Québec mission to Brazil The City of Rio de Janeiro has confirmed its interest in proposals from Québec companies for its numerous development projects leading up to the 2016 Olympic Games.

Québec City, November 4, 2009 – In Rio de Janeiro as part of an official mission to Brazil, Pierre Arcand, Québec's Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for la Francophonie, met with municipal authorities and the Governor of the State of Rio de Janeiro. The meetings were an opportunity for the Minister to confirm Rio's openness to proposals from Québec companies and organizations interested in contributing to projects in preparation for the major events to be hosted by Rio over the coming years, namely the 2011 World Military Games, the 2014 Soccer World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympics.

The City of Rio plans to invest about $15 billion in infrastructure for the events. Following his meetings, Arcand said that he was pleased to learn that environmental quality and sustainable development in the region will be major criteria for selecting projects. “Clearly, Québec companies will be able to bank on these aspects in their proposals,” he said.

The Governor of Rio suggested that Québec and the State of Rio de Janeiro draft a formal cooperation agreement in the areas of the economy, health sciences, the environment, science and technology, occupational training and the social economy.

Minister Arcand also took the opportunity to offer Québec's support for ensuring the presence and quality of French at the 2016 Olympics in Rio. As it did for the Summer Games in Beijing in 2008, Québec has invited the Organizing Committee to sign an agreement allowing young Québec translation trainees to collaborate on translations in order to ensure the quality of French, one of the Olympics' official languages, during the Games. The Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse (OQAJ) would look after coordinating this aspect of collaboration with Brazil.

“Québec places great importance on youth development. Young people are excellent ambassadors of Québec society on the international stage. We are delighted to give them this opportunity to contribute to the impact of French while enhancing their personal and professional development,” said Arcand.

Pierre Arcand is in Curitiba today for the first meeting of a Paraná-Québec joint cooperation committee. He will wrap up his mission in São Paulo on Thursday and Friday. Trade between Québec and Brazil totalled $2 billion in 2008, up $900 million over the figure for 2004.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Back to list

Mission du Québec au Brésil La Ville de Rio confirme son intérêt envers l'offre des entreprises québécoises pour ses nombreux projets de développement d'ici les Jeux olympiques de 2016

Québec, le 4 novembre 2009 – De passage à Rio de Janeiro dans le cadre de sa mission officielle au Brésil, le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, M. Pierre Arcand, a rencontré les autorités de la ville et le gouverneur de l'État de Rio de Janeiro. Ces entretiens ont permis au ministre Arcand de confirmer l'ouverture des autorités de la Ville à l'endroit des entreprises et organismes québécois désireux de contribuer au développement de Rio en prévision des nombreux événements d'envergure qui s'y tiendront au cours des prochaines années, soit les Jeux mondiaux militaires de 2011, le Mondial 2014 de soccer et, enfin, les Jeux olympiques d'été de 2016.

La ville de Rio compte consacrer quelque 15 milliards de dollars aux infrastructures nécessaires à la tenue de ces événements. Au sortir de ces entretiens, le ministre s'est dit heureux d'apprendre que la qualité de l'environnement et le développement durable de la région seront des préoccupations majeures dans la sélection des projets. « De toute évidence, les entreprises québécoises pourront miser sur ces éléments dans leur offre de services », a-t-il déclaré.

Enfin, le gouverneur de Rio a proposé au ministre d'élaborer une entente de coopération formelle entre le Québec et l'État de Rio dans les domaines de l'économie, des sciences de la santé, de l'environnement, des sciences et technologies, de la formation professionnelle et de l'économie sociale.

Le ministre Arcand a par ailleurs saisi l'occasion d'offrir l'appui du Québec en vue d'assurer la présence et la qualité du français lors des Jeux olympiques de 2016 à Rio. De la même façon que le Québec avait appuyé Beijing lors des Jeux d'été de 2008, le Québec propose au comité organisateur des Jeux de signer une convention qui permettrait à de jeunes stagiaires traducteurs québécois d'aller collaborer aux travaux de traduction de l'Organisation des jeux afin d'assurer la qualité du français, l'une des langues officielles de l'événement. L'Office Québec-Amériques pour la jeunesse assurerait la coordination de ce volet de coopération avec le Brésil.

« Le Québec voue une grande importance au développement de sa jeunesse. Les jeunes sont de formidables ambassadeurs de la société québécoise sur la scène internationale, nous sommes ravis de leur fournir cette occasion de contribuer à l'essor du français tout en voyant à leur développement personnel et professionnel », a souligné le ministre Pierre Arcand.

M. Arcand poursuit sa mission aujourd'hui à Curitiba, où se tiendra la première réunion de la Commission mixte de coopération Paraná-Québec, avant de conclure à São Paulo, jeudi et vendredi. Les échanges commerciaux entre le Québec et le Brésil ont totalisé 2 milliards de dollars en 2008, soit 900 millions de plus qu'en 2004.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste