Minister Pierre Arcand begins the Strategy's implementation with a visit to three high-growth states

Québec, February 21, 2010

Today, the Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, will begin his first mission to the United States since the unveiling of the Québec Government's U.S. Strategy. The mission to Louisiana, Texas and Georgia is Québec's first positioning initiative stemming from the Strategy. The three states are important Québec partners and account for an annual trade volume of nearly $7 billion.

“We launched the Strategy to vitalize exchanges with the United States. We want to give a new thrust to our relations centered on the economy, culture and identity while at the same time strengthening Québec's environmental leadership. Increasing Québec's capacity to take action and developing our areas of expertise are crucial. In doing so, it is equally important to contribute to the security of the North American continent, since trade and security are closely linked,” said the Minister.

The mission is set to start in Baton Rouge, Louisiana – home to one of the largest Francophone communities in the Americas. Minister Arcand will sign a declaration of intent with the Louisiana Secretary of Culture, Recreation and Tourism that will strengthen our ties in the areas of education, culture and youth. During his visit, the Minister will be accompanied by the Director General of the Centre de la francophonie des Amériques.

The Minister will then travel to Houston and Austin, Texas, where meetings are scheduled with Texas government officials and influential players in the environmental, energy and economic sectors. Texas is our second largest trading partner in the United States. In 2008, Québec and Texas traded $4.6 billion worth of goods.

The mission's last stop will be Atlanta, Georgia, where Minister Arcand intends to push for increased trade during meetings with political figures, including the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Economic Development. While in Atlanta, the Minister will also be promoting our sectors of excellence and Québec's investment potential to several of the region's economic media.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 ext. 57174

Back to list

Pierre Arcand entame le déploiement de la Stratégie par une mission dans trois États à haute croissance

Québec, le 21 février 2010

Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, amorce aujourd'hui une première mission en sol américain depuis le dévoilement de la Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis. Cette mission dans les États de la Louisiane, du Texas et de la Géorgie constitue une première action de positionnement du Québec dans le cadre de la Stratégie. Ces États sont des partenaires importants du Québec, avec des échanges annuels de près de 7 milliards $.

« Nous avons lancé la Stratégie pour dynamiser les échanges avec les États-Unis. Nous voulons donner un nouvel élan à nos relations sur le plan de l'économie, de la culture et de l'identité, tout en consolidant le leadership du Québec en matière d'environnement. Il est crucial d'accroître la capacité d'action du Québec et le développement de nos expertises. Ce faisant, il est également important de contribuer à la sécurité du continent nord-américain, parce que le commerce et la sécurité sont intimement liés », a déclaré le ministre.

La mission débute à Bâton Rouge, en Louisiane, où l'une des plus importantes communautés francophones des Amériques est établie. Le ministre y signera une déclaration conjointe d'intention avec la secrétaire de la Culture, du Loisir et du Tourisme de Louisiane. Cette déclaration d'intention viendra renforcer nos liens en matière d'éducation, de culture et de jeunesse. Le ministre sera accompagné lors de son passage par le directeur général du Centre de la francophonie des Amériques.

Par la suite, M. Arcand ira dans les villes de Houston et Austin, au Texas, et aura l'occasion de s'entretenir avec des représentants du gouvernement texan ainsi que des acteurs influents des secteurs de l'environnement, de l'énergie et de l'économie. Le Texas est notre 2e partenaire commercial aux États-Unis, avec des échanges de biens pour une valeur de 4,6 milliards $ en 2008.

La mission se terminera à Atlanta, en Géorgie, dans le but de stimuler les échanges commerciaux par le biais de rencontres avec des personnalités politiques, tel que le Commissaire au département de développement économique de la Géorgie. Le ministre profitera également de son passage à Atlanta pour faire la promotion de nos secteurs d'excellence et du potentiel d'investissement que représente le Québec auprès de plusieurs médias économiques de la région.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste