On a Mission to New York – Minister Pierre Arcand steps up his consultations in developing a new U.S. strategy

Québec City, Wednesday, May 27, 2009 – The Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, is carrying out a two-day mission to New York City to hold discussions with key political players on various issues pertaining to trade, the environment, security and transportation. It is the Minister's fourth mission to the U.S. and his second visit to New York State.
“New York State is Québec's largest trading partner in the United States. Last year, Québec's exports to New York totalled over six billion dollars. I intend to take the opportunity afforded by this mission to stress, among other things, Québec's potential for helping New York State reduce its greenhouse gas emissions,” indicated Minister Arcand.
Officials with whom the Minister will be meeting include New York State Senate Majority Leader Malcolm A. Smith and Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer.
While in New York, Minister Arcand will also collaborate with a Manhattan food chain in launching a large-scale campaign promoting Québec food products. In addition, he will announce a partnership between Québec and Columbia University. The prestigious institution will invite a professor from a Québec university to teach a course on Québec health policies in the fall of 2010.
“Americans are interested in Québec's health care system in light of the debate over the future of the health care system in the U.S. This is a prime opportunity for Québec to demonstrate its expertise in this sector,” stated Minister Arcand.
In conjunction with the elaboration of a new American strategy, Minister Arcand will go to Washington, DC in June where he will convene the heads of Québec's offices in the U.S. before attending the Conference of the Canadian American Business Council.

- 30 -

Information: 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

En mission à New York – Le ministre Pierre Arcand intensifie ses consultations dans l'élaboration d'une nouvelle stratégie américaine

Québec, le mercredi 27 mai 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, M. Pierre Arcand, entreprend une mission de deux jours à New York afin de rencontrer des acteurs politiques importants pour discuter de différents dossiers en matière de commerce, d'environnement, de sécurité et de transports. Il s'agit de la quatrième mission du ministre en sol américain et de sa deuxième visite dans l'État de New York.

« L'État de New York est le premier partenaire commercial du Québec aux États-Unis. L'an dernier, les exportations québécoises vers New York ont totalisé plus de six milliards de dollars. Je compte profiter de cette mission pour faire valoir entre autres que le Québec peut aider l'État de New York à réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre », a indiqué M. Arcand.

Il rencontrera notamment le leader de la majorité au Sénat de l'État de New York, M. Malcolm A. Smith, et le président du borough de Manhattan, M. Scott Stringer.

Le ministre profitera également de son passage dans la métropole américaine pour participer au lancement d'une importante campagne de promotion de produits alimentaires québécois en collaboration avec une chaîne d'alimentation de Manhattan. De plus, il annoncera un partenariat entre le Québec et la prestigieuse Université Columbia qui accueillera, à l'automne 2010, un professeur d'une université québécoise qui offrira un cours sur les politiques de santé au Québec.

« Les américains s'intéressent au système de santé québécois dans le contexte du débat sur l'avenir du système de santé aux États-Unis. Il s'agit d'une belle occasion pour le Québec de démontrer son expertise dans ce domaine », a déclaré le ministre Arcand.

À noter que, dans le cadre de l'élaboration d'une nouvelle stratégie américaine, le ministre se rendra en juin à Washington DC où il réunira les chefs des délégations et bureaux du Québec aux États-Unis avant d'assister à la Conférence du Conseil des affaires canado-américaines.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste