Québec's Minister of International Relations is the first foreign dignitary to meet with Japan's Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs

Tokyo, September 30, 2009 – During his official visit to Japan, Pierre Arcand, Québec's Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, met with Koichi Takemasa, Japan's Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs. This was Mr. Takemasa's first meeting with a foreign dignitary since Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama's new government was elected on August 30.
At the conclusion of the meeting, Mr. Arcand said: “Québec and Japan are on the same page in the fight against climate change. In this regard, the leadership and initiatives undertaken by Québec and Japan are opening the door to further cooperation opportunities.” Mr. Arcand also invited senior Japanese officials to pay an official visit to Québec in conjunction with the next G20 summit, which will be held in Muskoka, Ontario, in June 2010.
In the economic arena, Mr. Arcand met with senior executives from 10 Japanese companies with a view to reassuring them about the economic situation and guaranteeing the viability of their Québec operations. “These meetings were greatly appreciated by these Japanese business leaders,” said the Minister, who described the discussions as “reassuring”.
The roughly 50 Japanese companies with operations in Québec provide employment for more than 6,500 people. Mr. Arcand also expressed support for the efforts of the dozen or so Québec companies participating in the Tokyo Game Show. His talks with senior officials from the Digital Content Association of Japan were aimed at reinforcing the cooperation agreement entered into in 2003.
“There is enormous potential for cooperation with Japan in the area of new technology research and development. In each of the sectors in which Québec has gained distinction for its state-of-the-art expertise, Japan has complementary skills that we would do well to draw on”, said Mr. Arcand.
After taking part in a variety of forums, the Minister noted that Québec's leadership in the areas of sustainable development and climate change and the message it has promoted are always of interest to Japan's political, university and business communities. Québec has extensive know-how in a number of scientific sectors, including water, forest and biomass management. “Like Québec, Japan has won praise for its exceptional innovation capacity and its large-scale research investments. We thus have a mutual interest in fostering exchanges between our respective research institutions,” he added.
Showing a keen interest in Japan's technological innovations in the non-polluting vehicle sector, Mr. Arcand received a briefing on the latest developments showcased by Mitsubishi, which has developed the Mitsubishi Innovative Electric Vehicle (MIEV). The MIEV will be one of the first mass-production EV models and is already available on the Japanese market.
In the cultural arena, Mr. Arcand's visit provided an opportunity to further strengthen Québec's solid ties with Japan. In addition to opening a Québec cinema festival and inaugurating a residence for Québec artists in Tokyo, the Minister visited the Hamamatsu International Mosaiculture exhibition, the largest horticultural competition of its kind. Taking part in the event are more than 80 cities from 30 countries, including Montreal, which is presenting a spectacular floral display inspired by Frédéric Back's film “L'Homme qui plantait des arbres” (“The Man Who Planted Trees”).

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Le ministre des Relations internationales du Québec est le premier dignitaire étranger à être reçu par le secrétaire d'État chargé des affaires étrangères au Japon

Tokyo, le 30 septembre 2009 - En mission au Japon, le ministre québécois des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, monsieur Pierre Arcand s'est entretenu avec M. Koichi Takemasa, le secrétaire d'État chargé des affaires étrangères. Il s'agissait de sa première rencontre avec un diplomate étranger depuis l'élection du nouveau gouvernement Hatoyama le 30 août dernier.
À l'issue de cette rencontre, M. Arcand a déclaré que « le Québec et le Japon sont sur la même longueur d'onde en ce qui concerne la lutte aux changements climatiques. Le leadership et les initiatives respectives du Québec et du Japon dans ce domaine ouvrent la porte à plusieurs possibilités de coopération ». Le ministre a profité de l'occasion pour inviter les hauts dirigeants japonais à effectuer une visite officielle au Québec lors de leur participation au Sommet du G20 qui se tiendra à Muskoka, en Ontario, en juin 2010.
Sur le plan économique, le ministre Arcand a rencontré les dirigeants d'une dizaine de compagnies japonaises établies au Québec afin de les rassurer sur la situation économique et de garantir le maintien de leurs activités au Québec. « Ces rencontres ont été très appréciées par les dirigeants de ces entreprises japonaises » a souligné le ministre, qui s'est dit rassuré par les échanges qu'il a eu à ce propos. Il y a une cinquantaine de compagnies japonaises établies au Québec qui fournissent de l'emploi à plus de 6 500 travailleurs québécois. Le ministre a également appuyé les efforts de plus d'une douzaine de compagnies québécoises présentes au Tokyo Game Show. Sa rencontre avec les dirigeants de la Digital Content Association of Japan a permis de consolider l'entente de collaboration avec l'Alliance numérique qui existe depuis 2003.
« Le Japon présente un potentiel de collaboration énorme sur les plans de la recherche et du développement de nouvelles technologies. Pour autant de secteurs où le Québec se démarque par son expertise pointue, le Japon possède un savoir faire complémentaire dont nous aurions intérêt à tirer profit », a souligné le ministre Arcand.
Les tribunes auxquelles le ministre a eu l'occasion de participer lui ont permis de constater que le leadership et le discours du Québec en matière de développement durable et de lutte aux changements climatiques intéressent invariablement nos interlocuteurs japonais, qu'ils soient issus du milieu politique, universitaire ou des affaires. Outre la gestion de l'eau, le Québec a une expertise à offrir dans plusieurs secteurs scientifiques, notamment dans la gestion des forêts et de la biomasse. « Comme le Québec, le Japon se distingue par sa grande capacité d'innovation et ses investissements importants en recherche, nous avons donc un intérêt commun à stimuler les échanges entre nos institutions de recherche respectives », a ajouté le ministre.
Au cours de sa visite, le ministre Arcand s'est intéressé aux innovations technologiques qu'offre le Japon dans le secteur des véhicules non polluants. Il a eu l'occasion de s'informer des derniers développements de la compagnie Mitsubishi qui a mis au point le véhicule électrique « i MiEV » (i Mitsubishi innovative Electric Vehicle) qui sera l'un des premiers modèles EV destiné pour la production de masse. Ce véhicule est d'ailleurs déjà disponible sur le marché japonais.
Sur le plan culturel, cette mission est venue renforcer nos liens déjà solides avec ce pays. En plus d'ouvrir un festival de cinéma québécois et d'inaugurer la résidence d'artistes du Québec à Tokyo, M. Arcand a profité de son passage au Japon pour visiter les Mosaicultures internationales de Hamamatsu, où se tient la plus grande compétition internationale du genre. Plus de 80 villes venues de 30 pays participent à la 4e édition de cet événement international, dont la ville de Montréal qui présente une structure florale des plus spectaculaires s'inspirant du film de Frédéric Back « L'Homme qui plantait des arbres ».

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste