Support for governance in the Republic of Haiti - Signing of Tripartite agreement between governments of Canada, Québec and Haiti

Québec, November 7, 2007—Canada's Minister for International Cooperation, the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Quebec's Minister for International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, and Haiti's Minister for Planning and External Cooperation, Jean-Max Bellerive, today signed a memorandum of understanding aimed at providing support for governance in Haiti. Marcel Proulx, Director General of the École nationale d'administration publique (ÉNAP), was also on hand for the official signing.

The MOU will permit the start-up of PAGE (Projet d'appui à la gouverne de l'État haïtien), a five-year, $7.2 million project in support of governance in Haiti, for which ÉNAP is the executing agency. The project will allow expertise and know-how from the Quebec government to be transferred to the Haitian government. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) is making a $5 million contribution to the project, while the Government of Quebec is contributing $1.5 million in the form of salaries of the government department and agency employees who will be sharing their expertise with their Haitian counterparts. The Haitian government's financial contribution will also be in the form of salaries for personnel involved.

Groundwork action

“Strengthening governance in Haiti is a priority for the Government of Canada. This initiative will help the Haitian government establish a professional public service to more effectively address the many needs of Haiti's population,” stated Minister Oda. “This project also demonstrates Canada's and Quebec's commitment to sustainable collaboration with the Government of Haiti.”

“This project is the fulfillment of the government of Quebec's desire, expressed by its Premier, to take tangible action to help Haiti pursue its own development. Establishing new cooperation approaches with CIDA, building governance capacity through international solidarity projects, and taking action through La Francophonie – notably in Haiti – are among Quebec's foreign policy priorities,” stated Minister Gagnon-Tremblay.

“Haiti enjoys close relationships with the governments of Quebec and Canada,” said Minister Bellerive. “This initiative is a testimony to the collaborative Canadian approach, which supports the Haitian government's efforts and priorities in establishing a more efficient civil service, capable of responding to the Haitian population's needs and expectations.”

Three information sheets, available on request, detail the project and current action by the governments of Canada and Quebec in the Republic of Haiti, which both governments consider a priority.

– 30 –

Back to list

Appui à la gouvernance de la République d'Haïti - Signature d'une entente tripartite entre les gouvernements canadien, québécois et haïtien

Québec, le 7 novembre 2007 — La ministre canadienne de la Coopération internationale, l'honorable Beverley J. Oda, la ministre québécoise des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Mme Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, et le ministre haïtien de la Planification et de la Coopération externe, M. Jean-Max Bellerive, ont procédé aujourd'hui à la signature officielle d'un protocole d'entente visant à soutenir la gouvernance haïtienne, en présence de M. Marcel Proulx, directeur général de l'École nationale d'administration publique (ÉNAP).

L'entente assure le démarrage du Projet d'appui à la gouverne de l'État haïtien (PAGE). D'une durée de cinq ans, ce projet de 7,2 millions de dollars sera mis en oeuvre par l'ÉNAP. Il permettra le transfert d'expertise et de savoir-faire de l'administration publique québécoise vers l'administration haïtienne. L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) apporte une contribution financière de 5 millions de dollars à ce projet. Quant au gouvernement du Québec, il y contribue, à la hauteur de 1,5 million de dollars, par le paiement des salaires des employés de ses ministères et de ses organismes qui partageront leur expertise avec leurs collègues haïtiens. L'apport financier du gouvernement haïtien prend également la forme de salaires versés au personnel concerné.

Une action structurante

« Le renforcement de la gouvernance en Haïti est une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. Cette initiative aidera l'État haïtien à mettre en place une fonction publique professionnelle qui saura mieux répondre aux nombreux besoins de la population haïtienne, a déclaré la ministre Oda. Ce projet témoigne également de la détermination avec laquelle le Canada et le Québec s'engagent à collaborer de manière durable avec le gouvernement d'Haïti. »

« Ce projet concrétise la volonté du gouvernement du Québec, déjà exprimée par son premier ministre, d'aider de façon tangible Haïti à assurer son propre développement. L'établissement de nouveaux modes de collaboration avec l'ACDI, le développement des capacités de gouvernance dans le cadre de projets de solidarité internationale et les actions menées dans la Francophonie, notamment envers Haïti, comptent parmi les priorités de la Politique internationale du Québec », a rappelé la ministre Gagnon-Tremblay.

« Haïti jouit d'une relation de partenariat privilégiée avec les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada, a déclaré le Ministre Bellerive. Ce projet témoigne de l'approche de la coopération canadienne qui consiste à appuyer les efforts et les priorités du Gouvernement haïtien dans sa quête d'établir une fonction publique efficace, capable de répondre aux besoins et aux attentes du peuple haïtien. »

Trois fiches, disponibles sur demande, présentent les détails du projet ainsi que les actions menées actuellement par les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec en République d'Haïti, un territoire prioritaire pour ces deux gouvernements.

– 30 –

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste