Official visit to China (October 9-17): Pierre Arcand reaffirms Québec's environmental leadership role

Québec City, October 8, 2009 – Pierre Arcand, Québec's Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, will be undertaking an official visit to China from October 9-17. He will be accompanied by a large delegation of approximately 50 people representing Québec companies and institutions, together with environmental and IT researchers and representatives of the tourism sector and the Centre for the International Promotion of Québec's Public Administration Expertise (CVIEPQ).
The delegation will be taking part in a series of environmental forums in Beijing, Shanghai and Jinan (the capital of Shandong province, with which Québec signed a cooperation agreement in August 2008). These forums will provide Mr. Arcand with a unique opportunity to promote Québec's sustainable development and green technology expertise.
“The Chinese government recently announced that it will be investing 1,000 billion yuan (approximately CDN$170 billion) over the next three years to protect the environment and that it is committed to reducing domestic energy consumption by 20% within five years. In light of this announcement, this visit is of strategic importance for Québec. We aim to position ourselves as a sustainable development leader,” said the Minister.
Mr. Arcand is scheduled to attend two major public events in Shanghai. He will inaugurate a permanent exhibition on the life of Dr. Norman Bethune at the Montreal Gardens pavilion in Centennial Park and will visit the future site of the City of Montreal pavilion at the 2010 Shanghai Universal Exhibition.
As part of the official program of activities, Mr. Arcand and the other members of the delegation will meet with key Chinese stakeholders with a view to emphasizing the importance of bilateral cooperation, particularly in the areas of education and research.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Mission en Chine du 9 au 17 octobre 2009 : Pierre Arcand réaffirme le leadership québécois en matière d'environnement

Québec, le 8 octobre 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales du Québec et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, monsieur Pierre Arcand, se rendra en Chine au cours d'une mission officielle du 9 au 17 octobre prochains. Une cinquantaine de représentants d'entreprises, d'institutions québécoises et de chercheurs des domaines de l'environnement et des technologies de l'information ainsi que des représentants du tourisme et du Centre de valorisation internationale de l'expertise publique québécoise accompagneront le ministre.
Cette importante délégation participera à des forums sur la protection de l'environnement à Beijing, à Jinan (capitale du Shandong – province chinoise avec laquelle le Québec a signé une entente de coopération en août 2008) et à Shanghai. Ces forums constituent une tribune privilégiée pour le ministre, qui y fera la promotion du savoir-faire québécois en matière de développement durable et de technologies vertes.
« Parce que le gouvernement chinois a récemment déclaré qu'il allait investir 1 000 milliards de yuans (environ 170 milliards de dollars canadiens) au cours des trois prochaines années pour la protection de l'environnement et qu'il a également le désir de réduire la consommation énergétique chinoise de 20 % d'ici cinq ans, cette mission est stratégique pour le Québec. Nous souhaitons nous positionner en tant que leader en développement durable », a fait savoir le ministre Pierre Arcand.
Deux activités publiques importantes marqueront le passage de M. Arcand à Shanghai. Le ministre inaugurera une exposition permanente sur la vie du Dr Norman Bethune au pavillon du Jardin de Montréal dans le parc du Centenaire et il visitera le site qui accueillera le pavillon de la ville de Montréal à l'Exposition universelle de Shanghai en 2010.
Les activités prévues au programme de la mission permettront à la délégation et au ministre de rencontrer des joueurs clés en Chine afin de rappeler l'importance de la coopération Québec-Chine, notamment en matière d'éducation et de recherche.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste