A first in Plattsburgh Minister of International Relations helps launch a degree in Québec studies

Québec City, February 4, 2007 – Minister of International Relations Monique Gagnon-Tremblay will participate in the official launch of a degree in Québec studies on February 5, at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Plattsburgh. “I am delighted to take part in this launch, which marks a real first. Plattsburgh is the first U.S. university to offer such a program on Québec. Québec students have long shown a keen interest in the U.S., and this has led to numerous partnerships in the research and business sectors. Today I am pleased to see New York students showing the same curiosity and enthusiasm about Québec,” said the minister.
Leading to a degree, the minor in Québec studies offered by SUNY Plattsburgh features some fifteen courses covering Québec in general, the history of the French presence in North America, and Québec business and politics.
Québec front and centre

In launching the degree, Ms. Gagnon-Tremblay will kick off a full week of Québec-themed activities at SUNY Plattsburgh, featuring Québec films, foods, and a series of talks.
At the invitation of SUNY Plattsburgh president John Ettling and Institute on Québec Studies director Christopher Kirkey, the minister will also give a speech as part of the Annual Distinguished Québec Address. The purpose of this event is to recognize the key figures who have contributed to Québec's success. She will also present Québec's international policy, stressing the unique relationship Québec has with the U.S. and with the State of New York and New England in particular.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Une première à Plattsburgh La ministre des Relations internationales participe au lancement d'un diplôme en études québécoises

QUÉBEC, le 4 février 2007 – La ministre des Relations internationales, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, participera au lancement officiel d'un diplôme en études québécoises le 5 février prochain à l'Université d'État de New York à Plattsburgh. « Je suis d'autant plus heureuse de participer à ce lancement qu'il s'agit d'une première. Plattsburgh est en effet la première université américaine à offrir un tel programme sur le Québec. Depuis longtemps, les étudiants québécois manifestent un intérêt certain pour les États-Unis, ce qui a d'ailleurs donné lieu à de nombreuses collaborations dans les secteurs de la recherche et des affaires. Je constate aujourd'hui avec plaisir la même curiosité et le même enthousiasme chez les étudiants de New York pour le Québec », a souligné la ministre.
Menant à l'obtention d'un diplôme, le programme de mineure en études québécoises offert par l'Université d'État de New York à Plattsburgh offre une quinzaine de cours portant notamment sur le profil du Québec, l'histoire du fait français en Amérique du Nord ainsi que les affaires et la politique québécoises.
Le Québec à l'honneur

En procédant au lancement de ce diplôme, Mme Gagnon-Tremblay donnera aussi le coup d'envoi à une semaine complète d'activités sur le Québec à l'Université d'État de New York à Plattsburgh. Cinéma, gastronomie et conférences figurent au programme.
À l'invitation du président de l'Université d'État de New York à Plattsburgh, M. John Ettling, et du directeur de l'Institut des études québécoises, M. Christopher Kirkey, la ministre prononcera par ailleurs une allocution dans le cadre du Annual Distinguished Québec Address. Cette activité a pour but de reconnaître la contribution de personnalités de haut niveau à l'essor du Québec. Elle y présentera la Politique internationale du Québec, en insistant sur la relation unique qu'entretient le Québec avec ses voisins américains, en particulier avec l'État de New York et la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste