Pierre Arcand launches his U.S. mission at the North America's SuperCorridor Coalition Conference

Québec City, June 15, 2010 – The Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, is beginning a mission today to promote Québec as an economic partner in four U.S. cities. He will launch his mission in Des Moines, Iowa where he is taking part in the 6th Conference of the North America's SuperCorridor Coalition (NASCO).
The NASCO conference attracts nearly 250 specialists and decision makers from the economic development, logistics and transportation sectors. It is the only forum in North America that brings together representatives of Canadian, U.S. and Mexican federated states. “Our exports are fundamental to ensuring Québec's economic prosperity. We must continue our dialogue to increase the development of trilateral relations and foster the integration of our three markets. Since the signing of the North American Free Trade Agreement, trade between Québec and Mexico has risen by 500%, totalling $2.3B in 2009. Fifty percent of foreign companies in Québec are American and account for 200,000 jobs. We need to promote open markets among U.S. and Mexican representatives to ensure the prosperity of our companies and the competitiveness of our economies,” said Minister Arcand.
A Leadership Meeting held in tandem with the conference will provide an opportunity for the Minister to speak with the President of NASCO and heads of delegations and representatives from the business sector. “This conference will enable us to promote our point of view in seeking solutions for dealing with our common challenges such as transportation and security efficiency, and sustainable development,” noted the Minister.
NASCO is held alternately in Mexico, the United States and Canada. Each year, plenary sessions focus on various topics of interest to the three countries, including major North American trade corridors, the challenges resulting from globalization, intermodal transportation, the economy, technological innovations, territorial safety and the environment. In June, 2009, NASCO and the Leadership Meeting took place in Québec City.
About the mission

The Minister will continue his mission in the United States in order to present the Québec Government's U.S. Strategy and three priority issues: energy, the high-speed train and open markets. He will promote Québec and its fields of expertise to U.S. decision makers with whom he will be meeting in Boston (June 17-18), Washington (June 21-22) and New York (June 23-24).

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 ext. 57174

Back to list

Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis

Pierre Arcand amorce sa mission aux États-Unis à la Conférence de la North America's SuperCorridor Coalition

Québec, le 15 juin 2010 - Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, entreprend aujourd'hui une mission dans quatre villes américaines pour faire la promotion du Québec en tant que partenaire économique. Le ministre débute sa mission à Des Moines, en Iowa, pour participer à la 6e Conférence North America's SuperCorridor Coalition (NASCO).
La Conférence NASCO accueille près de 250 spécialistes et décideurs dans le domaine du développement économique, logistique ainsi qu'en transport. Il s'agit du seul forum en Amérique du Nord qui réunit à la fois les représentants d'États fédérés du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique. « Nos exportations sont fondamentales pour assurer la prospérité économique du Québec. Il faut poursuivre notre dialogue pour accroître le développement des relations trilatérales et favoriser l'intégration de nos trois marchés. Depuis la signature de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain, les échanges économiques ont augmenté de 500 % entre le Québec et le Mexique, pour atteindre 2,3 G$ en 2009. Au Québec, 50 % des entreprises étrangères sont américaines, ce qui représente 200 000 emplois. Nous devons promouvoir l'ouverture des marchés auprès des représentants américains et mexicains, pour assurer la prospérité de nos entreprises et la compétitivité de nos économies », a-t-il souligné.
En marge de la Conférence se tient un Leadership Meeting, au cours duquel le ministre aura notamment l'occasion de s'entretenir avec le président de la NASCO, de même qu'avec des chefs de délégations et des représentants du milieu des affaires. « Cette conférence nous permettra de faire valoir notre point de vue dans la recherche de solutions pour faire face à nos défis communs comme l'efficacité du transport et de la sécurité, ou encore le développement durable », a déclaré le ministre Arcand.
Rappelons que NASCO se tient en alternance au Mexique, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Chaque année, des séances plénières abordent différents sujets d'intérêt pour les trois pays, notamment les principaux corridors de commerce nord-américains, les défis de la mondialisation, le transport intermodal, l'économie, les innovations technologiques, la sécurité des territoires et l'environnement. En juin 2009, NASCO et la rencontre des leaders se tenaient à Québec.
À propos de la mission

Le ministre poursuivra sa mission aux États-Unis afin de présenter la Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis, ainsi que les trois dossiers prioritaires que sont l'énergie, le train rapide et l'ouverture des marchés. Il fera la promotion du Québec et de ses expertises auprès des décideurs américains qu'il rencontrera à Boston (17-18 juin), à Washington (21-22 juin) et à New York (23-24 juin).

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste