de partout dans le monde, les jeunes trouveront sujets à réflexion et à discussion dans ce forum. Nous sommes heureux que Jacques Dufresne, philosophe québécois au Québec, ait accepté notre invitation d'animer ce Forum », a souligné le premier ministre.

Le projet de site Internet et plus spécialement celui d'un forum de discussion multilingue est le fruit des réflexions menées par des jeunes de la Bavière, du Cap Occidental, de la Haute-Autriche, du Québec et du Shandong réunis, lors de la 2e Conférence, autour du thème Jeunesse : Développement d'une culture de la relève, qui a eu lieu à Québec, en décembre 2004. À la lumière des recommandations faites par les jeunes participants, les chefs des Régions représentées avaient alors convenu d'encourager leur implication dans les institutions démocratiques.

L'idée de créer un forum de discussion répond de façon plus précise à un engagement pris par les chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires de travailler ensemble au développement de réseaux de jeunes par l'entremise d'un outil de communication virtuel qui leur permettrait de partager leurs connaissances et de se prononcer sur des enjeux et des sujets d'actualité susceptibles de les intéresser tels que la mondialisation et l'environnement.

Pour Jacques Dufresne, fondateur de l'Encyclopédie Agora, une oeuvre orientée vers le développement durable, « les forums de discussion comme celui du site Internet des Régions partenaires seront au coeur de cette nouvelle gouvernance mondiale sans laquelle il sera impossible de relever les grands défis de l'avenir ».

La Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires est un regroupement novateur qui permet de répondre aux nombreux défis des gouvernements régionaux et entités fédérées qui y participent. La Haute-Autriche et la Bavière, la Californie et le Cap occidental, le Shandong, Saô Paulo et le Québec se réunissent périodiquement afin d'échanger sur les défis qui les confrontent. Ces états fédérés partagent également leurs analyses dans le but de rechercher des pistes communes de partenariat. L'esprit qui anime ces conférences est résolument tourné vers la coopération et l'action en vue d'élaborer une politique de développement durable pour les générations futures.

Rappelons que la prochaine Conférence se tiendra à Linz, en Haute-Autriche, les 11 et 12 juillet 2006.

Le site Internet se trouve à l'adresse suivante : www.regionspartenaires.com (www.partnerregions.com)

- 30 -

Retour à la liste