Pierre Arcand leads a mission to Japan to support the Québec video game development industry and efforts to combat climate change

Québec City, September 16, 2009 – Pierre Arcand, Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, accompanied by Jacques Daoust, President and CEO of Investissement Québec, and Ann Champoux, SODEC Executive Director, Film and Television Production, will be in Japan on an official mission from September 22 to October 1, 2009. A business delegation representing the video game industry will also accompany the Minister.

Minister Arcand will begin his trip with a visit to the Tokyo Game Show, to support the prospecting efforts by the Québec video game development industry targeting the world's biggest players in this field. With 55 companies and 6,600 employees (including 4,400 developers), Québec is one of the world's leading video game development hubs.

The Minister will then mark the opening of a Québec film festival in the presence of two Québec filmmakers, Roger Cantin (The Hidden Fortress) and Benoît Pilon (The Necessities of Life).

In addition to taking part in political meetings, Minister Arcand will officially open the and launch the new session of a course on Québec offered for the past six years by Meiji University, which also houses a Québec document reference centre.

In the Minister's words, “Since 2003, Québec has carried out six ministerial missions to consolidate our political, economic, educational and cultural ties with Japan. Our permanent presence, via the Délégation générale du Québec à Tokyo, and now thanks to the artists' residence, shows our determination to maintain our trusting relationship with this high-priority partner for Québec.”

Japan boasts the world's second-largest economy, with a gross domestic product (GDP) of close to CAN$5 trillion. In addition to its impressive reserves, Japan can tap into its great capacity for innovation. It is a world leader in the area of R&D investments.

Japan is also Québec's number-two economic partner in Asia, after China, and the number-one Asian export market for Québec cultural products. For the first six months of 2009, at $540 million, Québec exports to Japan were up 11% over the figure for the corresponding period last year. About 50 Japanese companies have set up shop in Québec, where they employ over 6,500 people.

– 30 –

Back to list

Pierre Arcand en mission au Japon pour appuyer l'industrie québécoise du développement de jeux vidéo et la lutte aux changements climatiques

Québec, le 16 septembre 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, monsieur Pierre Arcand, accompagné de M. Jacques Daoust, président d'Investissement Québec, et de Mme Ann Champoux, directrice générale du cinéma et de la production télévisuelle à la SODEC, se rendra au Japon au cours d'une visite officielle du 22 septembre au 1er octobre prochains. Une délégation d'affaires de l'industrie du jeu vidéo accompagnera également le ministre.
M. Arcand se rendra au Tokyo Game Show pour appuyer l'industrie québécoise du développement de jeux vidéo dans ses efforts de prospection auprès des plus grands acteurs mondiaux dans le domaine. Rappelons qu'avec ses 55 entreprises et 6 600 emplois (dont 4 400 développeurs), le Québec est l'un des principaux pôles de développement de jeux vidéo au monde.
Le ministre soulignera ensuite l'ouverture d'un Festival de films québécois en présence de deux réalisateurs québécois, M. Roger Cantin (La Forteresse suspendue) et M. Benoît Pilon (Ce qu'il faut pour vivre).
En plus de tenir des rencontres politiques, M. Arcand inaugurera la résidence d'artistes du Québec à Tokyo et inaugurera une nouvelle session du cours sur le Québec offert depuis six ans à l'Université Meiji, une institution qui abrite également un centre de documentation sur le Québec.
« Depuis 2003, le Québec a dirigé cinq missions ministérielles pour consolider nos liens avec ce pays sur les plans politique, économique, éducatif et culturel. Notre présence permanente par l'entremise de la Délégation générale du Québec à Tokyo, et maintenant grâce à la résidence d'artistes, témoigne bien de notre détermination à entretenir la relation de confiance établie avec ce partenaire prioritaire du Québec »
Le Japon constitue la seconde puissance économique mondiale avec un produit intérieur brut (PIB) qui avoisine les 5 000 milliards $CA. En plus de disposer de fortes réserves, le Japon mise sur sa grande capacité d'innovation. Notons que le Japon figure parmi les premiers de classe pour ses investissements en recherche et développement.
De plus, ce pays est le second partenaire commercial du Québec en Asie après la Chine et le premier marché d'exportation en Asie pour les produits culturels québécois. Au cours des six premiers mois de 2009, les exportations québécoises au Japon ont connu une hausse de 11 % par rapport à l'an dernier (540 M$). Les quelque 50 entreprises japonaises établies au Québec représentent plus de 6 500 emplois.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste