Renewal of the Cooperative Agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the State of Israel

Québec City, December 11, 2007 - Today, the Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, and the Consul General of the State of Israel, Yoram Elron, signed the Cooperative Agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of the State of Israel. The agreement extends and expands the commitment to cooperation contained in the first agreement signed in Jerusalem in 1997. The science and technology, culture and education sectors have been the focus of productive exchanges for the past decade. The new agreement now adds health, economy, and trade to the list.

The five-year framework agreement reflects a joint desire to increase collaboration and exchanges between Québec's and Israel's departments and agencies.

Various events and activities have been supported in recent years through the Cooperative Agreement. Cultural highlights include the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit at the Pointe-à-Callières Museum, the Montréal Sephardic Festival, and the Tel-Aviv, The White City exhibition in collaboration with UQAM's Centre for Design.

Three projects have been carried out in science and technology: a neuroscience conference held in Israel, participation of an Israeli delegation in the agri-foods symposium, and joint development of medical applications.

In the education sector, the McGill Middle East Program in Civil Society and Peace Building provides scholarships to Israeli, Palestinian, and Jordanian students at the master's level in social work at McGill in addition to internships at a community centre in their home countries during their second year of study. Students subsequently work with the community centre teams for a four-year period.

Minister Gagnon-Tremblay underscored the positive outcomes of the cooperative activities that have been undertaken since 1997. She is also extremely pleased by the interest that departments, agencies and businesses in Québec and Israel have expressed in continuing and heightening cooperation.

– 30 –

Information: 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Renouvellement de l'Entente de coopération entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de l'État d'Israël

Québec, le 11 décembre 2007 - La ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, madame Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, et le Consul général de l'État d'Israël, monsieur Yoram Elron, ont signé aujourd'hui l'Entente de coopération entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de l'État d'Israël. Cette entente se veut la poursuite et l'élargissement de la coopération déjà engagée par la première entente signée à Jérusalem en 1997. La santé, l'économie et le commerce s'ajoutent aux domaines de la science et de la technologie, de la culture et de l'éducation qui font l'objet d'échanges fructueux depuis déjà une décennie.

D'une durée de cinq ans, cette entente-cadre constitue le reflet d'une volonté partagée d'accroître la collaboration et les échanges entre les ministères et les organismes québécois et israéliens.

Différents événements et activités ont été soutenus au cours des dernières années, dans le cadre de l'Entente de coopération. Au plan culturel, mentionnons l'exposition sur les manuscrits de la mer Morte tenue au Musée Pointe-à-Callières, la Quinzaine sépharade de Montréal, l'événement Tel-Aviv, la ville blanche, en collaboration avec le Centre de design de l'UQAM.

En sciences et technologies, trois projets ont été réalisés, soit un congrès sur les neurosciences tenu en Israël, la participation d'une délégation israélienne au symposium agro-alimentaire et le développement conjoint d'applications médicales.

Dans le secteur de l'éducation, le Programme de McGill en société civile et rétablissement de la paix au Moyen-Orient permet à des étudiants israéliens, palestiniens et jordaniens de bénéficier de bourses de maîtrise en service social à McGill et, au cours de la 2e année, de stages dans un centre communautaire de leurs pays d'origine. Ces étudiants sont ensuite attachés à ce même centre communautaire pour une période de quatre ans.

La ministre a tenu enfin à souligner l'évaluation positive des activités de coopération qui ont cours depuis 1997. Elle s'est également réjouie de l'intérêt marqué par les ministères, les organismes et les entreprises du Québec et de l'État d'Israël pour poursuivre et intensifier la coopération.

– 30 –

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste