On visit to Burlington, Vermont - Pierre Arcand pays tribute to Québec-Vermont relations at the Lake Champlain Quadricentennial

Burlington, Friday, July 10, 2009 – The Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, unveiled the sculpture that the Government of Québec presented to Vermont on Québec Day, organized in conjunction with Lake Champlain's 400th anniversary celebrations. Vermont Governor James H. Douglas attended the ceremony alongside the Mayor of Burlington, Bob Kiss.

“This sculpture by the Montréal artist Jacek Jarnuszkiewicz is entitled 'Dialogue inaltérable' (Unfailing dialogue). It symbolizes the strength of the bonds uniting Québec and Vermont. The leaves and letters grafted onto its intertwined stems represent complementarity and dialogue,” said the Minister.

While in Burlington, Minister Arcand discussed common issues such as energy, transportation, the environment and the economy with Vermont Governor James H. Douglas.

Vermont is Québec's leading New England trade partner and is the second largest buyer of Québec-made products in the U.S. Beyond commercial trade, Québec and Vermont collaborate closely in a number of sectors, including energy and the environment. Joint efforts to promote clean renewable energy sources have been a prime focus for several years now.

During his Burlington visit, Minister Arcand will also have an opportunity to meet Québec artists participating in the Burlington International Waterfront Festival. Several performers, including singer Elisapie Isaac and the groups Les Charbonniers de l'Enfer, Les Cowboys fringants and Le Vent du Nord will be on stage for Québec Day.

Last year, Vermont took part in Québec City's 400th anniversary festivities and presented the city with one of three U.S. commemorative stones placed along the Samuel-De Champlain Promenade. Vermont also sent the famous Lois McClure schooner north for display in Québec City's harbour and facilitated participation by a Vermont music group in the New England Folk Festival at the Grande Place du 400e.

Photographs available upon request.

– 30 –

Back to list

En visite à Burlington au Vermont - Pierre Arcand marque la relation entre le Québec et le Vermont à l'occasion du 400e anniversaire du lac Champlain

Burlington, le vendredi 10 juillet 2009 – C'est à l'occasion de la journée Québec, organisée dans le cadre des célébrations du 400e anniversaire du lac Champlain à Burlington, au Vermont, que le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, a dévoilé la sculpture offerte par le gouvernement du Québec au Vermont, en présence du gouverneur de l'État du Vermont, James H. Douglas, et du maire de Burlington, Bob Kiss.

« Cette sculpture, réalisée par l'artiste montréalais Jacek Jarnuszkiewicz et intitulée « Dialogue inaltérable », symbolise la force des liens qui unissent le Québec et le Vermont. Sur ses tiges entrecroisées se greffent des feuilles et des lettres qui représentent la complémentarité et le dialogue », a déclaré le ministre.

Le ministre Arcand a aussi profité de son passage à Burlington pour s'entretenir avec le gouverneur de l'État du Vermont, James H. Douglas, avec qui il a échangé sur des enjeux communs comme l'énergie, les transports, l'environnement et l'économie.

Le Vermont est le premier partenaire commercial du Québec en Nouvelle-Angleterre et le deuxième acheteur de produits québécois aux États-Unis. Au-delà des échanges commerciaux, le Québec et le Vermont collaborent étroitement dans de nombreux secteurs, notamment en matière d'énergie et d'environnement. Depuis plusieurs années, des efforts conjoints sont mis de l'avant pour miser sur les sources d'énergie propre et renouvelable.

Également lors de sa visite à Burlington, le ministre Arcand aura l'occasion de rencontrer des artistes québécois qui participent au Burlington International Waterfront Festival. Plusieurs artistes, dont Elisapie Isaac, Les Charbonniers de l'Enfer, Les Cowboys fringants et Le Vent du Nord, y présenteront des spectacles dans le cadre de la journée Québec.

Rappelons que l'an dernier, l'État du Vermont avait participé aux fêtes du 400e anniversaire de Québec et qu'il avait offert à la ville l'une des trois stèles américaines qui bordent aujourd'hui la promenade Samuel-De Champlain. Le Vermont avait également dépêché la prestigieuse goélette Lois McClure et permis la participation d'un groupe de musique vermontois au New England Folk Festival, à la Grande Place du 400e.

Des photographies seront disponibles sur demande.

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste