Pierre Arcand pleased with initiatives undertaken in the U.S.

Montréal, June 25, 2010 – The Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, is pleased with the meetings he had with influential figures from the political, economic and institutional sectors during his mission to Des Moines, Boston, Washington D.C. and New York. The mission's purpose was primarily to further advance plans for a high-speed train, increase awareness about Québec's hydroelectricity as a clean, renewable energy source and promote the opening of markets.
“Americans are facing challenges linked, among other things, to consolidating the economic recovery and fighting climate change, as well as to becoming energy independent. It is important to make U.S. decision-makers aware of the fact that Québec is a key partner and that, as such, it can be part of the solution. The expertise and innovation of our business people and our leadership in the area of sustainable development are advantages that were of enormous interest to those with whom I spoke,” indicated Minister Arcand.
Judging that the current U.S. situation is more favourable than ever for carrying out major rail projects and using clean, renewable, safe energy sources such as hydroelectricity, Minister Arcand took advantage of this mission to expand business opportunities and promote the opening of markets to American authorities in those areas.
“I campaigned for U.S. states to recognize, as Vermont has, Québec's hydroelectricity as a clean, renewable form of energy. Québec can contribute to the goal of Americans to reduce their dependence on fossil fuels such as oil and decrease their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. In this regard, the potential for exporting Québec's hydroelectricity represents a part of the solution,” said the Minister.
Regarding the high-speed train project, Pierre Arcand reiterated the Québec government's commitment to and interest in working with U.S. authorities to examine various options for developing Montréal–Boston and Montréal–New York rail corridors. “These projects are mutually beneficial because they constitute tremendous levers for economic development both for Québec and the U.S. states. In addition, they contribute to the reduction of GHG emissions in the region. The input I have received from Americans during these meetings has been very positive. I am confident the plans will move forward,” added the Minister.
While in Boston, the Minister met with a number of important players including Congressional Representative William Delahunt and the Deputy Secretary of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, Brian P. Murphy. This was the Minister's first mission to Massachusetts.
While in Washington and New York, Pierre Arcand spoke with New Hampshire Senator Jeanne Shaheen, New York Representative Louise Slaughter and New York City Deputy Mayor Stephen Goldsmith.
Additionally, the Minister made the most of various opportunities to promote the Québec government's U.S. Strategy during conferences at the New England-Canada Business Council in Boston and the Woodrow Wilson Center in Washington. He also spoke with a network of special contacts maintained by the Québec Government Office in New York.
As a reminder, Minister Arcand launched his mission in the United States last week by participating in the Leadership Meeting of the 6th Conference of the North America's SuperCorridor Coalition in Des Moines, Iowa. He apprised representatives of NAFTA's three member countries of the advantages to the solutions put forward by Québec for dealing with common challenges such as transportation efficiency, border security and sustainable development.
The United States is the world's largest buyer of Québec products. With 300 million consumers, the U.S. market holds considerable business potential for Québec companies. Over 300,000 jobs in Québec are linked to U.S.-bound exports.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 ext. 57174

Back to list

Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis

Pierre Arcand satisfait des représentations menées en sol américain

Montréal, le 25 juin 2010 - Le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Pierre Arcand, est satisfait des entretiens qu'il a eus avec des personnalités influentes des milieux politique, économique et institutionnel au cours de sa mission à Des Moines, Boston, Washington DC et New York. L'objectif de cette dernière était principalement de faire avancer les projets de train à haute vitesse, de faire reconnaître l'hydroélectricité québécoise comme étant une source d'énergie propre et renouvelable et de promouvoir l'ouverture des marchés.
« Les américains font face à certains défis qui sont liés, entre autres, à la consolidation de la reprise économique, à la lutte aux changements climatiques et à l'indépendance énergétique. Il est important de faire savoir aux décideurs américains que le Québec est un partenaire clé qui peut faire partie de la solution. L'expertise et l'innovation de nos gens d'affaires et notre leadership dans le domaine du développement durable sont des avantages qui ont énormément intéressé mes interlocuteurs », a indiqué Pierre Arcand.
Estimant que le contexte actuel aux États-Unis est plus que jamais favorable à la réalisation de grands projets ferroviaires et l'utilisation de sources d'énergies propres, renouvelables et sécuritaires comme l'hydroélectricité, le ministre Arcand a profité de cette mission pour multiplier les occasions d'affaires et promouvoir l'ouverture des marchés auprès des autorités américaines dans ces domaines.
« J'ai milité en faveur d'une reconnaissance plus grande de l'hydroélectricité québécoise comme énergie propre et renouvelable par les États américains, comme l'a fait récemment le Vermont. Le Québec peut contribuer à l'objectif des Américains visant à réduire leur dépendance aux combustibles fossiles comme le pétrole et à diminuer leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES). En ce sens, le potentiel d'exportation d'hydroélectricité québécoise représente une partie de la solution », a déclaré le ministre.
Concernant le dossier du train rapide, Pierre Arcand a rappelé l'engagement et l'intérêt du gouvernement du Québec à travailler avec les autorités américaines à examiner les diverses options pour le développement de corridors ferroviaires Montréal – Boston et Montréal – New York. « Ces projets sont mutuellement bénéfiques, car ils constituent de formidables leviers de développement économique à la fois pour le Québec et pour les États américains, en plus de contribuer à la réduction des émissions de GES dans la région. Les échos que j'ai eus des Américains lors de ces rencontres sont très positifs, je suis confiant que le dossier progressera », a ajouté le ministre.
À Boston, le ministre a rencontré plusieurs acteurs importants, dont le représentant au Congrès, William Delahunt, et le sous-secrétaire aux Transports de l'État du Massachusetts, Brian P. Murphy. Il s'agissait de sa première mission du ministre au Massachusetts.
À Washington et New York, Pierre Arcand s'est entretenu avec la sénatrice du New Hampshire, Jeanne Shaheen, avec le sénateur de l'État de New York, Charles Schumer, avec la représentante de l'État de New York, Louise Slaughter, et avec le maire adjoint de la Ville de New York, Stephen Goldsmith.
Par ailleurs, le ministre a profité de différentes tribunes pour faire connaître la Stratégie du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis lors de conférences du New England-Canada Business Council à Boston, du Woodrow Wilson Center à Washington ainsi que devant un réseau de contacts privilégiés de la Délégation générale du Québec à New York.
Rappelons que le ministre a débuté cette mission aux États-Unis la semaine dernière lors de sa participation au Leadership Meeting de la 6e Conférence de la North America's SuperCorridor Coalition, à Des Moines, en Iowa. Il a alors fait valoir aux représentants des trois pays membres de l'ALENA les solutions proposées par le Québec pour faire face aux défis communs tels que l'efficacité du transport, la sécurité aux frontières et le développement durable.
Les États-Unis sont les premiers acheteurs de produits québécois dans le monde. Avec 300 millions de consommateurs, ce marché représente un potentiel d'affaires considérable pour les entreprises québécoises. C'est plus de 300 000 emplois au Québec qui sont liés aux exportations vers les États-Unis.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste