Visit by Vermont delegation: The economy and agrifood dominate discussions

Québec City, March 11, 2010 – The Québec government played host on March 10 and 11 to Vermont Governor James H. Douglas, accompanied by some dozen representatives of his government and the agrifood industry. The visit, held under the auspices of the Québec–Vermont multisectoral cooperation agreement, was part of a broader the Québec government's U.S. strategy. Its purpose was to promote economic ties between Québec firms and Vermont and to showcase Québec agrifood expertise.
Promoting economic ties
The Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, Mr. Pierre Arcand, accompanied the Vermont delegation as it met with Québec City area businesses at a breakfast meeting hosted by the Québec City Chamber of Commerce in cooperation with the Québec City chapter of Amcham.
“A third of our exports to New England are to Vermont, making it the third biggest buyer of Québec goods and services in the U.S,” noted Minister Arcand. “We need to join with our Vermont partners to find ways to leverage business opportunities and spur trade in key sectors, particularly green energy, machinery, IT, agrifood, and tourism.”
Boost cooperation in agrifood
Vermont agrifood representatives were also part of the delegation, making stops on Île d'Orléans (Cidrerie Steinbach, Vignoble de Sainte-Pétronille, and the local development center), in Saint-Antoine-de-Tilly (Fromagerie Bergeron), and in Charlevoix (Laiterie de Charlevoix and Éboulmontaise Lamb Farm). Their visit was not only an opportunity to talk agriculture, but also for their hosts to showcase Québec expertise in reserved designations and apprise them of regional initiatives in agritourism.
In further news, Québec Premier Jean Charest together with Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Robert Dutil, Governor James H. Douglas, and the secretary of Agriculture Vermont signed a protocol to the Québec–Vermont multisectoral cooperation agreement aimed at the sharing of data and expertise in agriculture and agrifood.
“I am delighted with this formal agreement with Vermont on agriculture and agrifood,” said Minister Dutil. “Our shared geography and history give us tremendous development potential in agritourism that's particularly worth exploring in Estrie and Montérégie.”
The United States is the number one export market for Québec food products, accounting for 56% of sales. Biofood sales in Vermont were $296 million in 2009. MAPAQ has been promoting Québec food products in east coast states since 2009 under the slogan “Foods of Québec – Secrets of the Past, Taste of the Future.
Photos available on request.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 ext. 57174

Back to list

Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis - Visite d'une délégation du Vermont: L'économie et l'agroalimentaire sont au centre des discussions

Québec, le 11 mars 2010 – Le gouvernement du Québec a reçu la visite du gouverneur de l'État du Vermont, James H. Douglas, accompagné d'une dizaine de représentants de son gouvernement et du secteur de l'agroalimentaire, les 10 et 11 mars. Cette visite réalisée dans le contexte de l'entente de coopération multisectorielle Québec-Vermont avait pour but de favoriser les échanges économiques entre les entreprises québécoises et les acteurs influents du Vermont, en plus de démontrer le savoir-faire québécois dans le domaine agroalimentaire. En cela, elle s'inscrit dans la Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis.

Favoriser les échanges économiques

C'est en compagnie du ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, que les membres de la délégation vermontoise ont rencontré plusieurs entreprises de la région de Québec lors d'un petit-déjeuner organisé par la Chambre de commerce de Québec, en collaboration avec AmCham-section Québec.

« Le tiers de nos exportations en Nouvelle-Angleterre se dirigent au Vermont, ce qui en fait le troisième acheteur de produits québécois aux États-Unis. Avec nos partenaires vermontois, il faut trouver les moyens de bénéficier des occasions d'affaires qui s'offrent à nous pour dynamiser nos échanges dans plusieurs secteurs dont ceux des énergies vertes, de la machinerie, des technologies de l'information, de l'agroalimentaire et du tourisme », a indiqué le ministre Arcand.

Accroître la collaboration dans le secteur agroalimentaire

Des représentants vermontois du secteur agroalimentaire étaient aussi de la délégation. Ils ont effectué des visites à l'Île d'Orléans (la Cidrerie Steinbach, le Vignoble de Sainte-Pétronille et le Centre local de développement), à Saint-Antoine-de-Tilly (la fromagerie Bergeron) ainsi que dans Charlevoix (la Laiterie de Charlevoix et la Ferme Éboulmontaise - élevage d'agneau). En plus d'amorcer les échanges d'information en matière d'agriculture, ces visites furent l'occasion d'approfondir leur connaissance quant au savoir-faire québécois en matière de mise en marché, d'appellations réservées, de même que sur la coopération régionale en matière d'agrotourisme.

Notons que le premier ministre du Québec, Jean Charest, le ministre de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation, Robert Dutil, le gouverneur James H. Douglas, et le Secrétaire de l'agence de l'Agriculture Vermont, ont signé un avenant à l'entente de coopération multisectorielle Québec-Vermont portant sur le partage d'information et d'expertise dans le domaine de l'agriculture et des produits alimentaires.

« Je suis heureux du lancement de cette coopération formelle en matière d'agriculture et de produits alimentaires avec le Vermont. En raison de la géographie et de l'histoire que nous avons en commun, il existe un fort potentiel de développement à explorer en agrotourisme, entre autres dans les régions de l'Estrie et de la Montérégie », a déclaré le ministre Robert Dutil.

Rappelons que les États-Unis sont la première destination des produits alimentaires québécois avec plus de 56 % des exportations. Au Vermont, les ventes bioalimentaires représentaient 296 M$ en 2009. Depuis 2009, le MAPAQ fait la promotion de l'offre alimentaire québécoise sur la côte Est américaine avec l'image de marque « Foods of Québec – Secrets of the Past, Taste of the Future ».

Des photographies sont disponibles sur demande.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste