Visit to Plattsburgh: Pierre Arcand lobbies the North County Chamber of Commerce in support of the proposed Montreal-New York high-speed rail line

Plattsburgh, NY, October 19, 2009 – Pierre Arcand, Québec's Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, travelled to Plattsburgh today to address the Plattsburgh North County Chamber of Commerce and to discuss the proposed Montreal-New York high-speed rail line, a top-priority project for both the governments of Québec and New York State.
During his discussions with Chamber of Commerce President Garry Douglas, Mr. Arcand pointed out that “the construction of railway projects is a major regional economic development driver on both sides of the border. With annual trade between Québec and the US valued at nearly $80 billion, it is essential that the border remain open to the free flow of goods and people. The proposed high-speed rail line between Montreal and New York is very important to the Government of Québec, and I would like to reaffirm our keen interest in this project. In addition, a high-speed rail line would be an effective way to cut regional greenhouse gas emissions by reducing the number of cars on our highways.”
During his visit, Mr. Arcand also delivered the Distinguished Québec Address at the Institute on Québec Studies (IQS) at the State University of New York (SUNY) in Plattsburgh. Bringing together researchers, academics and university students, this annual event recognizes the contributions of leading public figures to Québec's economic and social development. This year, Mr. Arcand emphasized the unique links that Québec has forged with its US neighbours, particularly New York State and New England. He also noted that Québec and the US have shared priorities and challenges in the areas of economics, energy, climate change and security.
Founded in 2004, the IQS administers the first Québec studies program offered at a US university. In addition to courses on Québec culture and society, it organizes conferences and seminars for SUNY professors and secondary school teachers from around the region. For 2008-2009, Québec's Department of International Relations (MRI) provided the IQS with financial support totalling US$15,000.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

En visite à Plattsburgh Le ministre Arcand insiste auprès des autorités de la North County Chamber of Commerce afin que le projet du train Montréal-New York se réalise

Plattsburgh, NY, le lundi 19 octobre 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales du Québec et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, s'est rendu à Plattsburgh aujourd'hui pour s'adresser aux membres de la Plattsburgh North County Chamber of Commerce et s'entretenir avec eux au sujet du train Montréal-New York, un projet prioritaire pour les gouvernements du Québec et de l'État de New York.
Dans ses discussions avec, entre autres, le président de la North County Chamber of Commerce, M. Garry Douglas, le ministre Pierre Arcand a rappelé que « la mise en place de projets ferroviaires est un formidable levier de développement économique régional, des deux côtés de la frontière. Les échanges entre le Québec et les États-Unis s'élèvent à près de 80 milliards de dollars. Il est donc nécessaire de maintenir une frontière fluide et ouverte au passage des biens et des personnes. Le projet d'un train rapide entre Montréal et New York est très important pour le gouvernement du Québec. Je souhaite réaffirmer tout notre intérêt envers cette ligne ferroviaire. De plus, un service de train rapide serait un moyen efficace pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans la région en réduisant le nombre de voitures sur nos autoroutes ».
Le ministre Arcand a également profité de son passage à Plattsburgh pour prononcer le « Distinguished Québec Address » à l'Institut des études québécoises de la State University of New York (SUNY). Cette activité annuelle à laquelle sont conviés des chercheurs, des professeurs et des étudiants universitaires, reconnaît la contribution de personnalités de haut niveau à l'essor du Québec. Pour l'occasion, le ministre a prononcé une allocution en insistant sur la relation unique qu'entretient le Québec avec ses voisins américains, en particulier avec l'État de New York et la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Il a alors rappelé que le Québec et les États-Unis partagent les mêmes priorités et les mêmes défis, en matière d'économie, d'énergie, de changements climatiques et de sécurité.
Fondé en 2004, l'Institut des études québécoises de la SUNY-Plattsburgh constitue le premier programme expressément consacré au Québec dans une université américaine. Cet institut offre des cours sur le Québec, sa culture et sa société, ainsi que des conférences et séminaires pour son corps professoral et les enseignants au niveau secondaire de la région. Pour l'année 2008-2009, le ministère des Relations internationales apporte un appui financier de l'ordre de 15 000 $ US à l'Institut.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste