China-Quebec Collaboration in Science and Technology Results of the Premier's Mission to China

Quebec, May 29, 2007—The Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade (MDEIE) and Minister of Tourism, Raymond Bachand, today signed a joint declaration in science and technology with the Vice-Minister of Science and Technology of the People's Republic of China, SHANG Yong. In signing this declaration, they launched an invitation for proposals aimed at Quebec and Chinese research institutions and companies for joint research projects.
This declaration provides for an investment of $1.6 M, i.e., $800,000 from each party, in support of the development of China-Quebec research projects over the next three years.
“Such action is perfectly in keeping with the spirit of the Quebec Research and Innovation Strategy. If they want to carry out world-class research and stay competitive, Quebec researchers and companies must develop international partnerships. China is a world leader in this field. Quebec companies associated with research institutions will accordingly get the opportunity to establish relations with key partners to pool their knowledge and thus contribute to furthering the prosperity of Quebec,” concluded Mr. Bachand.
Priority will be granted to research projects focusing on biotechnologies, genomics, proteomics, health, marine sciences and information and communications technologies. Once they have found a partner in China, research centres and universities will have to submit their project to the government of Quebec by September 4, 2007. Chinese partners will do the same in their country. Minister Bachand and Vice-Minister Shang have agreed to hold a meeting of the Quebec-China joint working group in Beijing on October 25 and 26 of this year to select projects for funding.
The signing of this declaration follows from the Scientific and Technological Cooperation Agreement, renewed in September 2005 as part of the mission to China led by Premier Jean Charest. This mission also aimed to revive the scientific and technological cooperation between Quebec and China, taking into account the interests and needs of Quebec's institutions, as well as promote the excellence and attributes of Quebec's research and innovation system.
“This initiative is very much one of our international policy's five key priorities—that of strengthening Quebec's growth and prosperity by placing knowledge, innovation and education at the heart of Quebec's international activities,” stated the Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay.
A sum of $750,000 will come from the Assistance for International Research and Innovation Initiatives program, the Quebec Research and Innovation Strategy and the MDEIE, and $50,000 from the 2006-2009 Action Plan linked to Quebec's International Policy.
For more information regarding the selection criteria and on how to apply, please go to www.mdeie.gouv.qc.ca/appelchine2007

– 30 –

Information: 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Collaboration sino-québécoise en science et technologie Suites de la mission du premier ministre en Chine

Québec, le 29 mai 2007 – Le ministre du Développement économique, de l'Innovation et de l'Exportation (MDEIE) et ministre du Tourisme, M. Raymond Bachand, a signé aujourd'hui une déclaration conjointe en science et technologie avec le vice-ministre de la Science et de la Technologie de la République populaire de Chine, M. SHANG Yong. La signature de cette déclaration lance un appel à propositions destiné aux institutions et entreprises de recherche québécoises et chinoises pour la réalisation de projets de recherche conjoints.
Cette déclaration prévoit un investissement de 1,6 M$, soit 800 000 $ de chacune des parties, dans le soutien au développement de projets de recherche sino-québécois au cours des trois prochaines années.
« Cette démarche cadre parfaitement dans l'esprit de la Stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l'innovation. Pour réaliser une recherche de calibre international et pour rester compétitifs, les chercheurs et les entreprises du Québec doivent établir des partenariats internationaux. Or, la Chine est dans ce domaine un leader mondial. Les entreprises québécoises qui seront associées aux institutions de recherche auront donc la chance de s'associer à des partenaires clés pour une mise en commun des compétences et accroître ainsi la prospérité du Québec», a conclu M. Bachand.
Une priorité sera accordée aux projets de recherche axés sur les biotechnologies, la génomique, la protéomique, la santé, les sciences de la mer et les technologies de l'information et des communications. Après avoir trouvé leur partenaire chinois, les centres de recherche et les universités doivent soumettre leur projet au Québec d'ici le 4 septembre 2007. Le partenaire chinois fera de même dans son pays. Le ministre Bachand et le vice-ministre Shang ont convenu de tenir à Beijing, les 25 et 26 octobre prochain, une réunion du groupe de travail mixte Québec-Chine pour sélectionner les projets qui seront financés.
La signature de cette déclaration découle de l'Entente de coopération dans les domaines de la science et de la technologie, renouvelée en septembre 2005, lors de la mission en Chine menée par le premier ministre, M. Jean Charest. Cette mission avait également pour but de relancer la coopération en science et technologie entre le Québec et la Chine, en tenant compte des intérêts et des besoins des institutions québécoises, ainsi que de promouvoir l'excellence et les caractéristiques du système de recherche et d'innovation québécois.
« Cette initiative s'inscrit tout à fait dans l'une des cinq grandes priorités de notre politique internationale, celle de renforcer la croissance et la prospérité du Québec en mettant le savoir, l'innovation et l'éducation au coeur de l'action internationale du Québec », a mentionné la ministre des Relations internationales, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay.
Une somme de 750 000 $ provient du Programme de soutien aux initiatives internationales en recherche et innovation, de la Stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l'innovation, du MDEIE, et 50 000 $, du Plan d'action 2006-2009 de la Politique internationale du Québec.
Pour plus d'information sur les critères de sélection et les modalités d'inscription, consultez le site www.mdeie.gouv.qc.ca/appelchine2007


- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste