On a Mission to New York – Minister Pierre Arcand Takes Part in a Major Promotion of Québec Food Products

Québec, Thursday, May 28, 2009 – The Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, is taking part today in the launch of a major promotional campaign for Québec food products in New York, in collaboration with The Food Emporium, a well-known New York food chain.
Under the theme of “Foods of Québec: Secrets of the Past, Taste of the Future,” this promotional activity conducted by the Ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ) will introduce New Yorkers to the extensive diversity and superior quality of Québec products. Over 25 companies and some 50 Québec food products such as cheeses, fruits, vegetables, meats and jams will be featured.
“It is important for Québec to support companies in the development of markets and the promotion of their products, especially in a time of economic crisis. Worldwide exports of Québec agri-food products reached $4.8 billion in 2008, including 2.7 billion on the American market,” indicated Minister Arcand.
“The know-how of Québec entrepreneurs results in a high-end food offer with a unique flair and European refinement. Quebecers are known for their creativity and passion in the field of food. Our entrepreneurs have combined their traditions with North American trends and preferences. Accordingly, we can offer an expertise and foods worthy of recognition for their excellence around the world,” added the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Laurent Lessard.
Until June 11, Québec products will be featured in The Food Emporium's 16 Manhattan stores. This activity is part of the Québec food products branding program targeting the northeastern United States market. Launched in 2008, the program aims in particular to stimulate recognition of the Québec offer by highlighting its originality and superior quality.
Today's announcement is part of a two-day mission to New York during which Minister Arcand will be meeting with key political players to discuss issues relating to trade, the environment, security and transportation. These consultations are taking place with a view to developing a new U.S. strategy for the Government of Québec.

- 30 -

Information: 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

En mission à New York – Le ministre Pierre Arcand participe à une promotion majeure de produits alimentaires québécois

Québec, le jeudi 28 mai 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, M. Pierre Arcand, participe aujourd'hui à New York au lancement d'une importante campagne de promotion de produits alimentaires québécois en collaboration avec The Food Emporium, une réputée chaîne d'alimentation new-yorkaise.

Sous le thème « Foods of Québec: Secrets of the Past, Taste of the Future » cette activité de promotion du ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ) fera connaître aux New-Yorkais la grande diversité et la qualité supérieure des produits québécois. Plus de 25 entreprises et une cinquantaine de produits alimentaires québécois tels que fromages, fruits, légumes, viandes et confitures seront en vedette.

« Il est important pour le Québec d'appuyer les entreprises dans le développement de marchés et dans la promotion de leurs produits, surtout en période de crise économique. Les exportations mondiales de produits agroalimentaires québécois ont atteint 4,8 milliards $ en 2008, dont 2,7 milliards sur le marché américain », a indiqué le ministre Arcand.

« Le savoir-faire des entrepreneurs québécois permet de présenter une offre alimentaire haut de gamme au caractère unique et d'un raffinement tout européen. Les Québécois sont reconnus pour leur créativité et pour leur passion dans le domaine de l'alimentation. Nos entrepreneurs ont su combiner leurs traditions avec les tendances et les préférences nord-américaines. Ainsi, nous sommes à même d'offrir une expertise et des aliments qui méritent d'être reconnus pour leur excellence à travers le monde », a souligné pour sa part le ministre de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation, M. Laurent Lessard.

Jusqu'au 11 juin, les produits québécois seront mis en vedette dans les 16 magasins The Food Emporium de Manhattan. Cette activité fait partie du programme de promotion de l'image de marque des produits alimentaires québécois sur le marché du nord-est des États-Unis. Lancé en 2008, le programme vise notamment à stimuler la reconnaissance de l'offre québécoise en mettant en valeur son originalité et sa qualité supérieure.

L'annonce d'aujourd'hui s'inscrit dans le cadre d'une mission de deux jours à New York pendant laquelle le ministre Arcand doit rencontrer des acteurs politiques importants pour discuter de dossiers en matière de commerce, d'environnement, de sécurité et de transport. Ces consultations se font dans l'élaboration d'une nouvelle stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis.

- 30 -

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste