Working in concert will strengthen Québec and give it greater impact on the international stage

Monique Gagnon-Tremblay

Québec City, May 24, 2006 ─ Québec's Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, released the government's new International Policy today. Subtitled “Working in Concert,” the new policy marks a major shift in the government's international approach.

In light of global changes and the need for nations, states and regions to work together to find lasting solutions, the Minister emphasized that the government will be able to defend its positions and interests more effectively on the international stage by rallying additional partners to its cause. Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay outlined five steps that the government will be taking to achieve this goal.

A joint action plan will be developed for Québec government departments and agencies, allocating efforts and resources to support a number of shared goals and priorities. The action plan accompanying the new International Policy is in line with this strategy.

The government will also work more closely with civic groups and organizations, primarily municipalities and universities that already play an active international role.
A new and stronger partnership will be forged with the federal government. This goal reflects the belief that Canada's international activities will be strengthened and will have greater impact if Québec's voice, expertise and specificity are used to good advantage. In turn, Québec's own activities will be enhanced thanks to the federal government's support.

Our bilateral partners will be asked to take part in these activities. Alliances will be forged on matters of common interest, in line with cultural diversity initiatives undertaken with France and other members of La Francophonie.

The Government of Québec will also work with other political jurisdictions to implement a range of initiatives and to find concrete solutions in areas where action is needed.

Five key goals

Québec's new International Policy is structured around five key goals:

  • Expanding Québec's scope of action and sphere of influence

  • Fostering growth and prosperity throughout Québec

  • Enhancing security measures across Québec and North America

  • Promoting Québec's unique identity and culture

  • Contributing to international solidarity efforts

To achieve these goals, the action plan will focus on ten priority areas, including some 70 measures and initiatives that will be implemented by various departments and agencies over the next three years. This is the first time that the Government of Québec has developed a joint action plan setting out a comprehensive international vision, together with a limited number of shared goals and priorities.

Additional credits totalling $20 million over three years have been allocated to implement the action plan. These new credits are in addition to the $350 million in annual expenditures by government departments on international initiatives. In particular, these funds will support the following initiatives:

  • Expanding Québec's role within international organizations, particularly UNESCO

  • Reorganizing the network of Québec offices and delegations abroad in accordance with new international priorities

  • Forging links with other political jurisdictions

  • Boosting Québec's exports to the U.S. and Europe

  • Expanding Québec's role and activities in key growth markets such as Mexico, Japan, China, India and Brazil

  • Enhancing Québec's research and innovation capacity by fostering international partnerships and attracting world-class researchers

  • Reinforcing efforts to promote Québec's universities abroad

  • Taking steps to address new security issues

  • Significantly increasing the number of companies taking part in the Smart Border program

  • Ensuring the French language's role in the development of new information technologies

  • Developing organizational/planning skills and tools with a view to distributing Québec's products and cultural exports more effectively

  • Contributing to international solidarity efforts

Strategic reorganization of Québec's offices and delegations abroad

Québec has a network of nearly 30 offices in 18 countries. This network will be modified in accordance with new international priorities.

In the context of strong growth in the U.S. South and West, the status of Québec's office in Atlanta will be upgraded. Additional resources will be allocated to Québec's offices in Atlanta, Los Angeles and Washington, D.C. with a view to capitalizing on business opportunities with neighbouring states and major international financial institutions in the U.S. capital region.

Links will be forged with Brazil in recognition of that country's political weight within the Mercosur trade group, its influence within international organizations and its vast economic potential. To this end, the Québec government plans to open an office in Sao Paulo.

In light of the European Union's expansion and key economic role, Québec will be expanding its presence In Europe. Québec's office in Munich will be upgraded to Government House status and its staff and that of the Berlin sub-office will be expanded. Additional personnel will be assigned to the Rome office to support growing commercial and cultural exchanges between Québec and Italy. Given Italy's central location in the Mediterranean basin, the Rome office will be assigned responsibility for forging trade links with other countries in the region.

Québec has had an official presence in Japan for over 30 years. Consistent with that country's key role in trade dynamics across Asia, the economic division of Québec Government House in Tokyo will be consolidated. Moreover, given China's and India's strong growth prospects and their economic impact on Québec companies, Québec will boost its economic staff in Beijing and Shanghai and will open an office in Mumbai.

Expanded role within international forums

Québec's new International Policy reflects the government's desire to take on an expanded role within international forums. “Québec's ability to make collective choices and to enact legislation and regulations is shaped by changing international standards that are decided elsewhere. The government can either sit back and accept these changes or actively seek to influence the course of events, consistent with its interests and the values of Québec society. Québec has decided to take the path of active involvement,” said the Minister of International Relations. She added: “To achieve this goal, Québec must participate fully in the networks in which international standards are created. It must also gain access to key political and economic decision makers and use all means available to exert its influence.”

Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay also noted that Québec signed a historic agreement with the federal government on May 5 setting out Québec's role within UNESCO. According to the Minister, this agreement has created a new dynamic in the field of international relations. Moreover, the Government of Québec advocates the implementation of a formal framework to enable any province wishing to do so to participate in other international organizations and forums whenever areas of provincial jurisdiction are on the agenda.

- 30 -

Back to list

« Le Québec sera plus fort et plus influent sur la scène internationale s'il agit de façon concertée »

Monique Gagnon-Tremblay

Québec, 24 mai 2006 ─ La ministre des Relations internationales, madame Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, a rendu publique aujourd'hui la nouvelle Politique internationale du Québec. Sous-titrée La force de l'action concertée, cette nouvelle politique internationale marque un virage dans la façon dont le gouvernement du Québec entend conduire son action internationale.

Prenant note des changements qui s'opèrent dans le monde et de la nécessité pour les pays, les États ou les régions de mettre en commun leurs efforts pour trouver des solutions durables, la ministre des Relations internationales considère que c'est en ralliant d'autres partenaires à son action que le gouvernement du Québec pourra le mieux faire valoir ses positions et défendre ses intérêts sur la scène internationale. Elle a précisé les cinq leviers que le gouvernement compte utiliser à cette fin.

Tout d'abord au Québec, en se donnant un plan d'action concerté avec les ministères et organismes du gouvernement et en faisant converger les efforts et les ressources vers un certain nombre d'objectifs et de priorités partagés, ce que fait précisément le plan d'action gouvernemental qui accompagne la nouvelle politique internationale.

En travaillant plus étroitement avec les divers groupes et organismes de la société, au premier chef avec les municipalités et les universités, qui jouent déjà un rôle actif à l'échelle internationale.

Par un partenariat renouvelé et renforcé avec le gouvernement fédéral canadien, convaincu que l'action du Canada à l'étranger sera plus forte et plus influente s'il sait mettre à profit la voix, l'expertise et la spécificité du Québec et que l'action du Québec est plus forte lorsqu'elle bénéficie de l'appui du gouvernement canadien.

En associant nos partenaires bilatéraux à notre action et en forgeant des alliances sur des questions d'intérêt commun, comme nous l'avons fait avec la France et les pays de la Francophonie dans le dossier de la diversité culturelle.

Enfin, en travaillant avec d'autres États fédérés à mener des initiatives et à trouver des solutions concrètes dans les secteurs où nous détenons la responsabilité d'agir.

Cinq grands objectifs

La nouvelle politique internationale du Québec est axée autour de cinq grands objectifs :

  • renforcer la capacité d'action et d'influence de l'État québécois;

  • favoriser la croissance et la prospérité du Québec;

  • contribuer à la sécurité du Québec et du continent nord-américain;

  • promouvoir l'identité et la culture du Québec;

  • contribuer à l'effort de solidarité internationale.

De ces cinq objectifs découlent dix priorités autour desquelles s'est élaboré un plan d'action gouvernemental précisant pour les trois prochaines années quelque 70 mesures ou initiatives qui seront mises en oeuvre par les divers ministères et organismes du gouvernement. Ce plan d'action est une première car c'est la première fois que le gouvernement québécois se dote d'un plan d'action concerté en matière internationale qui s'appuie sur une vision d'ensemble et un nombre limité d'objectifs et de priorités partagés.

Des crédits additionnels de 20 M$ sur trois ans ont été alloués à la réalisation du plan d'action. Ces nouveaux crédits viennent s'ajouter aux 350 M$ dépensés annuellement par les différents ministères au chapitre de leur action internationale. Ces sommes seront notamment dirigées vers la mise en oeuvre des initiatives suivantes :

  • accroître la présence du Québec auprès des organisations internationales, notamment à l'UNESCO;

  • redéployer le réseau des délégations et bureaux à l'étranger en fonction des nouvelles priorités;

  • développer les liens avec les autres États fédérés;

  • consolider nos exportations aux États-Unis et en Europe;

  • accroître la présence et l'action du Québec sur les marchés les plus porteurs, soit le Mexique, le Japon, la Chine, l'Inde, et le Brésil;

  • renforcer les capacités de recherche et d'innovation au Québec en appuyant le développement de partenariats internationaux et en attirant ici des chercheurs de haut niveau;

  • renforcer la promotion internationale de nos universités;

  • s'outiller pour faire face aux nouveaux enjeux de sécurité;

  • accroître de façon significative le nombre d'entreprises qui adhèrent au programme de la frontière intelligente;

  • assurer la place du français dans le développement des nouvelles technologies de l'information;

  • développer les compétences et les instruments permettant de mieux organiser et de mieux planifier la diffusion des produits et manifestations culturelles du Québec;

  • apporter notre collaboration à l'effort de solidarité internationale.

Une réorganisation stratégique du réseau de représentations à l'étranger

Le Québec compte actuellement une trentaine de représentations présentes dans dix-huit pays. Des modifications seront apportées au réseau de représentations afin de refléter les priorités de la politique internationale.

Aux États-Unis, tenant compte du fort taux de croissance des régions au Sud et à l'Ouest des États-Unis, le statut de la représentation du Québec à Atlanta se verra rehaussé. Ses ressources ainsi que celles de la délégation de Los Angeles seront augmentées. Il en sera de même pour le bureau de Washington afin de mieux profiter des occasions d'affaires auprès des États de la région et auprès des grandes institutions de financement international.

En Amérique du Sud, le poids politique du Brésil au sein du MERCOSUR, son influence dans les organisations internationales et son grand potentiel économique militent en faveur du développement des liens avec ce pays. L'ouverture d'une représentation à Sao Paulo viendra concrétiser ces intérêts.

En Europe, l'élargissement de l'Union européenne et son importance économique commandent un renforcement de la présence du Québec. Ainsi, le Délégation générale du Québec à Munich deviendra une délégation générale et ses effectifs ainsi que ceux de son antenne à Berlin seront rehaussés. En Italie, les effectifs du bureau de Rome seront accrus pour mieux appuyer les échanges économiques et culturels en croissance avec ce pays. Tenant compte de la position centrale de l'Italie au sein du bassin méditerranéen, ce bureau se verra confier le mandat de développer les liens d'affaires avec les pays de cette zone.

Enfin, en Asie, prenant appui sur plus de 30 ans de présence au Japon et considérant le rôle moteur de ce pays dans la dynamique des échanges économiques de la région, le Québec consolidera les fonctions économiques de sa Délégation générale à Tokyo. De plus, compte tenu des importantes perspectives de croissance en Chine et en Inde et de l'impact de l'activité économique de ces pays sur les entreprises québécoises, le Québec accroîtra ses effectifs économiques à Beijing et Shanghai, tandis qu'un bureau du Québec sera ouvert à Mumbaï, en Inde.

Une présence accrue dans les forums internationaux

La nouvelle politique internationale réitère par ailleurs la volonté du gouvernement du Québec d'être davantage présent dans les forums internationaux. « La capacité du Québec de faire des choix collectifs, de voter des lois, d'adopter des règlements est aujourd'hui balisée par des normes internationales décidées ailleurs. Le gouvernement peut soit subir ces changements, soit chercher à les influencer dans le sens de ses intérêts et des valeurs de la société québécoise. C'est cette deuxième voie que le Québec choisit », a dit la ministre des Relations internationales, ajoutant que « pour ce faire, le Québec doit pouvoir s'insérer dans les réseaux où s'élaborent ces normes, avoir accès aux décideurs politiques et économiques et utiliser tous les leviers qui lui permettront d'exercer une influence ».

Madame Gagnon-Tremblay a rappelé que le gouvernement québécois a conclu, le 5 mai dernier, avec le gouvernement fédéral un accord historique portant sur la présence du Québec à l'UNESCO. Selon elle, cet accord crée une nouvelle dynamique sur le plan des relations internationales. Le Québec souhaite par ailleurs qu'un cadre formel facilite sa participation et celle des provinces qui le souhaitent dans les autres organisations et forums internationaux lorsqu'il est question de sujets relevant de leurs compétences.

Tableau synthèse

- 30 -

Retour à la liste