Pierre Arcand makes official visit to Brazil The Minister hopes to strengthen economic links between Québec and Brazil

Québec City, October 27, 2009 – Pierre Arcand, Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, will be leading an official visit to Brazil from October 30 to November 6. He will be accompanied by a wide-ranging business delegation with a view to developing new areas of cooperation, increasing investments and promoting the expertise of Quebec companies. Given the enormous potential of the Brazilian market, representatives of the cultural, education, research, science, technology and social economy sectors will also be joining the delegation, which will be travelling to Rio de Janeiro, Curitiba (Paraná province) and São Paulo.

“This mission—the first since the Government of Quebec opened its office in Brazil—will provide an opportunity to develop solid political ties and to stimulate trade with one of the world's most dynamic economies,” said Mr. Arcand.

The official visit will also include the inauguration of Québec Government in São Paulo, which is mandated with developing political relations and exchanges in the areas of trade, education, culture, research and innovation. Together with the Paraná state governor, Mr. Arcand will also co-chair the first meeting of the Paraná-Québec joint cooperation committee. The mission is expected to result in the signing of various cooperation agreements.

Following the recent decision selecting Rio de Janeiro as host of the 2016 Olympic Games, the city will be undertaking a number of major construction projects over the next few years. Mr. Arcand is scheduled to meet with Rio's mayor and with the Secretary of State for Economic Development, Energy, Industry and Services to discuss potential cooperation opportunities in the areas of science, technology, culture and infrastructure.

Defined as a priority country in Québec's International Policy, Brazil is one of Québec's most important export markets in South America. In addition, bilateral trade has been steadily rising over the past few years.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Mission du ministre Arcand au Brésil Pierre Arcand souhaite intensifier les relations économiques entre le Québec et le Brésil

Québec, le 27 octobre 2009 – Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, M. Pierre Arcand, dirigera une mission au Brésil du 30 octobre au 6 novembre prochains. Une délégation d'affaires diversifiée accompagnera le ministre dans le but de développer de nouveaux domaines de coopération, d'accroître les investissements et de promouvoir le savoir-faire de nos entreprises. Devant l'énorme potentiel du marché brésilien, des représentants des secteurs de la culture, de l'éducation, de la recherche, des sciences et technologies ainsi que de l'économie sociale se sont également joints à la délégation qui se rendra à Rio de Janeiro, Curitiba (Paraná) et São Paulo.
« Cette mission, la première depuis l'ouverture du bureau, est une occasion d'établir des liens politiques solides et de stimuler les échanges avec l'une des économies les plus dynamiques de la planète », a signalé M. Arcand.
Au cours de cette mission, le Bureau du Québec à São Paulo sera inauguré, dont le mandat est de développer les relations politiques et les échanges dans les domaines du commerce, de l'éducation, de la culture, de la recherche et de l'innovation. M. Arcand coprésidera également, avec le gouverneur de l'État du Paraná, la première réunion de la Commission mixte de coopération Paraná-Québec. Cette mission devrait d'ailleurs donner lieu à la conclusion de plusieurs ententes de coopération.
Sélectionnée récemment pour l'organisation des Jeux olympiques de 2016, la ville de Rio de Janeiro sera le théâtre de grands chantiers pour plusieurs années. Le ministre s'entretiendra avec le maire de cette grande capitale, ainsi qu'avec le secrétaire d'État au Développement économique, à l'Énergie, à l'Industrie et aux Services, afin d'évaluer quelles pourraient être les avenues de collaboration, notamment en matière de science et technologie, de culture et d'infrastructure.
Pays prioritaire aux termes de la Politique internationale du Québec, le Brésil est l'un des principaux marchés d'exportation du Québec en Amérique du Sud et les échanges commerciaux entre le Québec et le Brésil sont en hausse constante depuis plusieurs années.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste