The Minister of International Relations leads a mission to the United States - Strengthening ties, a priority for Québec

Québec City, June 25, 2007 - The Minister of International Relations, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, today begins a one-week mission to the Southeast and Western United States. In Georgia, she will formally open the new Québec Government Office in Atlanta, in a region of tremendous economic growth, where Québec is committed to strengthening its trade ties. During her trip, the Minister will meet with key economic partners, city officials in Los Angeles and Las Vegas, as well as, business leaders, in addition to attending various events to highlight successful ventures by Quebecers in the United States.

A growing level of trade between Québec and the United States

Québec has had an office to promote its interests in Atlanta since 1978, and an increased role in the US Southeast is one of the priorities set out in Québec's new International Policy, adopted last year. This region is experiencing sustained economic and demographic growth and many states offer business opportunities for Québec firms, which are already active in such important industries as aeronautics, information technology, biotechnology and automotive manufacturing. Trade with Georgia alone has reached almost $2 billion each year, while Québec firms employ over 7,600 people in the state.

“The United States is our principal trading partner. Potential in the South and Southeast is strong, not only for business but also for collaboration between universities and governments. This is a natural step forward in our relations with the US, since trade is already well-established with the East Coast and the states along the St. Lawrence/Great Lakes axis”, said the Minister.

The Québec Government Office in Atlanta promotes Québec's interests in eleven US states from the Carolinas to Florida, and westwards as far as Texas. Although it will target states with strong economic potential, Québec also intends to strengthen its historic ties with Louisiana, in tribute of the cultural heritage and historical ties shared by French-speakers in the Americas.

Minister Gagnon-Tremblay will also take advantage of her stay in Atlanta to visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, a US government agency responsible for infectious disease prevention, study and control, in the company of representatives from Québec's Department of Health and Social Services, Department of Public Security and National Public Health Institute. The goal of the meeting is to plan possible joint action by Québec and the internationally-renowned Centers in the field of public health.

A key presence in the Western US

The Minister will also travel to Los Angeles, completing her grand tour of the six US cities with a Québec Government Office. “California is the world's fifth largest economy. It has a far-reaching influence and sets worldwide trends. Québec can only benefit from familiarity with and a presence in this zone of influence,” the Minister pointed out.

Québec and the thirteen-state territory covered by the Québec Office are already major trading partners. In 2006, the total value of trade was almost $7 billion. The priorities and recent achievements of the Québec government in the region include the development of political relations with California and Arizona, cooperation in the life sciences field, the promotion of culture, the identification of sources of investment and ongoing support for Québec studies programs.

Québec success stories in the United States

During her mission to the United States, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay will meet Eric Garcetti, President of the Los Angeles City Council, and Oscar Goodman, Mayor of Las Vegas, to discuss the contribution made by Quebecers to the life of each city. Many Quebecers live in Los Angeles, contributing to the city's stimulating atmosphere where they have the opportunity to work with leaders in their profession. They are also increasingly likely to live in Las Vegas, the fastest-growing US city where Cirque du Soleil, Céline Dion and other Québec artists are a key part of the entertainment and services industry.

The Minister will also meet with the representatives of Québec firms doing business in Los Angeles and Las Vegas. She will attend a Québec National Day celebration in Los Angeles, an event that has been a regular feature for several years, and a reception to mark Quebecers' successes in Las Vegas.

“The creative energy of Quebecers is in demand around the world, and the theme of the National Day celebration, which focuses on success, is entirely appropriate. I would like to acknowledge the dynamic attitude of the women and men who have helped raise Québec's profile in the United States,” concluded Minister Gagnon-Tremblay.

– 30 –

Information: 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Mission de la ministre des Relations internationales aux États-Unis - Consolider nos liens, une priorité pour le Québec

Québec, le 25 juin 2007 - La ministre des Relations internationales, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, entreprend une mission d'une semaine dans le Sud-Est et dans l'Ouest américain. Elle profitera de son passage en Géorgie pour y inaugurer les nouveaux bureaux de la Délégation du Québec à Atlanta, dans un territoire en plein essor économique où le Québec entend multiplier les échanges. Lors de son séjour, la ministre rencontrera des acteurs économiques, des dirigeants municipaux à Los Angeles et à Las Vegas ainsi que des Québécois y faisant affaire. Elle assistera aussi à des événements soulignant les succès des Québécois aux États-Unis.

Des échanges croissants entre le Québec et les États-Unis

Le Québec est présent à Atlanta depuis 1978 pour y promouvoir ses intérêts. L'accroissement de son rôle dans le Sud-Est des États-Unis figure au nombre des priorités de sa politique internationale adoptée l'an dernier. En effet, ce territoire connaît une croissance soutenue sur les plans économique et démographique, et bon nombre d'États offrent des occasions d'affaires pour les entreprises québécoises. Plusieurs d'entre elles y sont déjà actives dans les domaines de l'aéronautique, des technologies de l'information, des biotechnologies et de l'automobile. La valeur des échanges avec le seul État de la Géorgie s'élève à près de deux milliards de dollars, et les entreprises québécoises y emploient plus de 7 600 personnes.

« Les États-Unis sont notre principal partenaire commercial. Dans le Sud et le Sud-Est, nous trouvons un grand potentiel, non seulement sur le plan économique mais aussi pour des collaborations interuniversitaires et gouvernementales. Il s'agit là d'une étape naturelle dans nos relations avec notre voisin américain, à l'heure où les échanges sont déjà bien établis avec la région de la côte Est et celle longeant l'axe du Saint-Laurent jusqu'aux Grands-Lacs », a précisé la ministre.

La Délégation du Québec à Atlanta fait la promotion des intérêts du Québec dans onze États américains, allant des Carolines à la Floride, et vers l'ouest jusqu'au Texas. Bien que les États au fort potentiel économique soient particulièrement ciblés, le Québec entend accorder une importance renouvelée à ses liens avec la Louisiane, considérant l'héritage culturel francophone et les liens historiques unissant les francophones d'Amérique.

La ministre Gagnon-Tremblay profitera également de son passage à Atlanta pour y accompagner des représentants du ministère québécois de la Santé et des Services sociaux, du ministère de la Sécurité publique et de l'Institut national de santé publique du Québec au Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, l'agence du gouvernement américain chargée de la prévention, de l'étude et du contrôle des maladies infectieuses. Cette rencontre vise à planifier d'éventuelles collaborations scientifiques en santé publique entre le Québec et ce centre d'envergure internationale.

Une présence essentielle dans l'Ouest américain

La ministre se rendra à la Délégation du Québec à Los Angeles, complétant ainsi le grand cycle de visites des six villes américaines comptant une représentation du Québec : « La Californie est la cinquième économie mondiale. Elle exerce une profonde influence et préfigure les tendances qui marqueront le monde. Le Québec a tout avantage à connaître cette zone d'influence et à y être présent », a rappelé la ministre.

Le Québec et les treize États couverts par la Délégation sont d'importants partenaires commerciaux. En 2006, la valeur totale de leurs échanges s'élevait à près de sept milliards de dollars. Parmi les priorités et réalisations récentes du gouvernement du Québec dans cette région, notons le développement de relations politiques avec la Californie et l'Arizona ainsi que des collaborations dans les domaines des sciences de la vie, de la promotion culturelle, de la recherche d'investissement et des études québécoises.

Le succès des Québécois aux États-Unis

Lors de sa mission aux États-Unis, la ministre Monique Gagnon-Tremblay rencontrera le président du Conseil de ville de Los Angeles, Eric Garcetti, et le maire de Las Vegas, Oscar Goodman, pour échanger sur l'apport des Québécois au dynamisme de ces villes. Un grand nombre d'entre eux habitent Los Angeles, un lieu stimulant où ils sont appelés à travailler avec les meilleurs de leur profession. Ils sont aussi de plus en plus nombreux à Las Vegas, ville américaine connaissant la plus forte croissance et où se distinguent les Cirque du Soleil, Céline Dion et autres Québécois associés à l'industrie des spectacles et des services.

La ministre s'entretiendra avec des représentants d'entreprises québécoises faisant des affaires à Los Angeles, en Californie, et Las Vegas, au Nevada. Elle assistera aussi aux célébrations de la Fête nationale à Los Angeles, un événement réalisé depuis déjà plusieurs années, et à une réception soulignant les succès des Québécois à Las Vegas.

« L'énergie créatrice des Québécois est recherchée à travers le monde, et le thème de la Fête nationale valorisant cette réussite est fort à propos. Je salue le dynamisme de ces femmes et de ces hommes qui contribuent au rayonnement du Québec aux États-Unis », a conclu la ministre Gagnon-Tremblay.

– 30 –

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste